What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Is Roy Halladay a Hall of Famer? (1 Viewer)

Doc = HOFer?

• Total voters

Smack Tripper

Footballguy
So Roy Halladay is on his way to visit Dr. Yocum at the age of 35 with shoulder issues. Its starting to look like the end of the road if its the shoulder.

If this is the end, is he HOFer?

The resume...

201 W

103 L

3.35 ERA

16 seasons

2719 innings

2097 K

569 BB

2620 Hits allowed

1.173 WHIP

Career WAR of 66

ER+ 132

20 career shutouts

Two time Cy Young

6 top 5 finishes in Cy Young

Perfect Game

second post season no hitter in history

My vote, if this is the end, is yes.

I'm no expert but it just seems his counting stats are very low. I assumed he needed 2-3 more years of solid stats just to pick up some more wins. Granted he played on Toronto for a long time. I'd love to see him there but it seems the Hall prefers sustained good play over brief dominant play.

Depends on how they chose to define him.

If you look at the total numbers, they fall short of your typical HOF starting pitcher.

If you look at him in the scope of his era, he was a top 3 pitcher in baseball for a full decade.

List all of the modern-era starting pitchers with 201 or fewer victories who are in the HOF. That number will be the killer.

Last edited by a moderator:
The poll is odd, Smack. "No" and "needs to do more" are basically the same answer.

Combining those two numbers against the "Yes" votes will yield a fair opinion.

List all of the modern-era starting pitchers with 201 or fewer victories who are in the HOF. That number will be the killer.
To be fair, wins are going to plunge in the very near future. We might not see another 300 game winner and you have Pedro at 219 who will get in.