What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Car Seats - Ask Me Anything (1 Viewer)

moleculo

Footballguy
Thought this might be fun...

I'm talking about kid car seats - infant carriers, convertibles, combination seats, belt positioning booster seats.

I am an engineer for one of the big manufacturers (I will not say who, please do not guess.  Ask me almost anything, I guess).  I have now taken two seats into production. I've seen pretty much everything from on-site manufacturing in China to sled testing at outside agencies. 

I am fairly well versed in the federal regulation, all though there are a ton of nuances that can trip me up.  I am also a  certified technician, which means I can do ***official*** car seat checks.

These are really interesting products - the severity of crashes is quite violent which makes the design challenging.  And, it is important - properly used car seats save lives.

* Disclaimer: views presented will be by own personal opinion and are not reflective of my company or any regulatory body.  Read at your own risk:  You assume all liability for any advice.

Last edited by a moderator:
whats the deal with the expiration date now on plastic? is it real or just a ploy to keep people from not buying new seats for their 2, 3 or 15th kid? 

I'm also seeing expiration dates on hockey helmets too...so is this an industry wide thing with protective equipment? 

whats the deal with the expiration date now on plastic? is it real or just a ploy to keep people from not buying new seats for their 2, 3 or 15th kid? 

I'm also seeing expiration dates on hockey helmets too...so is this an industry wide thing with protective equipment?