Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

The Z Machine

Talk to me about Baltimore, MD

229 posts in this topic

So my wife *may* get offered a job in Baltimore (Johns Hopkins Uni.) We currently live in Oakland, CA and I have a good paying job which I like. I'm a mechanical engineer who does new product development (non-consumer stuff right now, but would consider consumer stuff as well).

What is Baltimore like? The only thing I know about it is from The Wire and the one night I partied there like 10 years ago.

What are the good neighborhoods to live in? We prefer walkable, urban-ish neighborhoods, not suburban subdivision stuff. We don't have kids and own 1 small car.

What's the job market like for MEs or tech in general?

If you've lived there AND in the Bay Area, could you break down the differences? I've lived in LA, East Bay, Atlanta, and Madrid so you can draw comparisons to any of those.

TIA!

** Update 06/14/2011

OK, it's official. My wife was offered the job and has accepted it. She starts on July 11. My last day at my work will be July 1, and we'll be driving cross country shortly thereafter. We'll likely sublet an apartment for 2 months while we get our bearings. I'm updating my resume now...

** Update 07/18/2011

Wifey started work and we signed a lease for a townhouse (1880s vintage) in the Butcher's Hill neighborhood. Still living in Philly this week, but will officially move in next WE.

I've lived in MD before, but in general it's probably a lot less hectic than I imagine NoCal to be. Some Charm City residents (Uri-Kai, Roadkill, etc.) could fill you in better on neighborhoods, etc.

I will tell you that you best be prepared for very warm and humid summers. "Spring" and "Fall" are relatively short seasons and summer seems to stretch from early May to early October.