What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Potential stat correction for Tenn DST? (1 Viewer)

ignatiusjreilly

Footballguy
Saw this being debated on Twitter. From this week's Titans-Texans game:

1st & 10 at TEN 38​

(1:33 - 4th) D.Mills FUMBLES (Aborted) at TEN 39, and recovers at TEN 39. Penalty on HST, Illegal Formation, declined.
Is there any chance that could be ruled a sack?

Doesn't impact me at all, just curious to see if any fantasy semis results are overturned. My instinct is that a fumbled snap does not count as a sack and thus there will be no correction.
 
Saw this being debated on Twitter. From this week's Titans-Texans game:

1st & 10 at TEN 38​

(1:33 - 4th) D.Mills FUMBLES (Aborted) at TEN 39, and recovers at TEN 39. Penalty on HST, Illegal Formation, declined.
Is there any chance that could be ruled a sack?

Doesn't impact me at all, just curious to see if any fantasy semis results are overturned. My instinct is that a fumbled snap does not count as a sack and thus there will be no correction.
I was watching the Broncos-Rams game and a snap sailed past Baker, recovered by Baker for huge loss. This also wasn’t ruled a sack. I checked as I was against Broncos defense.
 
Saw this being debated on Twitter. From this week's Titans-Texans game:

1st & 10 at TEN 38​

(1:33 - 4th) D.Mills FUMBLES (Aborted) at TEN 39, and recovers at TEN 39. Penalty on HST, Illegal Formation, declined.
Is there any chance that could be ruled a sack?

Doesn't impact me at all, just curious to see if any fantasy semis results are overturned. My instinct is that a fumbled snap does not count as a sack and thus there will be no correction.
A team has to be actively engaged in trying to run a passing play for a sack to be credited. Given that the Texans were ahead, were trying to run out the clock, and the last thing they were trying to do was throw the football, I highly doubt this will get changed to a sack.
 
I think you're both right. This person quotes the relevant rule and says that play should be scored a sack, but IMO the key phrase he misses is "after gaining possession of the snap". That implies that plays where the QB doesn't gain possession, ie aborted snaps (which this was, per the game log) do not count as sacks. In addition, it says "while retreating to his normal passing position", and as @Anarchy99 points out, they were clearly not passing in that situation.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top