I saw an interesting call in a game the other day, that I cannot for the life of me find clear rules for. Situation; bases empty, pitcher pitching from the stretch. Pitcher does not come to a complete stop. Mid pitch, umpire yells "dead ball, balk!" Pitcher finishes the throw, batter swings and fouls ball off. Ump awards batter 1st base. Explanation; count was full, bases empty balk results in ball added to count, ball four, batter gets first base. Opposing coach contends no balk can be called with bases empty. Umpire clarifies "if a pitcher is pitching from the stretch, they must come to a complete stop if bases empty or not. Otherwise it is an illegal pitch, and a ball is added to count."
Google has told me both that in no circumstance is a balk called with bases empty, but I see some online rule books stating pitcher must come to a rest in the stretch, bases empty or not.
FTR, game is being played under NHSF rules. I'm ordering my rule book tonight, as this is the first time I've seen this one called. Any umps here know this one?