Gordo
Footballguy
Girls Fastpitch Softball
Runners on second and third with no outs.
Pop fly caught by pitcher.
Both runners had taken a lead off and did not return to their bases to tag up.
Pitcher ran to third base and touched the base before the runner going home returned.
The runner from 2nd ran all the way to third and was occupying third when the pitcher tagged her.
The ump waited until the pitcher threw the ball to second base to touch second before calling the third out, but I think this should be an unassisted triple play because of the catch, touching third base gets the runner going home out, and tagging the runner from second, because she was not legally occupying third base because she did not tag up.
Runners on second and third with no outs.
Pop fly caught by pitcher.
Both runners had taken a lead off and did not return to their bases to tag up.
Pitcher ran to third base and touched the base before the runner going home returned.
The runner from 2nd ran all the way to third and was occupying third when the pitcher tagged her.
The ump waited until the pitcher threw the ball to second base to touch second before calling the third out, but I think this should be an unassisted triple play because of the catch, touching third base gets the runner going home out, and tagging the runner from second, because she was not legally occupying third base because she did not tag up.
This is correct...
You can tag a runner off a base at any time and they are out (except of course a runner going back to a base after a foul ball). The only "problem" in this case is that the runner is standing on 3rd. If the pitcher would have waited for her to step off the bag to return to 2nd and then tagged her, the runner would have been out. However, as mentioned, this is the same as a runner leaving early on a tag. And yes, technically if the pitcher walks back to the mound and throws a pitch to the next batter, the runner would stay on 3rd and once the pitch was thrown, could not be called out. The "appeal"/force out on the pop up must be made before the next pitch is thrown.
And I still think you are wrong under rule 7.08 c: