What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NFL rules (1 Viewer)

teebills

Footballguy
Can the recieving team advance the football after the kicking team has touched it first, on a punt? For instance.... red team punts to blue team,,on coverage down field red slaps the ball to keep it out of the endzone,, blue then picks it up and runs it 30 yards,, then is hit and fumbles red recovers,, can the blue team now take it at the point of where red 1st slapped the punt or is it reds ball at point of fumble?

 
Can the recieving team advance the football after the kicking team has touched it first, on a punt? For instance.... red team punts to blue team,,on coverage down field red slaps the ball to keep it out of the endzone,, blue then picks it up and runs it 30 yards,, then is hit and fumbles red recovers,, can the blue team now take it at the point of where red 1st slapped the punt or is it reds ball at point of fumble?
IIRCIf the ball is never possessed by the receiving team it is a muff and can not be advanced.
 
Can the recieving team advance the football after the kicking team has touched it first, on a punt? For instance.... red team punts to blue team,,on coverage down field red slaps the ball to keep it out of the endzone,, blue then picks it up and runs it 30 yards,, then is hit and fumbles red recovers,, can the blue team now take it at the point of where red 1st slapped the punt or is it reds ball at point of fumble?
IIRC (don't have the rulebook support yet) the answer is yes, there is no risk here.This happened in one of the playoff games I believe. If the ball is still moving and the kicking team touches is, it is a free play to pick it up and run with it as there is zero risk to the receiving team. Worst case is they get the ball at the point of the kicking team's first touch of the ball.
 
Can the recieving team advance the football after the kicking team has touched it first, on a punt? For instance.... red team punts to blue team,,on coverage down field red slaps the ball to keep it out of the endzone,, blue then picks it up and runs it 30 yards,, then is hit and fumbles red recovers,, can the blue team now take it at the point of where red 1st slapped the punt or is it reds ball at point of fumble?
After the Red team touches it there is only one very odd way for them to end up with the ball. The blue team can pick it up and advance it. If the blue team fumbles, it is considered an illegal touch by the red team and Blue team gets the ball where the illegal touch occured. So the answers are yes
 
From the kicking section of the online rulebook:

12. Any member of the punting team may down the ball anywhere in the field of play. However, it is illegal touching (Official’s time out and receiver’s ball at spot of illegal touching). This foul does not offset any foul by receivers during the down.

13. Defensive team may advance all kicks from scrimmage (including unsuccessful field goal) whether or not ball crosses defensive team’s goal line. Rules pertaining to kicks from scrimmage apply until defensive team gains possession.
So if the kicking team touches the ball - illegal touching. However, based on #13, the receiving team can advance the kick. So if something bad happens during the runback, the illegal touching foul is enforced and the ball is placed at the spot where the kicking team touched it.
 
Can the recieving team advance the football after the kicking team has touched it first, on a punt? For instance.... red team punts to blue team,,on coverage down field red slaps the ball to keep it out of the endzone,, blue then picks it up and runs it 30 yards,, then is hit and fumbles red recovers,, can the blue team now take it at the point of where red 1st slapped the punt or is it reds ball at point of fumble?
After the Red team touches it there is only one very odd way for them to end up with the ball. The blue team can pick it up and advance it. If the blue team fumbles, it is considered an illegal touch by the red team and Blue team gets the ball where the illegal touch occured. So the answers are yes
Is that how it works? I thought that once the red team touches the ball, the blue team can try and pick it up and if they fail, there is no muff and they get the ball right there. However, if they DO pick it up and then fumble (not muff) it back to the red team, then it's red team's ball.
 
Can the recieving team advance the football after the kicking team has touched it first, on a punt? For instance.... red team punts to blue team,,on coverage down field red slaps the ball to keep it out of the endzone,, blue then picks it up and runs it 30 yards,, then is hit and fumbles red recovers,, can the blue team now take it at the point of where red 1st slapped the punt or is it reds ball at point of fumble?
After the Red team touches it there is only one very odd way for them to end up with the ball. The blue team can pick it up and advance it. If the blue team fumbles, it is considered an illegal touch by the red team and Blue team gets the ball where the illegal touch occured. So the answers are yes
Is that how it works? I thought that once the red team touches the ball, the blue team can try and pick it up and if they fail, there is no muff and they get the ball right there. However, if they DO pick it up and then fumble (not muff) it back to the red team, then it's red team's ball.
It's much like a defensive offside. The receiving team has the choice of taking the result of the play or accepting the penalty and getting the ball at the spot of the illegal touching. If they lost the ball in a fumble on the play, then they'll accept the penalty.
 
Can the recieving team advance the football after the kicking team has touched it first, on a punt? For instance.... red team punts to blue team,,on coverage down field red slaps the ball to keep it out of the endzone,, blue then picks it up and runs it 30 yards,, then is hit and fumbles red recovers,, can the blue team now take it at the point of where red 1st slapped the punt or is it reds ball at point of fumble?
After the Red team touches it there is only one very odd way for them to end up with the ball. The blue team can pick it up and advance it. If the blue team fumbles, it is considered an illegal touch by the red team and Blue team gets the ball where the illegal touch occured. So the answers are yes
Is that how it works? I thought that once the red team touches the ball, the blue team can try and pick it up and if they fail, there is no muff and they get the ball right there. However, if they DO pick it up and then fumble (not muff) it back to the red team, then it's red team's ball.
It's much like a defensive offside. The receiving team has the choice of taking the result of the play or accepting the penalty and getting the ball at the spot of the illegal touching. If they lost the ball in a fumble on the play, then they'll accept the penalty.
Yes. Even though the refs don't throw the flag, and even though there's no yardage assessed on the penalty, an illegal touching is a real penalty that can be accepted or declined by the receiving team. So if anything bad happens after the illegal touching, the receiving team just accepts the penalty and takes the ball at the spot of the foul.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top