Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Da Guru

The tuck rule, continuation rule, complete the process rule

491 posts in this topic

Too many rules are ruining the NFL!!

Let the players play the game. Calvin Johnson makes a great play for a game winning TD but it is over ruled because the process of continuation. Have Calvin ran the ball in and the same thing happened....TD!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That was the biggest robbery in the history of the game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That was the biggest robbery in the history of the game.

Tuck rule was way worse. That decided the NFL champion.The Lions and Bears will likely both be out of it by December.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If one knee equals two feet then two feet and a butt cheek have to be worth something other than an incompletion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That was the biggest robbery in the history of the game.

Tuck rule was way worse. That decided the NFL champion.The Lions and Bears will likely both be out of it by December.
The tuck rule cost the Raiders a possible Super Bowl win. This was a complete disgrace. Brien Billick said "If that is not a TD..I don`t know what is"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That was the biggest robbery in the history of the game.

Can't argue with that. Let's see. RB dives over goalline and crosses plane: TD, doesn't matter if he flips the ball over his shoulder before hitting the ground.WR jumps up and catches the ball across the line, comes down with both feet, ### hits ground also, ball hits ground in hand, WR lets go...Incomplete pass. Yep that makes sense.The fact the the head of officiating was defending it makes them a joke.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That was a preposterous call. If the rules really dictate that that was an incompletion, then the rules are stupid and it's another Bert Emmanuel play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Serious question.....say that a WR makes a catch in the back of the end zone....clearly in possession of the ball, gets 2 feet inbounds. He falls out of bounds and the ball comes loose when he hits the ground.....is that not a TD anymore?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is a rule that needs to be addressed right away. A RB can leap over a pile and lose control of the ball in mid-air, come down empty handed without touching the ground..but if he crossed the goal line it is a TD.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So a WR catches the ball with two feet in bounds (like megatron did)...why wouldn't you then cheap shot and cut his legs out? If he drops it on when he hits the ground it's incomplete...right?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Serious question.....say that a WR makes a catch in the back of the end zone....clearly in possession of the ball, gets 2 feet inbounds. He falls out of bounds and the ball comes loose when he hits the ground.....is that not a TD anymore?

By Rule, if he is contacted by a defender in the air then No that would not be a TD.If he falls on his own, then it's a TD.C. Johnson was clearly down, in my book. His knee was even down before the ball came close to the ground. after the knee hits, his hand with the ball touches the ground. In what can only be called a premature celebration, Johnson believes he just caught a game winning TD and leaves the ball on the ground to celebrate.. Dumb move on Johnson's part, but, IMO, wrong interpretation of the rule.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a guy catches the ball in the endzone and falls to the ground, then rolls around in circles for 15 minutes, and drops it as he's standing up 15 minutes later, is that an incompletion? I think this rule says it is...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Serious question.....say that a WR makes a catch in the back of the end zone....clearly in possession of the ball, gets 2 feet inbounds. He falls out of bounds and the ball comes loose when he hits the ground.....is that not a TD anymore?

By Rule, if he is contacted by a defender in the air then No that would not be a TD.If he falls on his own, then it's a TD.C. Johnson was clearly down, in my book. His knee was even down before the ball came close to the ground. after the knee hits, his hand with the ball touches the ground. In what can only be called a premature celebration, Johnson believes he just caught a game winning TD and leaves the ball on the ground to celebrate.. Dumb move on Johnson's part, but, IMO, wrong interpretation of the rule.
So if he has two feet inbounds and is pushed out by a defender and the ball comes loose when he hits the ground, it's not a TD? But if he falls because his momentum carries him out of bounds and the ball comes loose, it's TD?:angry:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

These rules are not cut and dried. They are tricky and need to be interpreted properly. The tuck and Calvin's play today were both interpreted poorly. You people talking about a rule is a rule and the correct call was made, ignore that the rules need to be interpreted properly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If Calvins catch was ruled a TD I do not think any Chicago fan would have even blinked or complained.

It was aTD...but the continuation of the process of the catch was not complete, yet if that happened outside the end zone it would have been ruled a catch and the ground caused a fumble.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If Calvins catch was ruled a TD I do not think any Chicago fan would have even blinked or complained. It was aTD...but the continuation of the process of the catch was not complete, yet if that happened outside the end zone it would have been ruled a catch and the ground caused a fumble.

It can't be a fumble until he has possession.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If Calvins catch was ruled a TD I do not think any Chicago fan would have even blinked or complained. It was aTD...but the continuation of the process of the catch was not complete, yet if that happened outside the end zone it would have been ruled a catch and the ground caused a fumble.

