What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Never seen this before Segura steals second safely, tries to steal sec (1 Viewer)

KingPrawn

Footballguy
Jean Segura reaches base, steals second base.

Cubs intentionally walk Braun.

Segura takes off early to steal third and is caught in a rundown.

During the rundown he returns to second, where Braun is already standing.

Braun is out by rule, but Segura thinks he is the one out so gets up and continues to first base, where he reaches safely.

So two out now, Segura on first. Segura attempts to steal second and is thrown out.

 
Jean Segura reaches base, steals second base.

Cubs intentionally walk Braun.

Segura takes off early to steal third and is caught in a rundown.

During the rundown he returns to second, where Braun is already standing.

Braun is out by rule, but Segura thinks he is the one out so gets up and continues to first base, where he reaches safely.

So two out now, Segura on first. Segura attempts to steal second and is thrown out.
The weird thing was that running back to first base only made sense if Segura thought he was still a live runner. But then why run back to first base? It was so bizarre to watch. Like he thought he'd found some loophole in the game rules or something. And he kind of did, although they did point out that had the Cubs tagged him while he stood on first base, he would have been called out.

 
Jean Segura reaches base, steals second base.

Cubs intentionally walk Braun.

Segura takes off early to steal third and is caught in a rundown.

During the rundown he returns to second, where Braun is already standing.

Braun is out by rule, but Segura thinks he is the one out so gets up and continues to first base, where he reaches safely.

So two out now, Segura on first. Segura attempts to steal second and is thrown out.
The weird thing was that running back to first base only made sense if Segura thought he was still a live runner. But then why run back to first base? It was so bizarre to watch. Like he thought he'd found some loophole in the game rules or something. And he kind of did, although they did point out that had the Cubs tagged him while he stood on first base, he would have been called out.
His first steps were back to the dugout till Braun and others were yelling to get to a safe base.

 
Jean Segura reaches base, steals second base.

Cubs intentionally walk Braun.

Segura takes off early to steal third and is caught in a rundown.

During the rundown he returns to second, where Braun is already standing.

Braun is out by rule, but Segura thinks he is the one out so gets up and continues to first base, where he reaches safely.

So two out now, Segura on first. Segura attempts to steal second and is thrown out.
The weird thing was that running back to first base only made sense if Segura thought he was still a live runner. But then why run back to first base? It was so bizarre to watch. Like he thought he'd found some loophole in the game rules or something. And he kind of did, although they did point out that had the Cubs tagged him while he stood on first base, he would have been called out.
His first steps were back to the dugout till Braun and others were yelling to get to a safe base.
True. Also: the Cubs did tag him a second time after he left second base. Should have been a double play on the spot. Weird weird weird.

 
Jean Segura reaches base, steals second base.

Cubs intentionally walk Braun.

Segura takes off early to steal third and is caught in a rundown.

During the rundown he returns to second, where Braun is already standing.

Braun is out by rule, but Segura thinks he is the one out so gets up and continues to first base, where he reaches safely.

So two out now, Segura on first. Segura attempts to steal second and is thrown out.
The weird thing was that running back to first base only made sense if Segura thought he was still a live runner. But then why run back to first base? It was so bizarre to watch. Like he thought he'd found some loophole in the game rules or something. And he kind of did, although they did point out that had the Cubs tagged him while he stood on first base, he would have been called out.
I think he thought he was out and started running back to the dugout. Once he realized he wasn't the one out or once he was notified by the dugout or first base coach did he start running to first. Even after reaching first base he stood there for a second before starting to go to the dugout before being stopped by the coach. I don't think he would have been out if the Cubs tagged him while standing on first. I think the announcers were referring to the fact that the Cubs tagged him just after getting up at second.

Either way, I don't think I'll ever see anything like that again.

From this mornings JournalSentinel:

Confusion reigned in Miller Park in the eighth inning of the Milwaukee Brewers' 5-4 win over the Chicago Cubs on Friday night.

To sum up what happened:

Jean Segura led off with a single and stole second base. Ryan Braun walked. Segura was then caught off second by Cubs pitcher Shawn camp, and got into a rundown between second and third.

In the meantime, Braun moved up to second base. Segura ran back to second base. With both runners standing there, second-base umpire Phil Cuzzi called Braun out because Segura, not Braun, had the right to the base.

Then Segura, in the midst of the confusion, ran back to first and got there safely because nobody was covering it for the Cubs.

Rickie Weeks struck out. Then, with Jonathan Lucroy batting, Segura tried stealing second again and was thrown out.

So, Braun was credited with a caught stealing. Segura was credited with a stolen base and a caught stealing. And Camp got three outs without the ball ever being put into play.

“Bizarre,” umpire crew chief Tom Hallion said. “Technically, (Segura) stole second, stole first, then got thrown out stealing second.”

“Never saw that,” added Cuzzi.

If you're wondering, here's the rule -- 7.08(i) -- in question:

(i) After he has acquired legal possession of a base, he runs the bases in reverse order for the purpose of confusing the defense or making a travesty of the game. The umpire shall immediately call "Time" and declare the runner out; If a runner touches an unoccupied base and then thinks the ball was caught or is decoyed into returning to the base he last touched, he may be put out running back to that base, but if he reaches the previously occupied base safely he cannot be put out while in contact with that base.

Brewers manager Ron Roenicke, a proponent of aggressive baserunning, could only shake his head when asked about the situation afterward.

"Seggy’s 23 years old. He’s got all kinds of energy," he said. "He’s going to make mistakes, and we know that.

