What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Beauty And The Beat - The Go-Go's (1 Viewer)

rockaction

Footballguy
So I just purchased the 40th Anniversary edition of The Go-Go's Beauty And The Beat. I'm no expert, but it's gotta be top ten all-time new wave albums, no? At least of the pop crossover variety. It's excellent. Not many jagged edges but a lot of creative songwriting and instrumentation. And very much sing-a-longable. You can hear the punk/pop influences all over the place. 

More power-pop bands would do a good job listening to this and figuring out how get more power and punch into their pop. I can remember listening to this at about eight or nine years old and loving it. It still holds up. That's remarkable how it does that across all ages, sexes, everything.

One of the finest albums I can recall hearing at a young age. 

Last edited by a moderator:
More power-pop bands would do a good job listening to this and figuring out how to get more power and punch into their pop.
Answer: Get Kathy Valentine and Gina Schock to join your band.

Belinda and Jane got all the eyeballs but, Lord, did the Go-Go's have an engine room. In a lot of rock, the guitarist(s) own the songs' melodies. True to their punk influences, however, bassist Valentine led the melodies. The Go-Go's guitars were generally supporting instruments.

Kathy on the bass and Gina on the kit ... they weren't just great girl players. They were great players, period. They could have rocked with any pop-rock act of the era, and really would have uplifted a lot of them.