What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Buying a home and/or home maintenance thread (1 Viewer)

STEADYMOBBIN 22

Footballguy
Ive been helping a couple fellow FBG bros with their questions about buying a home and a few topics came up that I think are worth sharing. I was a home inspector and part time Realtor for ~11 years and this can be a place for questions and/or suggestions. I know we have a few contractors here too. 

Lets try to keep this on topic with suggestions on what to look for when purchasing a home and how to maintain said home. If you have a question about a project please post in the Home owners.....what are your current projects? thread

Ill post a few of my followups to PMs I have responded to but I'll edit them to protect the innocent.......

Last edited by a moderator:
On looking at new home the first bit of advice I would give is.....

The best general advice I can give is - the single most important thing to look for is negative grading, specifically areas with basements. In other words, the house should be sitting higher than the surrounding ground. Not flat, higher. I don’t care if there is a retaining wall, French drain, sump pumps, doesn't matter- WALK AWAY! 

ETA - Also, homes are only required to have 6 feet of positive grading from the foundation wall. A lot of these newly build homes are crammed close together and while they might have 6 feet of positive grading, your basement will still leak eventually if 7 feet away there's a giant sloping hill. That whopping 6' isn't going to save you. 

Secondarily - make sure the gutters and downspouts are in good shape and lead the water away from the house.

Lastly, if you're looking at older homes: