What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Apotemnophilia - The Desire To Amputate A Limb (1 Viewer)

rockaction

Footballguy
So being in the music thread and looking at the faces of Daniel Hernandez (Takeshi 69), Post Malone, and Lil Peep got me to thinking, who does this to their face? What is the cause? 

This in turn, got me to thinking about something I studied briefly in my twenties, which is apotemnophilia. In this disorder, otherwise sane and rational individuals express a strong and specific desire for the amputation of a healthy limb or limbs. I'd read a cover article in The Atlantic about it way back when and watched a documentary about it. 

The Atlantic - A New Way To Be Mad

Whole (trailer)

So here's my question: What do you think the impulses behind these two phenomena are? Should these things be allowed in civil society? Should doctors and tattooists perform these procedures? Does it violate the social contract in spirit? 

And lastly, what of God? What does God inform us about this issue?

Last edited by a moderator:
Sometimes I get this feeling that I'd like to smash my hands.  Like crack my knuckles or wrists but totally just mangle my hands.  It's kind of scary.  

Don’t know the mindset of cutting off limbs, but the face tattoo phenomenon is just because they think it looks cool/gangster/unique. Same with the morons that put those huge circle gauges to stretch out earlobes.  

The cutting off limbs is a mental issue, the face tattoos is a vanity and individualism issue.  Two different mindsets in my opinion.  

Don’t know the mindset of cutting off limbs, but the face tattoo phenomenon is just because they think it looks cool/gangster/unique. Same with the morons that put those huge circle gauges to stretch out earlobes.