What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Packers Cowboys thoughts? (1 Viewer)

Ok for the crybaby packer fans I went back to my Tivo and watched the Harris/TO play that you guys feel like you were robbed on. I will say that you might have a point on the turn over but I will leave it to the refs to decide if they blew the whistle before the turnover. However if the play had been perfectly called the Ref would have seen Harris grab TO's face mask right at the beggining of the play which would have resulted in at least a 5 yard penalty and Dallas ball on that play so give up the being robbed comments.

As for the PI call, I will check on that next again but I am certain that I saw the Corner grab the WR on the back of the collar from behind. Not with both hands but with one. I will reply in a minute. Please wait for further instructions.
Doing the same thing now.... :confused:
 
Ok Pack fans.

I have no more time for you. He not only grabs Austin's right bicep, he also grabed his left arm right before he slows up and trips over Austin's legs.

Austin slows up slightly and then the defender, after he grabs the right bicep, he throws his arms back so he does interfere with Austin, too late.

It's Pass interference. Get over it.

 
Ok for the crybaby packer fans I went back to my Tivo and watched the Harris/TO play that you guys feel like you were robbed on. I will say that you might have a point on the turn over but I will leave it to the refs to decide if they blew the whistle before the turnover. However if the play had been perfectly called the Ref would have seen Harris grab TO's face mask right at the beggining of the play which would have resulted in at least a 5 yard penalty and Dallas ball on that play so give up the being robbed comments.

As for the PI call, I will check on that next again but I am certain that I saw the Corner grab the WR on the back of the collar from behind. Not with both hands but with one. I will reply in a minute. Please wait for further instructions.
OMG the PI penalty is even more obvious now after a good night's rest. The Packer DB grabs Austin's shoulder pads with his left hand and his arm with the right hand. Then he trips him on purpose. Great Call! The side judge had a much better view.

BTW

Mike Pereira (head of the officials) says it was PI as well

He also said Harris did get the strip but I think them not catching the Harris hands to the face on TO more than makes up for it so good game.

 
LOL, and who annoited you to decide what is true or false. All of these interpretations of the video are opinions. Declaring yours as fact is hilarious.
No...its not an opinion. Its a statement of fact that the guy never grabbed him...sorry that you cannot handle it. I have watched it over and over again...and each time I watch it...I see the same thing.
Right arm clasps on right shoulder. The 'i think you are watching a different video' is childish schtick. Don't care how blurry the pic is, it still shows his hand on the front of his shoulder. Why was his hand on the front of the recievers' shoulder. Simple question. Is it possible that this would slow him down and tangle their legs?
You may consider it childish...but its the truth. Because if you think you saw anything clasping a shoulder...you were not watching the same play. Its that simple.Wow, his hand got in front of his shoulder...does that equal clasping? grabbing? holding? Nope...not really.Its possible it would slow him down. But watching Austin running, it did not appear to.And Williams is pretty damn fast...as shown in his recovery speed to get to him to even touch him. He even pulled back after he touched him, which is when their feet got caught up.
Wrong. You plus a couple analysts does not = fact. Unless you have some strange definition of fact that really involves a set of opinions.
The "FACT" that he never grabs him is a fact. Pretty simple. That I have the opinions of others agreeing with that is what strengthens my point.
By the way, name those analysts.
First two I heard...Collinsworth, and then later Salsbury.
I heard at least a couple who agreed with the call. Does that make it a fact too? :shrug:
Who?
Once again, this is a call that could go either way. You are just embarrassing yourself by whining about it on a message board.
I agree it could have gone either way. And I have not whined about it. I just simply love pointing out when people post falsehoods.
Hey dude. Mike Perrera just called(actually he came on Total Access) he says your full of crap.
 