If that play would have been on the first play of the fourth quarter, could Calvin Johnson have lain there on the ground, with the clock running, for fifteen minutes and gotten up with the ball after time expired?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Serious question.....say that a WR makes a catch in the back of the end zone....clearly in possession of the ball, gets 2 feet inbounds. He falls out of bounds and the ball comes loose when he hits the ground.....is that not a TD anymore?

By Rule, if he is contacted by a defender in the air then No that would not be a TD.

If he falls on his own, then it's a TD.

C. Johnson was clearly down, in my book. His knee was even down before the ball came close to the ground. after the knee hits, his hand with the ball touches the ground. In what can only be called a premature celebration, Johnson believes he just caught a game winning TD and leaves the ball on the ground to celebrate..

Dumb move on Johnson's part, but, IMO, wrong interpretation of the rule.

No, the contact from the ground caused the ball to slip out of his hand.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Serious question.....say that a WR makes a catch in the back of the end zone....clearly in possession of the ball, gets 2 feet inbounds. He falls out of bounds and the ball comes loose when he hits the ground.....is that not a TD anymore?

Not by the rule:Item 1: Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act ofcatching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain controlof the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. Ifhe loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control,the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground,the pass is complete.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Without rules, we have anarchy.

Anarchy, leads to suffering.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is a rule that needs to be addressed right away. A RB can leap over a pile and lose control of the ball in mid-air, come down empty handed without touching the ground..but if he crossed the goal line it is a TD.

Because he maintained control (possession) of the ball until it crossed the goal. Likewise if a receiver catches the ball at the one and crosses the goal line and then loses the ball it is a td. On a throw into the endzone, since the ball is in the air as it crosses the goal there is no possession until the pass is complete.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Serious question.....say that a WR makes a catch in the back of the end zone....clearly in possession of the ball, gets 2 feet inbounds. He falls out of bounds and the ball comes loose when he hits the ground.....is that not a TD anymore?

Not by the rule:Item 1: Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act ofcatching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain controlof the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. Ifhe loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control,the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground,the pass is complete.
Calvin had control of the ball after he touched the ground and maintained control all the way until the ball touched the ground and he subsequently released it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Serious question.....say that a WR makes a catch in the back of the end zone....clearly in possession of the ball, gets 2 feet inbounds. He falls out of bounds and the ball comes loose when he hits the ground.....is that not a TD anymore?

Not by the rule:Item 1: Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act ofcatching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain controlof the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. Ifhe loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control,the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground,the pass is complete.
Calvin had control of the ball after he touched the ground and maintained control all the way until the ball touched the ground and he subsequently released it.
Released it, lost control of it. Fine line.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That was the biggest robbery in the history of the game.

Tuck rule was way worse. That decided the NFL champion.The Lions and Bears will likely both be out of it by December.
The tuck rule cost the Raiders a possible Super Bowl win. This was a complete disgrace. Brien Billick said "If that is not a TD..I don`t know what is"
The GSOT would have destroyed the Raiders. Be glad it saved them the embarrassment.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Serious question.....say that a WR makes a catch in the back of the end zone....clearly in possession of the ball, gets 2 feet inbounds. He falls out of bounds and the ball comes loose when he hits the ground.....is that not a TD anymore?

Not by the rule:Item 1: Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act ofcatching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain controlof the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. Ifhe loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control,the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground,the pass is complete.
Calvin had control of the ball after he touched the ground and maintained control all the way until the ball touched the ground and he subsequently released it.
That's just it. I think he released it, not lost control. apparently the refs felt he lost control. I only saw it once but what I saw I can see how they would make that call. I could also see it going the other way. Either way I think it's a crap rule. You catch the ball and touch two feet to the ground in the endzone...td.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Serious question.....say that a WR makes a catch in the back of the end zone....clearly in possession of the ball, gets 2 feet inbounds. He falls out of bounds and the ball comes loose when he hits the ground.....is that not a TD anymore?

Not by the rule:Item 1: Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act ofcatching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain controlof the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. Ifhe loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control,the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground,the pass is complete.
Calvin had control of the ball after he touched the ground and maintained control all the way until the ball touched the ground and he subsequently released it.
Released it, lost control of it. Fine line.
I think he lost control when the ball hit the ground. But the fact is he had control through both feet touching the ground, a knee touching the ground, his ### touching the ground, his other hand touching the ground. He only lost control after his catching hand hit the ground. He clearly had control of the ball 'after he touches the ground', which is exactly what the rule states. The rule was not meant to apply after possession was established with two feet down. This was more meant for a receiver diving for a ball or getting hit in the air, IMO.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Serious question.....say that a WR makes a catch in the back of the end zone....clearly in possession of the ball, gets 2 feet inbounds. He falls out of bounds and the ball comes loose when he hits the ground.....is that not a TD anymore?

