What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Laptop Advice for College Bound Student (1 Viewer)

chet

Footballguy
My son is going to college for engineering next week and needs a Windows-based laptop. The school sent out the following configuration suggestions:

Min 16GB RAM; CPU 3.3 GHZ or higher; Nvidia GPU with 4 GB (not minimum but suggested); min 512 GB SSD suggested;

It's been over a decade since I purchased a windows based laptop so I am by no means an expert. I did find the following on Amazon for $1300 and am interested in feedback:

ASUS Vivobook Pro 15 Laptop, 15.6” FHD Display, AMD Ryzen 9 7940HS Mobile CPU, NVIDIA® GeForce® RTX™ 4060 Laptop GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Windows 11 Home​

My sense is that the GPU is overpowered compared to the display--is that assesment correct? Any other thoughts?

Ugh. I just got off the phone with my son (3rd year engineering student) and he tells me his laptop is overheating like crazy. It won’t even turn on now. I know this doesn’t help you much, but the timing was just right for me to vent.

ETA...If it helps in any way, here is what I bought him back in April of 2021. Seems to have served him well (until now, of course)
Dell Inspiron 15.6" Full HD TouchScreen Laptop,11th Gen Intel Core i7-1165G7,16GB DDR4,1TB SSD, Intel Iris Xe Graphics, ...
  • Color: Silver
  • CPU Type: Intel Core i7 11th Gen
  • CPU Speed: 1165G7 (2.80GHz)
  • Screen Size: 15.6"
  • Touchscreen: Yes
  • Operating System: Windows 10 Pro
  • GPU/VPU: Intel Iris Xe Graphics
  • SSD: 1 TB
  • HDD: No
  • Memory: 16GB
  • Options: Touch Screen

Last edited:
Touchscreen is a must. Younger kids don't seem to use mice. That rules out Apple. That was fine by me.

15.6 might be a big big. 14" probably better.