What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Legal guys - Bankruptcy question (1 Viewer)

wittyusername

Footballguy
While I am hoping for the best, I need to plan for the worst.  I am a retired from the USG and have a federal annuity/pension & social security.  My wife and I opened a small retail business and had to sign a "Personal Guarantee" for our SBA Loan and with our landlord for our lease.  Our  business was/is formed as a C-Corporation (required as this was a Roll-Over for Business Start-up). My question is - if we have to declare bankruptcy (due to COVID-19 impacts) - I guess my 401K and home might be lost, but is my Pension and Social Security protected?  Or am I screwed?  TIA. 

I'm not an expert, and don't have links, but from some prior reading into this, I beleive your home and retirement would be exempt from bankruptcy related assets.

Thanks, that is what I am assuming - also my Social Security is probably protected.  I suspect I should go see a bankruptcy lawyer with my lease, SBA Loan documents, etc to let them review and make recommendations to pre-position my finances in the worse happens.  Or should I see an accountant?  Or both?  Geeze this sucks.

What state you are in is going to have an impact on what is protected. See a bankruptcy attorney, not an accountant. HTH. DM me if you have specific questions, but a lot of this depends upon your state. 

Talk to the SBA and your landlord first.  Lots more to develop on this and SBA loans and extensions are at the top of the list.  And your landlord isn't likely do do any better than you in the short to mid term.  You hold more cards than you think.

Angry Beavers said: