What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

IDP 101 -- Discussing Defensive Schemes (1 Viewer)

Jene Bramel

Footballguy

IDP 101 – Storytime With Warren Sapp

Understanding defensive football is a passion of mine, so I’ll try not to get to long-winded and :confused: here. And I’m no Ron Jaworski, just a self-taught football fan. But hopefully, some of you will find my ramblings interesting and useful.

I’m going to try to cover all sorts of ground with this series. I’ll try to strike a balance between technical playbook concepts and the art of team defensive football. We’ll do plenty of player-specific details, but look to bring everything back to a big picture approach. We could probably start just about anywhere, but I’m going to start with a look at the career of Warren Sapp.

Apologies to Raider fans who know what’s coming. ;)

Everyone knows Warren Sapp. Seven time Pro Bowl defensive tackle, Defensive Player of the Year in 2000 after a 16.5 sack season, key anchor of the perennial top ten Tampa Bay Buccaneer defense of the 1990s and one of the league’s loudest trash talkers. That Warren Sapp. Now quick, name me five other defensive tackles in the league today. Unless you’re much more than a casual football fan, you probably hesitated somewhere along the way.

Just how good was Sapp in Tampa Bay? This good:

Warren Sapp 1995-2003 >> 49 solo tackles, 8.5 sacks (as an interior lineman) per 16 games