"Never seen a guy steal second and then get thrown out at second in the same inning."

The Cubs, meanwhile, claimed that they tagged Segura as well while he was on the base -- something Hallion said the crew was certain didn't happen.

"The umpire didn't see us tag Segura when he came off the bag," Cubs manager Dale Sveum said. "He got him. When Segura thought he was out, he popped up and (Luis) Valbuena tagged him again and the umpire didn't see him tag him."
 
Jean Segura reaches base, steals second base.

Cubs intentionally walk Braun.

Segura takes off early to steal third and is caught in a rundown.

During the rundown he returns to second, where Braun is already standing.

Braun is out by rule, but Segura thinks he is the one out so gets up and continues to first base, where he reaches safely.

So two out now, Segura on first. Segura attempts to steal second and is thrown out.
The weird thing was that running back to first base only made sense if Segura thought he was still a live runner. But then why run back to first base? It was so bizarre to watch. Like he thought he'd found some loophole in the game rules or something. And he kind of did, although they did point out that had the Cubs tagged him while he stood on first base, he would have been called out.
I think he thought he was out and started running back to the dugout. Once he realized he wasn't the one out or once he was notified by the dugout or first base coach did he start running to first. Even after reaching first base he stood there for a second before starting to go to the dugout before being stopped by the coach. I don't think he would have been out if the Cubs tagged him while standing on first. I think the announcers were referring to the fact that the Cubs tagged him just after getting up at second.

Either way, I don't think I'll ever see anything like that again.

From this mornings JournalSentinel:

>Confusion reigned in Miller Park in the eighth inning of the Milwaukee Brewers' 5-4 win over the Chicago Cubs on Friday night.

To sum up what happened:

Jean Segura led off with a single and stole second base. Ryan Braun walked. Segura was then caught off second by Cubs pitcher Shawn camp, and got into a rundown between second and third.

In the meantime, Braun moved up to second base. Segura ran back to second base. With both runners standing there, second-base umpire Phil Cuzzi called Braun out because Segura, not Braun, had the right to the base.

Then Segura, in the midst of the confusion, ran back to first and got there safely because nobody was covering it for the Cubs.

Rickie Weeks struck out. Then, with Jonathan Lucroy batting, Segura tried stealing second again and was thrown out.

So, Braun was credited with a caught stealing. Segura was credited with a stolen base and a caught stealing. And Camp got three outs without the ball ever being put into play.

“Bizarre,” umpire crew chief Tom Hallion said. “Technically, (Segura) stole second, stole first, then got thrown out stealing second.”

“Never saw that,” added Cuzzi.

If you're wondering, here's the rule -- 7.08(i) -- in question:

(i) After he has acquired legal possession of a base, he runs the bases in reverse order for the purpose of confusing the defense or making a travesty of the game. The umpire shall immediately call "Time" and declare the runner out; If a runner touches an unoccupied base and then thinks the ball was caught or is decoyed into returning to the base he last touched, he may be put out running back to that base, but if he reaches the previously occupied base safely he cannot be put out while in contact with that base.

Brewers manager Ron Roenicke, a proponent of aggressive baserunning, could only shake his head when asked about the situation afterward.

"Seggy’s 23 years old. He’s got all kinds of energy," he said. "He’s going to make mistakes, and we know that.

"Never seen a guy steal second and then get thrown out at second in the same inning."

The Cubs, meanwhile, claimed that they tagged Segura as well while he was on the base -- something Hallion said the crew was certain didn't happen.

"The umpire didn't see us tag Segura when he came off the bag," Cubs manager Dale Sveum said. "He got him. When Segura thought he was out, he popped up and (Luis) Valbuena tagged him again and the umpire didn't see him tag him."
The announcers definitely stated he would have been out had they tagged him while he stood on first, but that once the next pitch was thrown, he became a legitimate baserunner.

 
Once they were both on second, Segura had possession last so he legally had the base. Once they were both tagged then Braun was out. Segura came off the bag again and was tagged so he should have been out as well but the umpire did not see that. Once he got to first he was safe because he did not violate rule 7.08(i). The only person he confused was himself. I don't think he would have been out if they tagged him at first. The comments for rule 7.08(i) tend contradict the announcers.

Rule 7.08(i) Comment: If a runner touches an unoccupied base and then thinks the ball was caught or is decoyed into returning to the base he last touched, he may be put out running back to that base, but if he reaches the previously occupied base safely he cannot be put out while in contact with that base.
However, once he was on first he still thought he was out and started walking toward the dugout when the first base coach stopped him and guided him back to the base. At this point rule 7.09(h) should have been enforced resulting in Segura being out. The rule states

It is interference by a batter or a runner when—In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base. PENALTY FOR INTERFERENCE: The runner is out and the ball is dead.
Again, the umpires missed the call. At least they got it correct when he tried to steal second again.
 
Baseball Prospectus wrote about this play and had their writers recall their favorite baserunning blunders.

Maybe Eephus remembers this one. Ruben Rivera to end the game. Wow, was this awful. The reaction of Felipe Alou.

Poor quality clip.

 
Baseball Prospectus wrote about this play and had their writers recall their favorite baserunning blunders.

Maybe Eephus remembers this one. Ruben Rivera to end the game. Wow, was this awful. The reaction of Felipe Alou.

Poor quality clip.

:doh:

Jon Miller nails the call though.

That Giants team had to be one of the worst 100 win teams ever. Bonds, Schmidt and 23 other guys.

 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top