spider321 said:
ragnarok628 said:
Any other time the defense fails to recover the fumble the offense gets to keep the ball.
Not true. The offense does not get to keep the ball when they fail to recover the fumble in their own endzone.
Yes they do.
Here's how the "fumble out of bounds" rules work. Over 110 yards of the field, if the offensive player fumbles the ball forward and it goes out of bounds, the offense retains possession at the spot of the fumble.
Let's walk through what happens when the offense fumbles out of bounds in their own end zone. They retain possession of the football at the spot of the fumble, so the play ends with the offense in possession in their own end zone. And what do we call a play that ends with the offense in possession in their own end zone? We call it a safety.
Let's examine the flip-side. If the offense lost possession when it fumbled out of its own end zone, then the play would end with the defense in possession in their end zone. What do we call those plays? We call them touchdowns.
When the offense fumbles out of their own end zone, it is *NOT* a turnover. If it was a turnover, it could not be a safety, because the team that has possession of the football can never score a safety against the team that does not have possession of the football. It would instead by a touchdown. But it's not a touchdown, because the offense retains possession.
The confusion arises because the offense is forced to kick the ball away *ON THE NEXT PLAY*. Which means the play immediately following a safety is a turnover. The end result of a safety is an eventual change of possession, but the safety itself is not a change of possession.
To highlight the difference, ask yourself this: on the play immediately following an interception, which team starts with the football? On the play immediately following a fumble recovery, which team starts with the football? On the play immediately following a safety, which team starts with the football?