What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tatum Bell Stat Correction? (1 Viewer)

GetThePoint

Footballguy
On Tatum Bell's fumble that was returned for a touchdown, it appears he was credited with a twelve yard loss in rushing yards. That doesn't seem right to me, since the ball was knocked backwards an additional six yards before it was recovered by Arizona. I would think he would get only a six yard loss.

The twelve yard loss sets him back to 29 rushing yards, but a 6 yard loss would put him at 35, and would give him an additional fantasy point in many scoring systems.

Was wondering if anyone had any insight into the actual rule, and whether or not his stat line should be corrected. As it turns out, it is a crucial point in a fantasy game in my league.

Here's how it reads in NFL.com play-by-play logs:

"2-10-DEN16 (7:59) T.Bell left end to DEN 10 for -6 yards (C.Okeafor). FUMBLES (C.Okeafor), touched at DEN 4, RECOVERED by ARZ-A.Smith at DEN 4. A.Smith for 4 yards, TOUCHDOWN."

His rushing yardage before the play was 31 yards, and after was 19 yards.

 
I think he is charged with the loss on where the ball is recovered, not where the fumble occurred.

I recall a Boldin catch last year where the hit knocked the ball back 15 or more yards before it was recovered. Boldin's net yards on the catch were reduced to where the fumble was recovered. There was a stat change later on that play, but it had to do with where the fumble was recovered, not the negative yards on the play.

I could be wrong. Keep checking those stat corrections just in case.

 
"2-10-DEN16 (7:59) T.Bell left end to DEN 10 for -6 yards (C.Okeafor). FUMBLES (C.Okeafor), touched at DEN 4, RECOVERED by ARZ-A.Smith at DEN 4. A.Smith for 4 yards, TOUCHDOWN."

Line of scrimage started on the 16 yard line so the fumble happen at the 10 and recovered at the 4 for a 12 yard loss, not a 6 yard loss. Sorry for the bad news...........

 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top