Not by the rule:Item 1: Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act ofcatching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain controlof the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. Ifhe loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control,the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground,the pass is complete.
Calvin had control of the ball after he touched the ground and maintained control all the way until the ball touched the ground and he subsequently released it.
Released it, lost control of it. Fine line.
He clearly had control until the ball touched the ground. That's when the rule ends. Terrible ruling both on the field and in the booth.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Serious question.....say that a WR makes a catch in the back of the end zone....clearly in possession of the ball, gets 2 feet inbounds. He falls out of bounds and the ball comes loose when he hits the ground.....is that not a TD anymore?

Not by the rule:Item 1: Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act ofcatching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain controlof the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. Ifhe loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control,the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground,the pass is complete.
Calvin had control of the ball after he touched the ground and maintained control all the way until the ball touched the ground and he subsequently released it.
Released it, lost control of it. Fine line.
I think he lost control when the ball hit the ground. But the fact is he had control through both feet touching the ground, a knee touching the ground, his ### touching the ground, his other hand touching the ground. He only lost control after his catching hand hit the ground. He clearly had control of the ball 'after he touches the ground', which is exactly what the rule states. The rule was not meant to apply after possession was established with two feet down. This was more meant for a receiver diving for a ball or getting hit in the air, IMO.
FTR: the knee and the ### both equal 2 feet.So thats 6 steps plus a hand.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think he lost control when the ball hit the ground. But the fact is he had control through both feet touching the ground, a knee touching the ground, his ### touching the ground, his other hand touching the ground. He only lost control after his catching hand hit the ground. He clearly had control of the ball 'after he touches the ground', which is exactly what the rule states. The rule was not meant to apply after possession was established with two feet down. This was more meant for a receiver diving for a ball or getting hit in the air, IMO.

FTR: the knee and the ### both equal 2 feet.So thats 6 steps plus a hand.
Calvin Johnson would have been called traveling call in an NBA all-star game after all that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Serious question.....say that a WR makes a catch in the back of the end zone....clearly in possession of the ball, gets 2 feet inbounds. He falls out of bounds and the ball comes loose when he hits the ground.....is that not a TD anymore?

Correct. By the current definition, you need to catch it, drive home, mow your lawn, drive back to the stadium and hand it to the official maintaining possession throughout. Sounds absurd, but the above is not far from the truth. It's close to where you need to catch it, stand up and hand it to the official.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Without rules, we have anarchy.Anarchy, leads to suffering.

Over zealous rules lead to apathy. Which over time, ironically, leads to anarchy as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Too many rules are ruining the NFL!! Let the players play the game. Calvin Johnson makes a great play for a game winning TD but it is over ruled because the process of continuation. Have Calvin ran the ball in and the same thing happened....TD!!

I thought by now they'd have changed that rule. They got it right by the rule, but it's absurd that you can catch the ball, get two feet, a knee, a hand, a hip and an ### plus a palmed football on the ground in bounds and still not get a catch. Major, major bad rule that should've been changed a long time ago.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Too many rules are ruining the NFL!! Let the players play the game. Calvin Johnson makes a great play for a game winning TD but it is over ruled because the process of continuation. Have Calvin ran the ball in and the same thing happened....TD!!

I thought by now they'd have changed that rule. They got it right by the rule, but it's absurd that you can catch the ball, get two feet, a knee, a hand, a hip and an ### plus a palmed football on the ground in bounds and still not get a catch. Major, major bad rule that should've been changed a long time ago.
What part of after hitting the ground is confusing. The rule does not say after you hit the ground for the sixth time. The call was wrong by rule and facts.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Chicago Tribune Bear Fan Poll......80% say it was:

A. A catch

B. Not a catch

Reguardless, by rule the play was dead....The ump had his hands in the air signalling TD and Johnson had the ball. After that point nothing else matters.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is a rule that needs to be addressed right away. A RB can leap over a pile and lose control of the ball in mid-air, come down empty handed without touching the ground..but if he crossed the goal line it is a TD.

Because he maintained control (possession) of the ball until it crossed the goal. Likewise if a receiver catches the ball at the one and crosses the goal line and then loses the ball it is a td. On a throw into the endzone, since the ball is in the air as it crosses the goal there is no possession until the pass is complete.

:rolleyes: This is the answer to a lot of questions/silly comments in here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just saw it on replay. Correct call by rule. He didn't release the ball. He lost it when he came to the ground.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.