Ok for the crybaby packer fans I went back to my Tivo and watched the Harris/TO play that you guys feel like you were robbed on. I will say that you might have a point on the turn over but I will leave it to the refs to decide if they blew the whistle before the turnover. However if the play had been perfectly called the Ref would have seen Harris grab TO's face mask right at the beggining of the play which would have resulted in at least a 5 yard penalty and Dallas ball on that play so give up the being robbed comments.
That just about everyone feels was a bad called. But nobody is crying about it.Look at the ref...his whistle is not in his mouth...meaning he could not have blown it. Thats not the debate...the debate is over whether forward progress is a reviewable decision...I don't think it is.

I agree he grazes the face mask...but some of you need a lesson in what grabbing is...because there was no grab.

Even the graze could be called though.

As for the PI call, I will check on that next again but I am certain that I saw the Corner grab the WR on the back of the collar from behind. Not with both hands but with one. I will reply in a minute. Please wait for further instructions.
Well, you think Harris grabbed TO's facemask...so that you think he grabbed a collar is pretty funny.
 
Ok Pack fans. I have no more time for you. He not only grabs Austin's right bicep, he also grabed his left arm right before he slows up and trips over Austin's legs.Austin slows up slightly and then the defender, after he grabs the right bicep, he throws his arms back so he does interfere with Austin, too late.It's Pass interference. Get over it.
You need some help.Some of you need to learn what grabbing is...and what just touching someone is.
 
Ok for the crybaby packer fans I went back to my Tivo and watched the Harris/TO play that you guys feel like you were robbed on. I will say that you might have a point on the turn over but I will leave it to the refs to decide if they blew the whistle before the turnover. However if the play had been perfectly called the Ref would have seen Harris grab TO's face mask right at the beggining of the play which would have resulted in at least a 5 yard penalty and Dallas ball on that play so give up the being robbed comments.
That just about everyone feels was a bad called. But nobody is crying about it.Look at the ref...his whistle is not in his mouth...meaning he could not have blown it. Thats not the debate...the debate is over whether forward progress is a reviewable decision...I don't think it is.

I agree he grazes the face mask...but some of you need a lesson in what grabbing is...because there was no grab.

Even the graze could be called though.

As for the PI call, I will check on that next again but I am certain that I saw the Corner grab the WR on the back of the collar from behind. Not with both hands but with one. I will reply in a minute. Please wait for further instructions.
Well, you think Harris grabbed TO's facemask...so that you think he grabbed a collar is pretty funny.
I just called it a grabbed face mask because Harris fingers wrapped around the bars and TO's head went down but I agree just hands to the face is enough to get the call.
 
LOL, and who annoited you to decide what is true or false. All of these interpretations of the video are opinions. Declaring yours as fact is hilarious.
No...its not an opinion. Its a statement of fact that the guy never grabbed him...sorry that you cannot handle it. I have watched it over and over again...and each time I watch it...I see the same thing.
Right arm clasps on right shoulder. The 'i think you are watching a different video' is childish schtick. Don't care how blurry the pic is, it still shows his hand on the front of his shoulder. Why was his hand on the front of the recievers' shoulder. Simple question. Is it possible that this would slow him down and tangle their legs?
You may consider it childish...but its the truth. Because if you think you saw anything clasping a shoulder...you were not watching the same play. Its that simple.Wow, his hand got in front of his shoulder...does that equal clasping? grabbing? holding? Nope...not really.Its possible it would slow him down. But watching Austin running, it did not appear to.And Williams is pretty damn fast...as shown in his recovery speed to get to him to even touch him. He even pulled back after he touched him, which is when their feet got caught up.
Wrong. You plus a couple analysts does not = fact. Unless you have some strange definition of fact that really involves a set of opinions.
The "FACT" that he never grabs him is a fact. Pretty simple. That I have the opinions of others agreeing with that is what strengthens my point.
By the way, name those analysts.
First two I heard...Collinsworth, and then later Salsbury.
I heard at least a couple who agreed with the call. Does that make it a fact too? :rolleyes:
Who?
Once again, this is a call that could go either way. You are just embarrassing yourself by whining about it on a message board.
I agree it could have gone either way. And I have not whined about it. I just simply love pointing out when people post falsehoods.
Hey dude. Mike Perrera just called(actually he came on Total Access) he says your full of crap.
Yeah...because nobody has ever complained about him sticking up for his refs right?I said it could go either way...there was contact...but IMO it was ticky tack and no worse than Newman's contact with Driver in the first series.
 
Ok for the crybaby packer fans I went back to my Tivo and watched the Harris/TO play that you guys feel like you were robbed on. I will say that you might have a point on the turn over but I will leave it to the refs to decide if they blew the whistle before the turnover. However if the play had been perfectly called the Ref would have seen Harris grab TO's face mask right at the beggining of the play which would have resulted in at least a 5 yard penalty and Dallas ball on that play so give up the being robbed comments.
That just about everyone feels was a bad called. But nobody is crying about it.Look at the ref...his whistle is not in his mouth...meaning he could not have blown it. Thats not the debate...the debate is over whether forward progress is a reviewable decision...I don't think it is.

I agree he grazes the face mask...but some of you need a lesson in what grabbing is...because there was no grab.

Even the graze could be called though.

As for the PI call, I will check on that next again but I am certain that I saw the Corner grab the WR on the back of the collar from behind. Not with both hands but with one. I will reply in a minute. Please wait for further instructions.
Well, you think Harris grabbed TO's facemask...so that you think he grabbed a collar is pretty funny.
I just called it a grabbed face mask because Harris fingers wrapped around the bars and TO's head went down but I agree just hands to the face is enough to get the call.
OK. He puts two hands on both of the guys arms, trips him up and that's not PI?And some of you guys need to understand how the ref could conceivably make that call.

:sourgrapes:

I'm starting to look forward to beating your asses next time around.

 
Wow, some of you Dallas fans are really sore winners. I would hate to see you guys complain the next time you win a Superbowl and get help from the refs. This board just might shut down with the complaining.

 
FWIW, the two questionable plays made by the officials on the field were correct.

Starting with the TO sideline play, the referee whistled progress stopped. Then the other official came in and signaled Green Bay ball just after. Since the play was ruled dead before the ball came out, Green Bay could not have gotten the ball.

I will admit that I don't think they should have blown it dead. The ref that made the call was on the backside and didn't see what was going on with the ball. That was a tough break for the Packers but with that call on the field, there was nothing they could do.

The end of the game pass interference was just that. The rule is this in regards to tangled legs:

It is NOT pass interference if both players are going for the ball and you get tangled legs.

It is NOT pass interference if both players aren't going for the ball and legs get tangled legs.

It IS pass interfence if the offensive player turns to the ball and the defensive player does not and there's tangled legs.

They showed the replay in slow mo on the Football Network and had the VP of officials going over the play and it clearly showed the Dallas receiver turning his head to the ball while the Green Bay defensive player looking forward and not turned to the ball.

There is no doubt and should really be no debate that it was indeed pass interference. If you are familiar with the rules, you'd know this to be true regardless of which team you were rooting for.

 
Ok for the crybaby packer fans I went back to my Tivo and watched the Harris/TO play that you guys feel like you were robbed on. I will say that you might have a point on the turn over but I will leave it to the refs to decide if they blew the whistle before the turnover. However if the play had been perfectly called the Ref would have seen Harris grab TO's face mask right at the beggining of the play which would have resulted in at least a 5 yard penalty and Dallas ball on that play so give up the being robbed comments.
That just about everyone feels was a bad called. But nobody is crying about it.Look at the ref...his whistle is not in his mouth...meaning he could not have blown it. Thats not the debate...the debate is over whether forward progress is a reviewable decision...I don't think it is.

I agree he grazes the face mask...but some of you need a lesson in what grabbing is...because there was no grab.

Even the graze could be called though.

As for the PI call, I will check on that next again but I am certain that I saw the Corner grab the WR on the back of the collar from behind. Not with both hands but with one. I will reply in a minute. Please wait for further instructions.
Well, you think Harris grabbed TO's facemask...so that you think he grabbed a collar is pretty funny.
I don't know if he officially blew the whistle or not.....but after watching said play over and over, the ref definately makes the call to blow the play dead.Evidence is when you see the play, you'll see that referee run to the spot and wind his arms which signals that the play was stopped in bounds. From there, the back ref comes running in and signals Green Bay's ball. Since the first ref signaled the play was dead, the 2nd ref's ruling was null and void. From what happened in terms of the calls on the field, the correct decision was made, it was Dallas ball.

Again, I do believe that the play was stopped early and if that play was not ruled dead, it would have been Green Bay ball as Harris was definately in bounds with control.

 
This whole thread long ago passed the point of absurdity.

Dallas won. They outplayed Green Bay. Not by a ton, but materially. Game over. If both teams make the NFC Championship Game, it should be another great game.

Best of luck to the Cowboys. I've always hated the team (since the Packers lost to you so, so many times in the 90's), but this Dallas squad is really, really good.

Hope we crush you later this year in a re-match.

 
Wow, some of you Dallas fans are really sore winners. I would hate to see you guys complain the next time you win a Superbowl and get help from the refs. This board just might shut down with the complaining.
Having a discussion about a few questionable calls does not = sore winners.Continually bring up the refs are the reason they won is just as absurd as your statement.Now run along and play with your Wii.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Wow, some of you Dallas fans are really sore winners. I would hate to see you guys complain the next time you win a Superbowl and get help from the refs. This board just might shut down with the complaining.
Having a discussion about a few questionable calls does not = sore winners.Continually bring up the refs are the reason they won is just as absurd as your statement.Now run along and play with your Wii.
LOL, such anger from you. Why? Your anger and abrasive tone is a clear case of sore winning. Sorry you have this problem. Nice of you to also circumvent the language filter as well. Now, move along.
 
Mike P, THE head man said in his opinion:

1) Forward progress was not stopped and Harris intercepted the ball.

2) Any time legs get tangled interference is based on looking back. If both don't or both do there is no interference. I only one looks back the there is always interference. In this case the receiver looked back and defender didn't so the call was correct.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Billy1x said:
Mike P, THE head man said in his opinion:1) Forward progress was not stopped and Harris intercepted the ball.2) Any time legs get tangled interference is based on looking back. If both don't or both do there is no interference. I only one looks back the there is always interference. In this case the receiver looked back and defender didn't so the call was correct.
:shock: :o :rant: :rant:
 
Play can be changed Just ask Indy about the whistle in the End Zone on a Fumble that was overturned

What I can't understand is how can a Ref from 30 yards away make the call when the guy next to it doesn't?????

Make sure he cashes his check from Jones?????

As far as the Pass interfernce late in the game my good> Cowboy fan say he never looked back

If the grabbing of the Arm was the pass Int. Then look at Newman holding Drivers right Arm in the Endzone on the first play ( and by the way he never looked back AT ALL ) Or sorry he had the wrong jersey on

Unless you call the Cowboy Player kicking him and the Groin and then Tripping him self a trip, Then again this is in Texas

I just wish the calls were beter would of been a better game

The Turnover that Harris had would of changed the whole game

But if you guys think your are the better team then so be it

I look forward to the re-match with better calls which I sure hope in the NFC Championship game they change refs

And we get healthy which I am sure if this was the NFC championship game most played I know Woodson does

Good game otherwise

 
FWIW, the two questionable plays made by the officials on the field were correct.

Starting with the TO sideline play, the referee whistled progress stopped. Then the other official came in and signaled Green Bay ball just after. Since the play was ruled dead before the ball came out, Green Bay could not have gotten the ball.

