What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Packers at Seahawks (8 Viewers)

I've watched the play over and over, and it's still a touchdown to me (and I don't have a dog in this fight). Jennings hadn't established possession yet (because you have to complete the catch, feet down) when Tate got his hand on the ball. I think it's clearly simultaneous possession. Obviously I'm in the minority here, but I think it was the correct call.Regardless, I'm glad it's being considered a bad call, because it may FINALLY be the thing that gets the real refs back.
he got his HAND on the ball...not hands....HAND. that's not simultaneous possession. anyone arguing that it was a TD doesn't know wtf they are talking about. This is the biggest joke in a long string of ridiculously awful jokes in the past three weeks. Just turrible. The NFL is officially a joke. As of now, it feels like this is just one long meaningless exhibition season. I can't take any of these games seriously.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
The pi call on Sam shields is what cost the pack the game. Make that call and Seattle never gets close
Well, settling for FGs earlier...not running the ball at all in the first half.The ridiculous roughing call that takes away an INT with the ball deep in Seattle territory...
 
I've watched the play over and over, and it's still a touchdown to me (and I don't have a dog in this fight). Jennings hadn't established possession yet (because you have to complete the catch, feet down) when Tate got his hand on the ball. I think it's clearly simultaneous possession. Obviously I'm in the minority here, but I think it was the correct call.
I agree. Tate gets both hands on before Jennings hits the ground.
Which would NOT be simultaneous possession. If Jennings had possession first, Tate cant 'gain' possession after that. The ref on the broadcast explained it. Jennings had it in his possession, its immaterial that Tate LATER got both hands on the ball.
what constitutes possession though? i thought when you were coming to the ground, you had to maintain throughout the entire process, which means he didn't have possession until the very end.
possession is possession... maintaining possession is maintaining it. An offensive player can't stick a hand on the ball at the end of the "process" and have simultaneous possession. They have to start possession simultaneously with the defender, which Tate clearly didn't.INT PackReplacements die.
 
Packer fan here...

The missed pass interference is ridiculous.

I don't actually have a problem with the simultaneous possession call. Tate has his one arm pretty well wrapped in there. I have seen calls like that go to the offense before.

Kudos to the 11 packers that came out for the extra point and that they didn't try to light anybody up. The packers got robbed, no doubt about it. There have been tons of bad calls by the refs on strike too so I am happy that the NFL hasn't given in to their demands. These guys make good money for what they do IMO.

 
I've watched the play over and over, and it's still a touchdown to me (and I don't have a dog in this fight). Jennings hadn't established possession yet (because you have to complete the catch, feet down) when Tate got his hand on the ball. I think it's clearly simultaneous possession. Obviously I'm in the minority here, but I think it was the correct call.
I agree. Tate gets both hands on before Jennings hits the ground.
Which would NOT be simultaneous possession. If Jennings had possession first, Tate cant 'gain' possession after that. The ref on the broadcast explained it. Jennings had it in his possession, its immaterial that Tate LATER got both hands on the ball.
what constitutes possession though? i thought when you were coming to the ground, you had to maintain throughout the entire process, which means he didn't have possession until the very end.
Pretty sure that isn't the rule- I guess 'control' might be a better word than possession (im paraphrasing the ref). If the above was true, any int in the endzone you must immediately jump on the guy and grab at the ball for an insta-TD. That cant be right.Edit- That being said, Jennings should have knocked that ball down and ended the game like DBs are trained to since peewee.
you are correct sir...somebody quoted the rule and it says "control" and not "possession"
 
There may have been plenty of places through the course of the game that had to do with the replacement refs. But the final play says nothing at all about the officiating. Regular crew of refs could have called it either way, including 2 refs calling it differently. And I doubt they'd overturn regardless of the call on the field.
You're assuming the real refs would have made the same call. They wouldn't have. that was a clear PI on Tate and an interception by Jennings.
when have you EVER seen offensive pi on a hail mary? gruden was going on about it...the ex-ref they have with them said the same thing. i'll bet you see it a bunch from now on, but i can't remember a single time.
How often have you seen a WR shove a DB to the ground prior to the ball arriving in the past? That was as blatant an offensive PI that I have ever seen and it was missed. These guys are horrendous at best.
The ref with 25 years of experience saw the same play you and I did, and said it wouldn't be called.
 
Look point and case is the Packers never score the go ahead points if there isn't a bogus call against the Seahawks. The Seahawks never score the go ahead score if not for another ridiculous penalty. Simple fact is the whole game was a clusterf**k. Unfortunately, this is the world we live in until Roger Goodell comes to his senses or Mike McCarthy hires the mob to whack him; so we can get a new commissioner who realizes that the several million dollars isn't worth ruining the integrity of the game. If the old refs aren't back this week or next just expect a few more of these ridiculous outcomes.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Why didn't GB take the safety and have a free kick and make them go the full distance?
7-12. Give up a safety and it's 9-12 and they are going to have good field position for a FG to tie.I'd have punted as well, make them go to the end zone.
 
I cant shake the feeling this has something to do with Rodgers opening the game with a scramble and shooting finger pistols at the D Line.

Or at least that explains the 10 sacks.

 
Carroll's message on the podium: When you're receivers cheat with PI and your Defense takes cheap shots and the refs suck, you can win any game.

Great message for the kids!

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Russell Wilson interview is ridiculous. I don't know how these guys can take themselves seriously. Pretending you won the game....major bush league. Just say "no" to the interview. At least be intellectually honest.

 
I've watched the play over and over, and it's still a touchdown to me (and I don't have a dog in this fight). Jennings hadn't established possession yet (because you have to complete the catch, feet down) when Tate got his hand on the ball. I think it's clearly simultaneous possession. Obviously I'm in the minority here, but I think it was the correct call.Regardless, I'm glad it's being considered a bad call, because it may FINALLY be the thing that gets the real refs back.
A hand on the ball is not possession.
What I mean is that he got his hand on the ball before Jennings established possession. At the time possession would have been established, Tate had both hands on the ball, just like Jennings.I actually lost a fantasy game because of that touchdown (I started the Packers defense), but personally, I think it was the right call.
You do not understand football. Plain and simple. Tate had 2 hands on the ball? He threw one hand over the ball while it was still secured in the Packers player hands. :loco:
 
The rule uses the word control, not possession, so Jennings coming down or establishing possession is irrelevant. Once he has control of the ball, the window for simultaneous possession is closed.

 
I can understand thinking it was simultaneous possession in real time. (thought I can NOT understand missing that pass interference, the most blatant I've ever seen)But they had a chance to make it right with the replay!!! What happened!?!??
Can't review/overturn for that
LOL.. I guess you're right. Another brilliant replay stipulation
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top