Can someone explain to me how that rule comes into effect when Dez was already down?
He took steps...landed on his elbow...THEN the ball hits the ground and pops up.
As soon as his elbow hits the ground...he's down, right?
Watch the calvin johnson play to get a better understanding
He's not down until he is through the movement of completing the catch
I don't see how there can be an application of that rule here.
Dez goes up...catches the ball...brings it into his body and then switches it from his dominant hand to his left...while taking steps...lunges...right elbow hits the ground before his left hand comes down with the ball into the ground.
What else must a person do to establish a catch?
He caught it...check.
He has control of it...check.
He switches it from one hand to the other...football move?
Nope.
He takes steps while switching it from one hand to another...football move? Check.
He lunges for the endzone...football move?
Nope. Didn't lunge as replay clearly shows.
His off hand elbow comes down...he's down...check.
Are ANY of those in question above? If so...are you able to overturn all those "football moves"?