I will admit that I don't think they should have blown it dead. The ref that made the call was on the backside and didn't see what was going on with the ball. That was a tough break for the Packers but with that call on the field, there was nothing they could do.

The end of the game pass interference was just that. The rule is this in regards to tangled legs:

It is NOT pass interference if both players are going for the ball and you get tangled legs.

It is NOT pass interference if both players aren't going for the ball and legs get tangled legs.

It IS pass interfence if the offensive player turns to the ball and the defensive player does not and there's tangled legs.

They showed the replay in slow mo on the Football Network and had the VP of officials going over the play and it clearly showed the Dallas receiver turning his head to the ball while the Green Bay defensive player looking forward and not turned to the ball.

There is no doubt and should really be no debate that it was indeed pass interference. If you are familiar with the rules, you'd know this to be true regardless of which team you were rooting for.
For me its not about wether or not you COULD call PI on that play. Rather, why would they let the game be decided by a really ticky tack play, when they clearly called the same thing differently in the first Q on Drivers play near the goalline.LINK TO VP TALKING ABOUT THE TWO CALLs: http://www.nfl.com/videos?videoId=09000d5d804ad69b

 
There is no doubt and should really be no debate that it was indeed pass interference. If you are familiar with the rules, you'd know this to be true regardless of which team you were rooting for.
For me its not about wether or not you COULD call PI on that play. Rather, why would they let the game be decided by a really ticky tack play, when they clearly called the same thing differently in the first Q on Drivers play near the goalline.LINK TO VP TALKING ABOUT THE TWO CALLs: http://www.nfl.com/videos?videoId=09000d5d804ad69b
Exactly, call it the same way for each team. The refs did not do it in this game.
 
Wow, some of you Dallas fans are really sore winners. I would hate to see you guys complain the next time you win a Superbowl and get help from the refs. This board just might shut down with the complaining.
Win some, lose some.This time Dallas got the calls...Big deal.
 
Wow, some of you Dallas fans are really sore winners. I would hate to see you guys complain the next time you win a Superbowl and get help from the refs. This board just might shut down with the complaining.
Win some, lose some.This time Dallas got the calls...Big deal.
Well, it is a big deal considering the magnitude of the game and implications of it. But, yeah, its true, "win some, lose some" but not all fans seem to acknowledge the fact that Dallas had the upper hand in calls going their way. :confused:
 
For me its not about wether or not you COULD call PI on that play. Rather, why would they let the game be decided by a really ticky tack play, when they clearly called the same thing differently in the first Q on Drivers play near the goalline.

LINK TO VP TALKING ABOUT THE TWO CALLs: http://www.nfl.com/videos?videoId=09000d5d804ad69b
Let me get this right. You're advocating that if a bad call is made earlier in the game, they should repeat that mistake? The PI on the GB defender was obvious, as has been stated repeatedly, including by the VP of Officials. Not calling that play, just to get "even" is the absolute worst thing the refs should be doing. Their focus is to notice and enforce infractions of the rules. To do otherwise undermines the integrity of the game.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
FWIW, the two questionable plays made by the officials on the field were correct.

Starting with the TO sideline play, the referee whistled progress stopped. Then the other official came in and signaled Green Bay ball just after. Since the play was ruled dead before the ball came out, Green Bay could not have gotten the ball.

I will admit that I don't think they should have blown it dead. The ref that made the call was on the backside and didn't see what was going on with the ball. That was a tough break for the Packers but with that call on the field, there was nothing they could do.

The end of the game pass interference was just that. The rule is this in regards to tangled legs:

It is NOT pass interference if both players are going for the ball and you get tangled legs.

It is NOT pass interference if both players aren't going for the ball and legs get tangled legs.

It IS pass interfence if the offensive player turns to the ball and the defensive player does not and there's tangled legs.

