What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pre-Game Thread - Baltimore Ravens at New England Patriots (1 Viewer)

Taking six minutes + off the clock and scoring was about the worse thing that coulda happened to the Pats there. But I still feel like Tom Cruise sitting in class and watching the clock tick backwards when I just wanna get home and rail Rebecca DeMornay.

 
If they change the spot and the Ravens still are short of a first down, are they charged a time out?
Yes.
Why is that?Challenge the spot of the ball then they change the spot of the ball...the the challenge was correct
not the expanation that the ref gave
I know but it didn't sound right. It was the 1st time I ever heard that the 1st down had to be made when challenging the spot of the ball
 
Horrible call there. Ball clearly broke the plane from the side camera.Harbaugh needs to challange <again>.
But did the ball? I'd think it possible, but that shot was not clear enough.
Unless the ball was hovering behind him on a string then yes.The entirety of both his arms broke the plane there. It's pretty much physically impossible for him to have been holding the ball there and not have any part of it breaking the plane.
 
Horrible call there. Ball clearly broke the plane from the side camera.Harbaugh needs to challange <again>.
But did the ball? I'd think it possible, but that shot was not clear enough.
Unless the ball was hovering behind him on a string then yes.The entirety of both his arms broke the plane there. It's pretty much physically impossible for him to have been holding the ball there and not have any part of it breaking the plane.
The call was unsuccessful and so the ball has to clearly break the plane. I agree with you, but the bad video doesn't.
 
The ball must have been lodged inside McGahee chest for it not to have crossed the plane.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Problem there is you couldn't see the ball cross the plane, but given where his body was, it would have been physically impossible for the ball not to have crossed the end zone.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
I agree with the announcers. They need to code the ball to when it breaks the plane.

I have no idea how they don't overturn that call. It was clearly over the plane directly from the side.

 
If they change the spot and the Ravens still are short of a first down, are they charged a time out?
Yes.
This is one of the worst rules regarding challenges. Are you telling me that if the spot is somehow off by five yards, and a successful challenge gets those five yards, but it doesn't result in a first down, you're still going to act as if the challenge was unsuccessful? When the refs make a mistake, they shouldn't punish a team for trying to correct it, other than the already overly restrictive limitations of the challenge rules.Also, I'm cheering for New England to come back here, but if they score a touchdown and don't go for two, I'm going to start cheering for them to lose.
 
Horrible call there. Ball clearly broke the plane from the side camera.Harbaugh needs to challange <again>.
But did the ball? I'd think it possible, but that shot was not clear enough.
Unless the ball was hovering behind him on a string then yes.The entirety of both his arms broke the plane there. It's pretty much physically impossible for him to have been holding the ball there and not have any part of it breaking the plane.
The call was unsuccessful and so the ball has to clearly break the plane. I agree with you, but the bad video doesn't.
They're allowed to use composite imagery for review.That is, one angle shows that both his arms were in the endzone. Another angle shows that the ball was in fact in his arms (obvious, but it proves it). With the two combined, it's incontrovertible.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
So do you guys with xray vision look at what color ladies' undergarments are when they walk by?

 
I disagree with going for 2 here. A 19-point spread means they could tie it with 1 FG, 2 TDs and 2 two-point conversions. A 20-point lead means they have to score three touchdowns.
I'm not really here to argue with you, but what makes you think the Pats will score three times? Have I missed something here? Will we even get a first down? I'm guessing run for 2 yards short pass for 3 yards and then incompletition.Sorry for being such a crybaby but the performance of the team today makes me wanna puke! I could live with a loss and I fully expected it to be a tough one today (since we haven't played real well at all this year).
 
It's disappointing to lose in this fashion at home but the Pats have not played well all year. Brady has had too many costly turnovers, the offense and defense have been extremely inconsistent and the locker room was falling apart culminating in the snow day expulsion of Moss, Guyton and Thomas. This team needs to make a lot of decisions in the off season in order for them to be competitive with the big guys next year (obviously they couldn't do it this year either).

 
If they change the spot and the Ravens still are short of a first down, are they charged a time out?
Yes.
Why is that?Challenge the spot of the ball then they change the spot of the ball...the the challenge was correct
When they challenged the ref said that they were "challenging that the player did not get the first down".
Oh ok I missed that partSo if Harbaugh simply challenges the 'spot of the ball' instead of challenging 'that the player did not get the first down'Does that change anything?
 
I agree with the announcers. They need to code the ball to when it breaks the plane. I have no idea how they don't overturn that call. It was clearly over the plane directly from the side.
All of this outdated silliness of using chains, etc needs to go. Put some radio transmitters in the ball and you can put the ball exactly where it is after every spot.
 
If they change the spot and the Ravens still are short of a first down, are they charged a time out?
Yes.
Why is that?Challenge the spot of the ball then they change the spot of the ball...the the challenge was correct
When they challenged the ref said that they were "challenging that the player did not get the first down".
Oh ok I missed that partSo if Harbaugh simply challenges the 'spot of the ball' instead of challenging 'that the player did not get the first down'Does that change anything?
Pretty sure the ref said "the spot of the ball as it relates to a first down"
 
Guys, the replay thing about first downs and the spot of the ball has always been like this. The reason why you lose a TO even if the spot changes is because they don't want every single play getting challenged every time the spot is off by half a yard.

 
The funny thing is that with three obvious bad calls that should have been overturned (punt muff recovery, Flacco run, McGahee conversion) if the Ravens had challenged all three and won all three as they should have, they would be unable to challenge the next bad call. That is how bad the refs are. Unreal.

 
I disagree with going for 2 here. A 19-point spread means they could tie it with 1 FG, 2 TDs and 2 two-point conversions. A 20-point lead means they have to score three touchdowns.
I'm not really here to argue with you, but what makes you think the Pats will score three times? Have I missed something here? Will we even get a first down? I'm guessing run for 2 yards short pass for 3 yards and then incompletition.
I am just saying, MAKE them score three touchdowns to beat you, instead of bailing them out a tad and letting them get a FG as one of the three scores, potentially. It probably won't matter.
 
If they change the spot and the Ravens still are short of a first down, are they charged a time out?
Yes.
Why is that?Challenge the spot of the ball then they change the spot of the ball...the the challenge was correct
When they challenged the ref said that they were "challenging that the player did not get the first down".
Oh ok I missed that partSo if Harbaugh simply challenges the 'spot of the ball' instead of challenging 'that the player did not get the first down'Does that change anything?
You can't do that.You can only challenge if they made a first down/TD, or if they were down by contact for these situations I think.They don't want the scenario where they mis-spotted the ball by a couple inches or something, and that always results in a "winning" challenge.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top