What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Scoring question (1 Viewer)

Polecat

Footballguy
First batter reaches on an E6, goes to second on errant throw.

Second batter reaches on an E5, runner from second scores.

Third and fourth batters walk, loading the bases.

Fifth batter pops up, infield fly rule.

Sixth batter singles, scoring two. Runners at first and third.

Seventh batter grounds into inning ending double play, 6-4-2 with the third out on a play at the plate.

Are any of the runs earned? I am inclined to say no, because the first two batters reach on errors and there would have been two outs when the fifth batter popped up, resulting in the third out.

 
I believe you are correct if we interpret the rule correctly

http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/offic...l_scorer_10.jsp

"Rule 10.16(a) Comment: The following are examples of earned runs charged to a pitcher:

(1) Peter pitches and retires Abel and Baker, the first two batters of an inning. Charlie reaches first base on an error charged to a fielder. Daniel hits a home run. Edward hits a home run. Peter retires Frank to end the inning. Three runs have scored, but no earned runs are charged to Peter, because Charlie should have been the third out of the inning, as reconstructed without the error."

 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top