They showed the replay in slow mo on the Football Network and had the VP of officials going over the play and it clearly showed the Dallas receiver turning his head to the ball while the Green Bay defensive player looking forward and not turned to the ball.

There is no doubt and should really be no debate that it was indeed pass interference. If you are familiar with the rules, you'd know this to be true regardless of which team you were rooting for.
For me its not about wether or not you COULD call PI on that play. Rather, why would they let the game be decided by a really ticky tack play, when they clearly called the same thing differently in the first Q on Drivers play near the goalline.LINK TO VP TALKING ABOUT THE TWO CALLs: http://www.nfl.com/videos?videoId=09000d5d804ad69b
I don't consider it ticky tack at all. Your not going to convince me that he didn't trip the guy on purpose. If he had been looking back at the ball and Austin had slowed down then you might have a point that it was accidental tripping. But the guy realizes he is beat, reaches out to grab him with both hands, one on the shoulder pads and the other on the arm then lets go and attempts to trip him on purpose without getting the PI call. How can you try to tell me that he misjudged the distance between them while he is looking at his back the whole time?

If I remember the same Driver play that your talking about, I have to be honest and say I have not watched it since the game but I have it recorded and can go back to it but I can't right now because my 2 year old son is watching the Polar Express and would startle the entire Houston area if I tried to pause it, Driver and the corner were both pushing and pulling at each other fighting for position. Not the same play at all.

 
FWIW, the two questionable plays made by the officials on the field were correct.

Starting with the TO sideline play, the referee whistled progress stopped. Then the other official came in and signaled Green Bay ball just after. Since the play was ruled dead before the ball came out, Green Bay could not have gotten the ball.

I will admit that I don't think they should have blown it dead. The ref that made the call was on the backside and didn't see what was going on with the ball. That was a tough break for the Packers but with that call on the field, there was nothing they could do.

The end of the game pass interference was just that. The rule is this in regards to tangled legs:

It is NOT pass interference if both players are going for the ball and you get tangled legs.

It is NOT pass interference if both players aren't going for the ball and legs get tangled legs.

It IS pass interfence if the offensive player turns to the ball and the defensive player does not and there's tangled legs.

They showed the replay in slow mo on the Football Network and had the VP of officials going over the play and it clearly showed the Dallas receiver turning his head to the ball while the Green Bay defensive player looking forward and not turned to the ball.

There is no doubt and should really be no debate that it was indeed pass interference. If you are familiar with the rules, you'd know this to be true regardless of which team you were rooting for.
For me its not about wether or not you COULD call PI on that play. Rather, why would they let the game be decided by a really ticky tack play, when they clearly called the same thing differently in the first Q on Drivers play near the goalline.LINK TO VP TALKING ABOUT THE TWO CALLs: http://www.nfl.com/videos?videoId=09000d5d804ad69b
I don't consider it ticky tack at all. Your not going to convince me that he didn't trip the guy on purpose. If he had been looking back at the ball and Austin had slowed down then you might have a point that it was accidental tripping. But the guy realizes he is beat, reaches out to grab him with both hands, one on the shoulder pads and the other on the arm then lets go and attempts to trip him on purpose without getting the PI call. How can you try to tell me that he misjudged the distance between them while he is looking at his back the whole time?

If I remember the same Driver play that your talking about, I have to be honest and say I have not watched it since the game but I have it recorded and can go back to it but I can't right now because my 2 year old son is watching the Polar Express and would startle the entire Houston area if I tried to pause it, Driver and the corner were both pushing and pulling at each other fighting for position. Not the same play at all.
And how do you KNOW he did this on purpose?
 
The PI call was obvious.

And Newman should have been called for PI against driver. He clearly holds Driver's arm. It was very sneaky/crafty and extremely hard for the ref to see.

 
FWIW, the two questionable plays made by the officials on the field were correct.

Starting with the TO sideline play, the referee whistled progress stopped. Then the other official came in and signaled Green Bay ball just after. Since the play was ruled dead before the ball came out, Green Bay could not have gotten the ball.

