What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Pros & Cons of Auction Draft (1 Viewer)

TX Steel

Footballguy
Hope this is the right spot for this--I normally only post in the Asst. Coach forum...

I REALLY want to move our league from serpentine draft to auction, but I have zero experience with auction drafts. I need to sell the idea to my league as effectively as possible. 

Aside from the fact that every owner gets their shot at every player on the board, what do I need to know about auction drafts? Don't they take longer? Are they easier to do online or offline?

I'd love to hear positive and negative thoughts from owners who know more about auction drafts so I can be armed with more knowledge when I make my case.

Thanks!

In a snake draft slots at the top have an advantage over everybody else. In auction nobody starts with an edge. Plus, you have more flexibility with your draft.

But it might take longer, and people don't have the familiarity with auction. Some people might resist as they don't like change.

Last edited by a moderator:
Pros:

- You have every opportunity to get whichever players you desire

- The auction bidding is much more exciting than waiting between 12-24 picks during a serpentine draft

Cons:

- Participating in an auction draft makes you a racist

Auctions are harder to do online or if you have league members scattered all over the place. If all 12 are in the same place, they are vastly superior.  So much more strategy and so much more ability to think on your feet when things go differently than expected.  They can take quite a bit longer.