What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

rule ? from yesterday (1 Viewer)

billrob

Footballguy
On Minny's last drive yesterday when they came out of the timeout they got called for too many men on the field. How this happens is another ? for another thread.

When Favre notice it he tried calling a timeout which would have been 2 timeouts in a row and been a 15 yard (I think) penalty.

Couldn't NO have refused the too many men 5 yard penalty and went with the larger delay of game penalty?

Ultimately Favre threw the pick on the next play so it didn't matter...but still it would have pushed them way out of FG range.

 
I believe the 2 timeout rule applies to defenses trying to ice kickers, not necessarily the offense. But I'm not sure on that . . .

 
I believe the 2 timeout rule applies to defenses trying to ice kickers, not necessarily the offense. But I'm not sure on that . . .
IIRC, there's no penalty for calling two timeouts in a row...it's just not allowed.When they try to call the second timeout, they don't stop the play...they just let the clock run.
 
I think the two-timeout rule applies to all situations.

But I think they ruled that the flag was thrown before he called timeout. So I think the only choice for N.O. was to accept or decline the flag for the penalty.

 
Looks like the 15 yard penalty only involves icing the kicker . . .

Rule 4, Section 5, Article 2

Item 3: Consecutive Team Timeouts. Each team may be granted a charged team

timeout during the same dead-ball period, but a second charged team timeout by either

team during the same dead-ball period is prohibited. Such team timeouts may

follow a Referee’s timeout or any automatic timeouts in Section 4 above.

Item 4: Unsportsmanlike Conduct. An attempt to call an excess team timeout or to

call a second timeout in the same dead-ball period by Team B in an attempt to “freeze”

a kicker, will be considered unsportsmanlike conduct and will subject the offending

team to a 15-yard penalty (See 12-3). This will apply to field goal or Try attempts.

Note: If an attempt is made to call a timeout in such situations, the officials shall not grant a

timeout; instead, play will continue, and a penalty will be called, with customary enforcement.

If a timeout is inadvertently granted, the penalty shall also be enforced. See 12-3-1-v.

 
Looks like the 15 yard penalty only involves icing the kicker . . .

Rule 4, Section 5, Article 2

Item 3: Consecutive Team Timeouts. Each team may be granted a charged team

timeout during the same dead-ball period, but a second charged team timeout by either

team during the same dead-ball period is prohibited. Such team timeouts may

follow a Referee’s timeout or any automatic timeouts in Section 4 above.

Item 4: Unsportsmanlike Conduct. An attempt to call an excess team timeout or to

call a second timeout in the same dead-ball period by Team B in an attempt to “freeze”

a kicker, will be considered unsportsmanlike conduct and will subject the offending

team to a 15-yard penalty (See 12-3). This will apply to field goal or Try attempts.

Note: If an attempt is made to call a timeout in such situations, the officials shall not grant a

timeout; instead, play will continue, and a penalty will be called, with customary enforcement.

If a timeout is inadvertently granted, the penalty shall also be enforced. See 12-3-1-v.
this is where it's cloudy for me. the first bolded statement seems to imply that its a different situation than the attempt to ice the kicker with the second timeout hence the use of the word or instead of andwho knows...

 
Looks like the 15 yard penalty only involves icing the kicker . . .

Rule 4, Section 5, Article 2

Item 3: Consecutive Team Timeouts. Each team may be granted a charged team

timeout during the same dead-ball period, but a second charged team timeout by either

team during the same dead-ball period is prohibited. Such team timeouts may

follow a Referee’s timeout or any automatic timeouts in Section 4 above.

Item 4: Unsportsmanlike Conduct. An attempt to call an excess team timeout or to

call a second timeout in the same dead-ball period by Team B in an attempt to “freeze”

a kicker, will be considered unsportsmanlike conduct and will subject the offending

team to a 15-yard penalty (See 12-3). This will apply to field goal or Try attempts.

Note: If an attempt is made to call a timeout in such situations, the officials shall not grant a

timeout; instead, play will continue, and a penalty will be called, with customary enforcement.

If a timeout is inadvertently granted, the penalty shall also be enforced. See 12-3-1-v.
this is where it's cloudy for me. the first bolded statement seems to imply that its a different situation than the attempt to ice the kicker with the second timeout hence the use of the word or instead of andwho knows...
The "or" only serves to separate the two different violations, both of which occur when trying to ice the kicker. Read it as, "An attempt to call an excess team timeout in an attempt to 'freeze' a kicker, OR an attempt to call a second timeout in the same dead-ball period in an attempt to 'freeze' a kicker, will be considered unsportsmanlike conduct and will subject the offending team to a 15-yard penalty."

 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top