What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Andy D's draft talk thread. Mock drafts, prospect notes, (1 Viewer)

Andy Dufresne

Footballguy
I'm just learning about a lot of these guys and I know the order will change considerably, so be gentle.

The order is based on "if the season ended today" and the picks are based on what I see are the most obvious needs for each team:

1. Cincinnati Bengals - Michael Oher, OT - Ole Miss

I don't think they really want Carson Palmer to die and their backs should gain a little more than 3 YPC. Oher is the big winner in the "I went back to school and all I got was a lousy extra $20 million in bonuses" t-shirt.

Alternates: Orakpo, Wells

2. Detroit Lions - Matthew Stafford, QB - Georgia

Who knows how much turnover there will be in the Lions front office? Will the bums in place now continue to run the show? Will they hire a new coach? All I know is that Dan Orlovsky and Drew Stanton are not the answer. Stafford is as close as you're going to get to a franchise QB in this year's draft.

Alternates: Orakpo, Monroe

3. Kansas City Chiefs - Rey Maualuga, ILB - USC

This is a team in dire need of an impact player on defense. They could easily use this pick on a DE (okay, they could easily use it ANYWHERE) as Hali hasn't played as well after switching sides. Another team that may see a lot of front office turnover.

4. San Francisco 49ers - Michael Crabtree, WR - Texas Tech

Battle, Bruce, Johnson, and Hill. Yuck. I'm still wary about Crabtree's speed, but his production is undeniable. And he certainly looks the part.

Alternates: Cushing, Monroe

5. Oakland Raiders - Eugene Monroe, OT - Virginia

Al Davis takes his pills and drafts a guy that can actually help his team. Monroe charters a hearse to drive him to Oakland.