What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

How to evaluate "bad" CBs (1 Viewer)

Jason Wood

Zoo York
I'm an admitted IDP newbie, and like anything worth doing I somehow agreed to jump head first into a full IDP league with some of the best minds in the business (our staff IDP league with the Doc, John, Aaron, Bob, etc...). To that end, I have Antonio Cromartie on my bench and he looked downright awful yesterday, but actually had a decent fantasy day thanks to his INT.

My question isn't about Cromartie specifically (e.g., Assistant Coach stuff) but more about how IDPers evaluate the skills of a CB in leagues where you must start them. It strikes me as kind of an oddity that you're in essence rewarded as a fantasy owner with starting a less-than-excellent cornerback over his excellent counterpart. You want guys that rack up stats, which means you need a CB that teams will throw against. But you also can't have him be TOO terrible because then he won't stay on the field and will be benched. So it seems you basically want the 2nd best CB on a team, that can tackle, but isn't terrible enough to be replaced. Just seems counter intuitive in a way.

How do you all evaluate the CB position? I know there's the "rookie CB" rule which argues that teams pick on rookie CBs which means lots of big play opportunities (thank you Kareem Jackson in Week One), but how does that extend broadly into the veteran CB pool?