What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Entered my first official Cornhole event... (2 Viewers)

Bossman

Footballguy
I'm posting this as info for others that might be interested in competitive cornholing. I wish that I started doing this years ago.
I've been playing backyard Cornhole for a few years now. I've gotten pretty good compared to most of the backyard throwers that I've played with. I was wanting to test my skills against serious competition to see where I stand.
A friend of mine that plays in events turned me on to the Scoreholio app that has a local league / tournament finder. Thru the app, I set up a profile and found several events within 25 miles of my house.
I had no idea that Cornhole was so popular. Weeknight events maxed out at 40 players with a waiting list to get in. Someone could literally play every night of the week at a different venue if they chose to (some do). All indoors.
My first event was on a Friday night at a VFW just 7 miles from my house. $10 to enter and you're guaranteed at least 6 games.
I was nervous, not knowing anyone and not knowing what to expect. Turns out most people were really cool when I explained it was my first event. I ended up playing decent... seeded 13th out of 20. The top throwers are ridiculously good ... But the seeding pairs the bottom half of the players with the top half so it's not so lopsided. I didn't feel like I couldn't compete. Even when I wasn't scoring, I was at least limiting my opponents points. I averaged over 6 ppr.
Looking at my opponents profiles, I'm seeing that there are a lot of other players just starting out so seems like it is growing fast.
My next two events brought my ppr up to 6.6 and I finished in the top half of the seeding at the last event (my 3rd event).