What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Starting a Brand New League (1 Viewer)

J Perusse

Footballguy
I am going to embrace my obsession and create a super deep, in-depth league for my friends and I. I am looking to go IDP (for the first time) and use contracts. I have zero experience with both of these aspects...what advice do you guys have for someone in my position?

For example, I have no clue how to do a 40 round draft and not have people go crazy. How have you guys approached these huge start-up drafts?

Do you apply contracts as soon as you draft someone?

I am leaning between MFL and FleaFlicker...thoughts on this?

For those of you in these types of leagues, what is the best aspect of yours? What about thing you wish you had done differently?

What do I need to know about being in an IDP league?

Thanks guys, I really appreciate it and I know my buddies will too.

My first and biggest piece of advise would be to play in IDPs before trying to commish a league. IDP is fun, but it is not for everyone.

1) IMO, long drafts need to have a generous clock because someone will have a life issue, but encourage people to move quickly use pre-draft. also, if for some rason you guys can get everyone online for an hour or two to knock out several rounds this will make it better.

2) I lean toawards after the draft just from an organizational standpoint, but not a strong preference. Are $$$ included?

3-4) the biggest thing is that for IDP to matter you need use a full defense or near full defense. Also, to make it matter you need to make sure defensive players score enough. If you do the above two things right then you can have meaningful trades and transactions for IDP because they matter.