ChargersOH
Footballguy
Horrible call there. Ball clearly broke the plane from the side camera.
Harbaugh needs to challange <again>.
Harbaugh needs to challange <again>.
reading that as sarcasm and he definitely crossed. Camera angle same as referee, can't believe that he could miss seeing thatYeah the ball didn't break the plane there.![]()
When they challenged the ref said that they were "challenging that the player did not get the first down".Why is that?Challenge the spot of the ball then they change the spot of the ball...the the challenge was correctYes.If they change the spot and the Ravens still are short of a first down, are they charged a time out?
But did the ball? I'd think it possible, but that shot was not clear enough.Horrible call there. Ball clearly broke the plane from the side camera.Harbaugh needs to challange <again>.
They stood him up on the other side of the goal line. No way the ball didn't break the plane there. Just terrible.God, these refs are terrible. He broke the plane of the end zone there, quite obviously. Probably won't matter, but yikes.
I know but it didn't sound right. It was the 1st time I ever heard that the 1st down had to be made when challenging the spot of the ballnot the expanation that the ref gaveWhy is that?Challenge the spot of the ball then they change the spot of the ball...the the challenge was correctYes.If they change the spot and the Ravens still are short of a first down, are they charged a time out?
That is not the rule though. The rule is if the challenge results in a first down or TD, then it's "successful" and you don't lose a timeout.Why is that?Challenge the spot of the ball then they change the spot of the ball...the the challenge was correctYes.If they change the spot and the Ravens still are short of a first down, are they charged a time out?
Unless the ball was hovering behind him on a string then yes.The entirety of both his arms broke the plane there. It's pretty much physically impossible for him to have been holding the ball there and not have any part of it breaking the plane.But did the ball? I'd think it possible, but that shot was not clear enough.Horrible call there. Ball clearly broke the plane from the side camera.Harbaugh needs to challange <again>.
The call was unsuccessful and so the ball has to clearly break the plane. I agree with you, but the bad video doesn't.Unless the ball was hovering behind him on a string then yes.The entirety of both his arms broke the plane there. It's pretty much physically impossible for him to have been holding the ball there and not have any part of it breaking the plane.But did the ball? I'd think it possible, but that shot was not clear enough.Horrible call there. Ball clearly broke the plane from the side camera.Harbaugh needs to challange <again>.
It is unbelievable.Christ.LOL.Replay is such a joke.
This is one of the worst rules regarding challenges. Are you telling me that if the spot is somehow off by five yards, and a successful challenge gets those five yards, but it doesn't result in a first down, you're still going to act as if the challenge was unsuccessful? When the refs make a mistake, they shouldn't punish a team for trying to correct it, other than the already overly restrictive limitations of the challenge rules.Also, I'm cheering for New England to come back here, but if they score a touchdown and don't go for two, I'm going to start cheering for them to lose.Yes.If they change the spot and the Ravens still are short of a first down, are they charged a time out?
The Patriots get calls like this all the time. It's not this particular referee.How is this guy a ref?
They're allowed to use composite imagery for review.That is, one angle shows that both his arms were in the endzone. Another angle shows that the ball was in fact in his arms (obvious, but it proves it). With the two combined, it's incontrovertible.The call was unsuccessful and so the ball has to clearly break the plane. I agree with you, but the bad video doesn't.Unless the ball was hovering behind him on a string then yes.The entirety of both his arms broke the plane there. It's pretty much physically impossible for him to have been holding the ball there and not have any part of it breaking the plane.But did the ball? I'd think it possible, but that shot was not clear enough.Horrible call there. Ball clearly broke the plane from the side camera.Harbaugh needs to challange <again>.
Nothing new for Ravens fans.That's a horrible call.
I'm pretty sure that I saw all but maybe the back tip cross the goal line. Horrible.Problem there is you couldn't see the ball cross the plane, but given where his body was, it would have been physically impossible for the ball not to have crossed the end zone.
The football should have a code in its nose.I agree with the announcers. They need to code the ball to when it breaks the plane.
I'm not really here to argue with you, but what makes you think the Pats will score three times? Have I missed something here? Will we even get a first down? I'm guessing run for 2 yards short pass for 3 yards and then incompletition.Sorry for being such a crybaby but the performance of the team today makes me wanna puke! I could live with a loss and I fully expected it to be a tough one today (since we haven't played real well at all this year).I disagree with going for 2 here. A 19-point spread means they could tie it with 1 FG, 2 TDs and 2 two-point conversions. A 20-point lead means they have to score three touchdowns.
Oh ok I missed that partSo if Harbaugh simply challenges the 'spot of the ball' instead of challenging 'that the player did not get the first down'Does that change anything?When they challenged the ref said that they were "challenging that the player did not get the first down".Why is that?Challenge the spot of the ball then they change the spot of the ball...the the challenge was correctYes.If they change the spot and the Ravens still are short of a first down, are they charged a time out?
All of this outdated silliness of using chains, etc needs to go. Put some radio transmitters in the ball and you can put the ball exactly where it is after every spot.I agree with the announcers. They need to code the ball to when it breaks the plane. I have no idea how they don't overturn that call. It was clearly over the plane directly from the side.
Pretty sure the ref said "the spot of the ball as it relates to a first down"Oh ok I missed that partSo if Harbaugh simply challenges the 'spot of the ball' instead of challenging 'that the player did not get the first down'Does that change anything?When they challenged the ref said that they were "challenging that the player did not get the first down".Why is that?Challenge the spot of the ball then they change the spot of the ball...the the challenge was correctYes.If they change the spot and the Ravens still are short of a first down, are they charged a time out?
I am just saying, MAKE them score three touchdowns to beat you, instead of bailing them out a tad and letting them get a FG as one of the three scores, potentially. It probably won't matter.I'm not really here to argue with you, but what makes you think the Pats will score three times? Have I missed something here? Will we even get a first down? I'm guessing run for 2 yards short pass for 3 yards and then incompletition.I disagree with going for 2 here. A 19-point spread means they could tie it with 1 FG, 2 TDs and 2 two-point conversions. A 20-point lead means they have to score three touchdowns.
You can't do that.You can only challenge if they made a first down/TD, or if they were down by contact for these situations I think.They don't want the scenario where they mis-spotted the ball by a couple inches or something, and that always results in a "winning" challenge.Oh ok I missed that partSo if Harbaugh simply challenges the 'spot of the ball' instead of challenging 'that the player did not get the first down'Does that change anything?When they challenged the ref said that they were "challenging that the player did not get the first down".Why is that?Challenge the spot of the ball then they change the spot of the ball...the the challenge was correctYes.If they change the spot and the Ravens still are short of a first down, are they charged a time out?