Ric878

Yahoo Import

59 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I'm a first year member here at Footballguys.com and am glad I became a member. The apps and information are great. After getting myself setup in Draft Dominator I quickly found out that keeping my leagues maintained was going to take some work. Fortunately I have a couple of leagues on MFL so the import tool has helped there. I also have 3 leagues on Yahoo Fantasy Football and keeping them up has been a challenge so I decided to try and write an app that could automate the task for me. I'm assuming that there are others that would be interested in this too so I am planning on releasing it to the community in the next few days. I'm definitely not a professional programmer, at best I'm a hobbyist so there will inevitably be issues. The program is written in python, so anyone familiar with python can help out or contribute. I'm currently having issues packing the app into a windows executable which will make distributing it a bit less user friendly. If I can't resolve this you will have to install they python interpreter and required libraries in order to run it which will be a bit less user friendly. So far here is what I have accomplished.

Here is what the app will do for now:

• [*]The app needs your old league DDF file in order to import the league settings. Once you provide the location of your old DDF it will import your scoring settings. I have not had time to get the app to import the setting directly from Yahoo but I'm not to worried about that until next draft season comes up. [*]The app will import every teams players and name the teams according to their Yahoo team names

Here is what the app will not do:

• The app currently does not import the draft results or draft order
  • The app does not import your schedule. Since I use the imported file for Lineup Dominator and set my next weeks opponent manually this is not a big deal for me