What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

You make the call! (1 Viewer)

DropKick

Footballguy
Game tied in the bottom of the ninth. Two outs and runners on second and third. The runner on third breaks for the plate on the pitch and the batter hits a ground ball to short. The shortstop tags the runner on the way to third AFTER the other runner crosses the plate. Is the game necessarily over?

 

jon_mx

Footballguy
Game tied in the bottom of the ninth. Two outs and runners on second and third. The runner on third breaks for the plate on the pitch and the batter hits a ground ball to short. The shortstop tags the runner on the way to third AFTER the other runner crosses the plate. Is the game necessarily over?
He would have to throw to first to get the force out to disallow the run and he can still do that.

 

KingPrawn

Footballguy
Game tied in the bottom of the ninth. Two outs and runners on second and third. The runner on third breaks for the plate on the pitch and the batter hits a ground ball to short. The shortstop tags the runner on the way to third AFTER the other runner crosses the plate. Is the game necessarily over?
As jon_mx stated. No, not necessarily. Depends if the batter reaches first safely. If he does, the run would count as the third out is not a forced out.

 

shadyridr

Footballguy
Game tied in the bottom of the ninth. Two outs and runners on second and third. The runner on third breaks for the plate on the pitch and the batter hits a ground ball to short. The shortstop tags the runner on the way to third AFTER the other runner crosses the plate. Is the game necessarily over?
He would have to throw to first to get the force out to disallow the run and he can still do that.
but wouldnt that technically be the fourth out?
 

Mentos

Footballguy
Game tied in the bottom of the ninth. Two outs and runners on second and third. The runner on third breaks for the plate on the pitch and the batter hits a ground ball to short. The shortstop tags the runner on the way to third AFTER the other runner crosses the plate. Is the game necessarily over?
He would have to throw to first to get the force out to disallow the run and he can still do that.
That doesn't make much sense to me, but I might just be stupid. I guess I could go to Barnes & Noble and try to find the rule in the 2013 rule book.
 

Wooderson

Fight The Power
This is baseball 101 folks.

Same reason every walk off hit you see the batter always runs to first.

 

DropKick

Footballguy
shadyridr said:
Game tied in the bottom of the ninth. Two outs and runners on second and third. The runner on third breaks for the plate on the pitch and the batter hits a ground ball to short. The shortstop tags the runner on the way to third AFTER the other runner crosses the plate. Is the game necessarily over?
He would have to throw to first to get the force out to disallow the run and he can still do that.
but wouldnt that technically be the fourth out?
Yes, that technically is the rare but legitimate 4th out. It cancels the 3rd out and the run does not score.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fourth_out

 

DropKick

Footballguy
Game tied in the bottom of the ninth. Two outs and runners on second and third. The runner on third breaks for the plate on the pitch and the batter hits a ground ball to short. The shortstop tags the runner on the way to third AFTER the other runner crosses the plate. Is the game necessarily over?
He would have to throw to first to get the force out to disallow the run and he can still do that.
Yes, that is correct. Many don't consider the possibility of a "4th out".

 

Wooderson

Fight The Power
This is baseball 101 folks.

Same reason every walk off hit you see the batter always runs to first.
Yeah, we know that. The confusion here is about the runner who was tagged.
The runner getting tagged does not affect the call since the runner crossed the plate first.

So it's much like a walk off hit. Run counts if batter can reach first safely.

 

Mentos

Footballguy

Users who are viewing this thread

Top