What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Benefit guys cobra open enrollment etc al (1 Viewer)

belljr

Footballguy
So long story short. My wife after 30+ years is leaving her company. So we are obviously losing her insurance coverage. So looking into enrolling in mine as a QLE. The effective date would be sometime in October.

If I don't do anything how long would we be covered for 30 or 60 days?

I'm tempted to just wait until open enrollment or is that too big a window?

Premiums are usually pretax correct?

I'm sure I have some more questions but that's it for now

Tia

I’m an insurance agent. I’ll answer this as best I can with the information you’ve provided.

First and foremost DO NOT say no to an offer of cobra. You don’t have to say yes, but if you say no then that option is off the table. Just let the offer expire, you generally (legally) have 63 days I believe to accept or reject the offer from when it was delivered to you. Also, I’m assuming she works for a “large company” of over 20 employees, where cobra is federally mandated.

Second, if her last day is 10/5 - find out if your coverage will end (without cobra) at the end of that day, or at the end of that month. If it’s the end of that month (October), and you have 60* days of cobra offered, you can “float” the offer pretty much till the end of the year. If something happens, you can accept cobra retroactive back to when the coverage ended.

Also look into what your current deductible is, how much of it each of you has met, and when that deductible will reset (typically it’s with the calendar year, but not always). Do the same with the coverage from your employer.

Also, find out how much cobra will actually be - it might not be as bad as you think (or that bad compared to coverage through your employer).