What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Undefeated - NFL v. Fantasy (1 Viewer)

tikitime

Footballguy
I think this topic is cribbed from Bill Simmons. I was having a debate with someone about this topic, that going undefeated is harder to do in fantasy because of sheer luck and chance. I have been doing fantasy now for nearly 20 years, an average of 2-3 leagues a year, and nobody has sniffed undefeated the whole way through. Are there people here that recall being in leagues, only where everybody was trying and paying attention, where someone went the whole way through without a loss or tie? How often? Obviously only happened once in the NFL, so roughly 1 in 1200 teams. I'd wager that fewer than 1 in 100 leagues have someone go through the whole year without a loss.

Last edited by a moderator:
I've been in one redraft league for nearly 20 years, and another dynasty league for 8. Both are very competitive leagues made up of a group of friends.

In the older league which is redraft, I went 12-0 to start the season last year. Week 13, I was matched up against the worst team in the league. I lost. I did go on to win the league title a few weeks later however.

That was by far the closest anybody has come to being undefeated in all of my leagues.

Haven't seen it yet, from what I remember, usually the undefeated teams after 6 weeks are not the strongest and more based on luck of schedule, which eventually runs out

Definitely easier in dynasty. I have one dynasty team that has not lost since around Week 10 of 2009. I have never personally seen it in redraft though.