I will admit that I don't think they should have blown it dead. The ref that made the call was on the backside and didn't see what was going on with the ball. That was a tough break for the Packers but with that call on the field, there was nothing they could do.

The end of the game pass interference was just that. The rule is this in regards to tangled legs:

It is NOT pass interference if both players are going for the ball and you get tangled legs.

It is NOT pass interference if both players aren't going for the ball and legs get tangled legs.

It IS pass interfence if the offensive player turns to the ball and the defensive player does not and there's tangled legs.

They showed the replay in slow mo on the Football Network and had the VP of officials going over the play and it clearly showed the Dallas receiver turning his head to the ball while the Green Bay defensive player looking forward and not turned to the ball.

There is no doubt and should really be no debate that it was indeed pass interference. If you are familiar with the rules, you'd know this to be true regardless of which team you were rooting for.
For me its not about wether or not you COULD call PI on that play. Rather, why would they let the game be decided by a really ticky tack play, when they clearly called the same thing differently in the first Q on Drivers play near the goalline.LINK TO VP TALKING ABOUT THE TWO CALLs: http://www.nfl.com/videos?videoId=09000d5d804ad69b
I don't consider it ticky tack at all. Your not going to convince me that he didn't trip the guy on purpose. If he had been looking back at the ball and Austin had slowed down then you might have a point that it was accidental tripping. But the guy realizes he is beat, reaches out to grab him with both hands, one on the shoulder pads and the other on the arm then lets go and attempts to trip him on purpose without getting the PI call. How can you try to tell me that he misjudged the distance between them while he is looking at his back the whole time?

If I remember the same Driver play that your talking about, I have to be honest and say I have not watched it since the game but I have it recorded and can go back to it but I can't right now because my 2 year old son is watching the Polar Express and would startle the entire Houston area if I tried to pause it, Driver and the corner were both pushing and pulling at each other fighting for position. Not the same play at all.
And how do you KNOW he did this on purpose?
Because he is looking right at the WR when he cuts to the left across his legs. I mean if he was looking at the ball I could say he didn't see the WR or I guess if he had something else more important on his mind. Do you think he was thinking about his Christmas Shopping list while he was playing the game?

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Wow, some of you Dallas fans are really sore winners. I would hate to see you guys complain the next time you win a Superbowl and get help from the refs. This board just might shut down with the complaining.
Win some, lose some.This time Dallas got the calls...Big deal.
Well, it is a big deal considering the magnitude of the game and implications of it. But, yeah, its true, "win some, lose some" but not all fans seem to acknowledge the fact that Dallas had the upper hand in calls going their way. :goodposting:
;) we had a chance to win the game, despite a few questionable calls. dallas simply outplayed the packers. deal with it and move on.
 
Michael J Fox said:
Wow, some of you Dallas fans are really sore winners. I would hate to see you guys complain the next time you win a Superbowl and get help from the refs. This board just might shut down with the complaining.
Win some, lose some.This time Dallas got the calls...Big deal.
Well, it is a big deal considering the magnitude of the game and implications of it. But, yeah, its true, "win some, lose some" but not all fans seem to acknowledge the fact that Dallas had the upper hand in calls going their way. :lmao:
:lmao: we had a chance to win the game, despite a few questionable calls. dallas simply outplayed the packers. deal with it and move on.
Best post in awhile.
 
FWIW, the two questionable plays made by the officials on the field were correct.

Starting with the TO sideline play, the referee whistled progress stopped. Then the other official came in and signaled Green Bay ball just after. Since the play was ruled dead before the ball came out, Green Bay could not have gotten the ball.

I will admit that I don't think they should have blown it dead. The ref that made the call was on the backside and didn't see what was going on with the ball. That was a tough break for the Packers but with that call on the field, there was nothing they could do.

