What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

101 Best Songs of 1990 - #1 George Michael - Freedom '90 (3 Viewers)

scorchy

Footballguy
So, 1990... I went into this exercise with high hopes - it was the year I graduated high school in a small backwards-*** Maryland town and headed 800 miles south to Gainesville, FL for a new adventure. I remember the music that year being amazing, but I must have been thinking of 1991 (which for me is the best of my music-conscious life and I'm likely saving for last).

The good from 1990 - a few classic alternative albums and one classic hip hop album, a little bit of Seattle before grunge even had a name, leftover synthpop, and the e-drenched sounds of Madchester.
The bad from 1990 - hair metal was taking it's last gasps, AOR/classic rock was pretty much dead too, most (but not all) R&B had gone the way of ####ty pop. and the ascendance of a certain no-talent ***-clown.

To get the fine print out of the way, I'm using the same criteria as my other countdowns ('86, '88, '94, and '96):

In trying to reflect the sounds of a year, I'm using the single release date as the primary criterion, with album release date being secondary if the song wasn't released as a single. The rankings reflect a mix of my personal opinion, popularity, staying power, and critical acclaim, and should not be taken seriously.

Will kick this off once I get a little bit of work done. Warning though, it starts out a little slow.

#101 Eric Clapton - Bad Love
#100 Enuff Z'Nuff - Fly High Michelle
#99 Mellow Man Ace - Mentirosa
#98 Eleventh Dream Day - Testify
#97 Jon Bon Jovi - Blaze of Glory
#96 John Wesley Harding - The Devil in Me
#95 INXS - Suicide Blonde
#94 Cocteau Twins - Cherry Coloured Funk
#93 Slaughter - Fly to the Angels