What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Gay marriage (1 Viewer)

Are you for or against?

• For

Votes: 291 80.2%
  • Against

Votes: 72 19.8%

• Total voters
Do most feel Scalia is a hypocrite for being for interracial marriage and not same-sex? I got a wiki-degree last night and don't really think so. Straighten me out one way or the other.

Do most feel Scalia is a hypocrite for being for interracial marriage and not same-sex? I got a wiki-degree last night and don't really think so. Straighten me out one way or the other.
No. He's wrong and probably inconsistent, but lots of people are wrong about all sorts of things without being hypocritical about it.

We seem to be programmed for monogamy. Maybe not a lifetime with one partner, but certainly one partner at a time. I'm guessing their are some exceptions that prove this rule.
In the modern U.S., we are somewhat socially programmed for monogamy.

We are not genetically programmed for monogamy. We are genetically programmed for a wide variety of mating and bonding strategies that depend in part on individual genetic variation, but much more, I suspect, on individual environmental factors.

The software running on human brains is pretty darn complicated, and a lot of the complication probably has to do with sex. We take in all kinds of feedback about our own prospects, desirability, size of dating pool, and so on, and we're "programmed" to pursue any number of different strategies based on a rather complicated algorithm that takes into account all of those inputs and more.

A star male athlete, musician, actor or the like is probably "programmed" to have sex with lots and lots of women, perhaps bonding primarily with one at a time, but with some amount of emotional attachment in his numerous affairs as well.