No rule change could have fixed the Broncos/Steelers blown quick whistle call. The official simply blew it by whistling it dead too quickly. You can't award a team possession for recovering (what is later ruled) a fumble after the play is blown dead. Officials just need to be more aware, especially considering how many teams now throw those quick passes/laterals. Notice how many WRs and TEs seemingly have rushes every week now (I see it all of the time now when looking at fantasy football box scores), and I would guess that most of those come from passes that end up being actual laterals/runs.
Really

Did you watch the Saints vs. Lions game where that is EXACTLY what happened... An errant whistle blew the play dead BEFORE anyone recovered the ball.. Watching the replay you could see all the Saints players not even try to recover the ball as they believed it to be "dead.
Yet after the Refs conferred, they awarded the ball to the Lions.
Yup.. and last night the NFL sent a memo to Profootballtalk (I tihnk it was them) saying they were wrong to award the ball to the Lions. It should have been Saints ball at the point of the fumble or get a do-over (saints choice)....
Here is a short article written on allowing a fumble recovery "after" the whistle;
http://sports.yahoo.com/nfl/blog/shutdown_corner/post/The-greatly-flawed-rule-on-recovering-fumbles-af?urn=nfl,207503"Since 2006, a whistle hasn't always been a whistle in the NFL. In that off-season the rules committee made the determination that teams can recover a fumble even after an official has blown the play dead. This was done to bail refs out of ruling a fumbling player down by contact, only to be contradicted by replays. After the rule change, the call could be reversed, enabling the recovering team to get the ball despite the premature whistle."
I should think any "
Football Guy" worth their salt would be aware of this rule change ... but seems many are not.
In the case of the Broncos / Steelers game yesterday, the ruling was an incomplete pass (vs "down by contact" as the article above states... but one would think the same rule of recoving the ball after the whistle would apply since replay shows that it was actually a fumble).
Seems like the NFL is second guessing themselves here.
Can you recover a fumble after a whistle or can't you???
DEN should have been awarded the ball where it was recovered without the opportunity to advance it (because of the faulty wistle).
Shades of the Steelers SB vs. the Seahawks yesterday. Would have been a huge issue had DEN lost in OT.