What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Fantasy Football Winnings (1 Viewer)

Escape Goat

Footballguy
After another season of ultimate DOMINATION the dollars are going to be flowing :goodposting: Might not be a problem for most but for some of the dominators, depositing check after check in the coming weeks might raise a few eyebrows.

This could inspire a brand new cottage industry, FF winnings laundering.

Indeed a whole new franchise could be started globaly enabling FF winnings to be tax free for a small fee

Draft Dodgers " you draft 'em we dodge em"

I actually usually do report my fantasy/NCAA bracket winnings on my taxes (but I'm a tax attorney, so I guess I feel more compulsion). :confused:

When I used to play on Sportsline, they would take taxes out with winnings over $600 I believe.
That's the threshhold at the track; for poker tourneys, its $5K.I'm a CPA and never report it.I also don't fill out use tax forms for items I bought in neighboring states, but tax attorneys probably do. :confused:

If it's a lot of money: they might audit you and find out about it whether it's a check or it's cash. People know about it, you could get in a lot of trouble.

If it's not a lot of money: isn't it worth paying a percentage of not a lot of money to avoid the risk of going to jail? I mean, do you shoplift small items from stores?

Last edited by a moderator:
This thread might be in jest, but with the Congress enacting taxes on Tanning Bed use as a means of generating health care reform revenues, I would be careful not to draw too much of the IRS' attention on our hobby. The Feds are liable to find a way to get their grimy paws involved too so they can get what they think might be their fair share. :X