What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Spikes and Kneel Downs (1 Viewer)

pidgeonmanza

Footballguy
When someone spikes the ball why is it not intentional grounding?

When someone takes a knee why don't they need to be touched down?

 
Last edited by a moderator:
I am 99% sure that both of these things are addressed in the rule book.

Spiking the ball to stop the clock is allowed. Intentional grounding occurs when a QB throws the ball to no one when he under duress. If he spikes the ball and there is no one around him trying to sack him, how can it be intentional grounding.

Taking a knee is essentially giving up and killing the play, in a manner of speaking.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
My father brings this question up each freakin year despite the fact that I've explained it multiple times. Intentional grounding only applies when the QB throws the ball away to avoid a sack. He's not generally considered to be avoiding a sack when he immediately spikes the ball to stop the clock. My dad only wants to focus on the fact that the QB is intentionally throwing the ball into the ground, without consideration for the circumstances that the NFL rules address.

 
Would it not be intentional grounding either because the RB's or te is close enough to "catch" the ball. Intentional grounding only happens when no reciever is close enought to make an effort.

 
Would it not be intentional grounding either because the RB's or te is close enough to "catch" the ball. Intentional grounding only happens when no reciever is close enought to make an effort.
I suppose you could make that argument, but it doesn't even really matter when you understand how the rule is written. Intentional grounding only applies when the QB is throwing the ball away TO AVOID A SACK. If he's throwing the ball away as soon as he takes the snap, he's not doing it to avoid a sack, so no other considerations need apply.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top