The end of the game pass interference was just that. The rule is this in regards to tangled legs:

It is NOT pass interference if both players are going for the ball and you get tangled legs.

It is NOT pass interference if both players aren't going for the ball and legs get tangled legs.

It IS pass interfence if the offensive player turns to the ball and the defensive player does not and there's tangled legs.

They showed the replay in slow mo on the Football Network and had the VP of officials going over the play and it clearly showed the Dallas receiver turning his head to the ball while the Green Bay defensive player looking forward and not turned to the ball.

There is no doubt and should really be no debate that it was indeed pass interference. If you are familiar with the rules, you'd know this to be true regardless of which team you were rooting for.
For me its not about wether or not you COULD call PI on that play. Rather, why would they let the game be decided by a really ticky tack play, when they clearly called the same thing differently in the first Q on Drivers play near the goalline.LINK TO VP TALKING ABOUT THE TWO CALLs: http://www.nfl.com/videos?videoId=09000d5d804ad69b
I don't consider it ticky tack at all. Your not going to convince me that he didn't trip the guy on purpose. If he had been looking back at the ball and Austin had slowed down then you might have a point that it was accidental tripping. But the guy realizes he is beat, reaches out to grab him with both hands, one on the shoulder pads and the other on the arm then lets go and attempts to trip him on purpose without getting the PI call. How can you try to tell me that he misjudged the distance between them while he is looking at his back the whole time?

If I remember the same Driver play that your talking about, I have to be honest and say I have not watched it since the game but I have it recorded and can go back to it but I can't right now because my 2 year old son is watching the Polar Express and would startle the entire Houston area if I tried to pause it, Driver and the corner were both pushing and pulling at each other fighting for position. Not the same play at all.
And how do you KNOW he did this on purpose?
Because he is looking right at the WR when he cuts to the left across his legs. I mean if he was looking at the ball I could say he didn't see the WR or I guess if he had something else more important on his mind. Do you think he was thinking about his Christmas Shopping list while he was playing the game?
Maybe he was debating if "shopping list" was a proper noun and the complexities of capitalization.Two guys running down field at full speed with a fraction of a second to react? How do you know the defender is not trying to "read" where the ball is based on the receiver's eyes or hands? Although where he is looking is a factor in the PI call, I don't think you can conclude he tripped him intentionally.

 
FWIW, the two questionable plays made by the officials on the field were correct.Starting with the TO sideline play, the referee whistled progress stopped. Then the other official came in and signaled Green Bay ball just after. Since the play was ruled dead before the ball came out, Green Bay could not have gotten the ball.
This is completely false.The ref's whistle was in his hand, not in his mouth, until after the ball was out and TO was out of bounds. Please quit repeating this lie.
I will admit that I don't think they should have blown it dead. The ref that made the call was on the backside and didn't see what was going on with the ball. That was a tough break for the Packers but with that call on the field, there was nothing they could do.
I think the only part you are right about is they could not have reversed it...not because of the whistle that did not blow...but because I don't believe forward progress is reviewable.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Wow, some of you Dallas fans are really sore winners. I would hate to see you guys complain the next time you win a Superbowl and get help from the refs. This board just might shut down with the complaining.
Having a discussion about a few questionable calls does not = sore winners.Continually bring up the refs are the reason they won is just as absurd as your statement.Now run along and play with your Wii.
Can you link me to one single person who has claimed the refs are the reason that Dallas won?
 
Mike P, THE head man said in his opinion:1) Forward progress was not stopped and Harris intercepted the ball.2) Any time legs get tangled interference is based on looking back. If both don't or both do there is no interference. I only one looks back the there is always interference. In this case the receiver looked back and defender didn't so the call was correct.
I have never heard #2 before...the problem is...Williams did look back with the ball in the air. And then put his hands up (which did make contact)...then the feet got tangled.If that is the case, I stand corrected.I have said it could go either way but felt it was ticky tack. Nothing more.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top