What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Building a dynasty/Defense wins championships (1 Viewer)

Biabreakable

Footballguy
I want to begin by saying that I am not an IDP expert. Although I have been playing in leagues that use IDPs for quite some time now. As a football fan and unorginized player in pickup games I have always favored defense over offense. One of my favorite quotes (forget where I 1st heard this) is that offense is a disease and it only thrives if the defense allows it to. The defense will dictate to the offense what it is allowed to do. And any good defense shouldn't let an offense do crap except maybe keep the ball long enough to punt. That is if the offense is carefull enough with the ball to not have it taken away from them. Of course this was before the No Fun League made rule after rule that favors the offense. Teams used to go through Qb changes a lot more than they do now because defenses would often break them. Still remember with anguish my home town Vikings in the playoffs against Joe Cool and how estatic I was when we finaly knocked him out of the game.. only to have Steve Young replace him and make a huge scramble that lead to the go ahead score when I thought we had the 9ers beat by knocking out Montana.

But anyways not what this thead is about. Just giving a little background on my perspective.

What I would like to discuss in this thread is how do people build a IDP dynasty squad from scratch? Where do we place value on different positions and why? Where does that fit into our approach to offensive players on our rosters and what kind of balance do we look for? This is going to be a work in progress and I will add more thoughts to it as they come to me. Often times spurred from what others may bring to this thread once it gets going.