Calvin Johnson scored on a long TD where he was called out of bounds at the 3-yard line. He was clearly not out of bounds, but the referee said that they could not award a TD even if the call was reversed. I'm usually fairly up on the rules... but why not?? If the replay shows he stayed in bounds then why can't they award a score (especially since he was running in from the 3 with no one in position to make a play)?
Aren't TD's awarded all the time on plays like this? Or are they all only plays that were called TD's on the field? What about the RB diving for the cone who is called out of bounds? They overturn those, right?
Aren't TD's awarded all the time on plays like this? Or are they all only plays that were called TD's on the field? What about the RB diving for the cone who is called out of bounds? They overturn those, right?

I agree with your take about what the replay showed -- some people seem to be talking as if he was in by a foot. Even if it were reviewable, the replay wasn't conclusive that he was inbounds.