What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Be a Better Writer And Poster - Be a Better Person (1 Viewer)

This thread's a good illustration too for how people don't all desire the same thing. 

Some will argue against being more concise and clear. Others wouldn't even start to read the article saying it was too long. 

Lots of different folks out there. And that's good. 

It's an interesting discussion for sure.

I think it's an issue of focus.

As a writer, I think an important question to ask is this:  Is the focus on yourself or is the focus on the reader?

Which also relates to the question: What are you trying to do?

Are you trying to make a statement? Are you trying to transfer a thought? Are you trying to inform? Are you trying to persuade?

Lots of variables and different goals are in the mix. And each will inform how one can best communicate. 
I agree and disagree. It depends on what kind of writing we are talking about. Writing for the sake of a business environment is one thing.  Writing in general outside of the world of business is another animal in general.  Over the past 20-30 years—the typical “audience” here in the US has absolutely devolved. We have transformed ourselves into an “ADD-like” culture that is propelled by instant gratification.  People have a hard time focusing on anything that takes anything more than a tiny bit of time and effort. Now let me ask you this—do you think that catering to this attitude and culture should be celebrated?