What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Game Thread W5 - San Diego vs. Pittsburgh (1 Viewer)

Here's the rule:"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).

 
That is horse #####. The ball bounced off his facemask and went forward...no way he would have re-caught it if the Steeler wasn't in his face. And to add 15 yards to it is salt in the wounds.

 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
Yeah the fact that the ball was a whole yd out of his reach after the muff means nothing.... that was total BS.
 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
Right. Even with that rule it was a bad call.
 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
Again, so couldn't you just continually tip the ball forward to yourself while running all the way downfield, and no one would be allowed to try and stop you?
 
Wow they need to change that rule, that is ######ED.

So what happens if a guy calls for a fair catch, then never actually catches the ball but rather just starts intentionally bobbling it and runs all the way down the field. No one can touch him or the ball so couldn't he just run all the way downfield intentionally tipping the ball to himself repeatedly all the way to the endzone??

Terrible, horrible rule.
They just showed it again. He pratically threw the ball to the Pitt. player. How in the name of Pete is that SD's ball and a penalty on Pitt?!?!
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
Again, so couldn't you just continually tip the ball forward to yourself while running all the way downfield, and no one would be allowed to try and stop you?
They could call illegal touching, you can't purposefully bat the ball forward while its in the air. So no.
 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
Again, so couldn't you just continually tip the ball forward to yourself while running all the way downfield, and no one would be allowed to try and stop you?
This has got to be the worst rule I have ever seen. Way worse than the tuck rule. Yes, it would seem a player could get away with this.
 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
:goodposting:
 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
:goodposting:
Gotta love blind homerism. :rolleyes:
 
Wow they need to change that rule, that is ######ED.

So what happens if a guy calls for a fair catch, then never actually catches the ball but rather just starts intentionally bobbling it and runs all the way down the field.  No one can touch him or the ball so couldn't he just run all the way downfield intentionally tipping the ball to himself repeatedly all the way to the endzone??

Terrible, horrible rule.
They just showed it again. He pratically threw the ball to the Pitt. player. How in the name of Pete is that SD's ball and a penalty on Pitt?!?!
And the flag wasn't even thrown till far after the play was over...wonder if Triplett can go to instant replay and look for any missed holding calls in the 1st half...course I don't think he missed any judging by the flag football contest that has broken out at the Murph...This just in...the Snickers commercial is not I repeat not funny.

 
Wow they need to change that rule, that is ######ED.

So what happens if a guy calls for a fair catch, then never actually catches the ball but rather just starts intentionally bobbling it and runs all the way down the field. No one can touch him or the ball so couldn't he just run all the way downfield intentionally tipping the ball to himself repeatedly all the way to the endzone??

Terrible, horrible rule.
"An intentional muff forward prior to a catch in order to gain ground is an illegal bat."Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (3).

 
Are these guys really refs??? I mean seriously? Mind you, i'm not a Pittsburgh fan and I already won my game ... but these guys are ... LOST! :thumbdown:

 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
Again, so couldn't you just continually tip the ball forward to yourself while running all the way downfield, and no one would be allowed to try and stop you?
No. If you call fair catch and then attempt to advance the ball it is a penalty on you.
 
Another horrible example where the written rule is more important than the interpretation. It is obviously meant to protect a player who is bobbling the fair catch, not a player who has it bounce off him. Obviously the mistake by Pit was catching it on the fly, had it hit the ground it wouldd be their ball. I am surprised any of the refs on the field even knew that rule.....

 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
Again, so couldn't you just continually tip the ball forward to yourself while running all the way downfield, and no one would be allowed to try and stop you?
They could call illegal touching, you can't purposefully bat the ball forward while its in the air. So no.
You wouldn't have to "bat" it. Just keep selling that you're bobbling it. You could at least get some yards out of it before they caught on. I mean, it's pretty easy to make it look like you're accidentally juggling the ball.
 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
Again, so couldn't you just continually tip the ball forward to yourself while running all the way downfield, and no one would be allowed to try and stop you?
No. Once the ball moves outside the 2 yard halo, it would be fair game for the defense (along with the player trying to "fair catch" it).
 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
:goodposting:
Gotta love blind homerism. :rolleyes:
The guys gives props to the dude who actually took the time to look up the rule and post it for the rest of us, and it's blind homerism?
 
Wow they need to change that rule, that is ######ED.

So what happens if a guy calls for a fair catch, then never actually catches the ball but rather just starts intentionally bobbling it and runs all the way down the field. No one can touch him or the ball so couldn't he just run all the way downfield intentionally tipping the ball to himself repeatedly all the way to the endzone??

Terrible, horrible rule.
"An intentional muff forward prior to a catch in order to gain ground is an illegal bat."Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (3).
OK, so what is intentional, what if the guy continually hits it off his head to advance the ball.....
 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
:goodposting:
Gotta love blind homerism. :rolleyes:
The guys gives props to the dude who actually took the time to look up the rule and post it for the rest of us, and it's blind homerism?
There was no chance of him recatching the ball it was a yard in front of his outstretched arms. Even with the rule, it's a terrible call.
 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
Again, so couldn't you just continually tip the ball forward to yourself while running all the way downfield, and no one would be allowed to try and stop you?
No. If you call fair catch and then attempt to advance the ball it is a penalty on you.
But technically you're not advancing the ball because you still haven't caught it. I mean even in the play just now, the ball hit Sproles in the face and bounced FORWARD a couple yards, and he wasn't called for illegally advancing the ball.
 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
Yeah the fact that the ball was a whole yd out of his reach after the muff means nothing.... that was total BS.
A player can still get the ball if it's a yard away. It bounded upward.
 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
Yeah the fact that the ball was a whole yd out of his reach after the muff means nothing.... that was total BS.
A player can still get the ball if it's a yard away. It bounded upward.
:lmao: :bye:
 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
The refs didn't have to call this penalty, they could have used the "reasonable opportunity" portion of the rule to get out of it.
 
MARRRRTY!!!! OH MARRRRTY!!!Week 1 - LT: 20 Touches = LOSSWeek 2 - LT: 21 Touches = LOSSWeek 3 - LT: 24 Touches = WIN BIGWeek 4 - LT: 27 Touches = WIN BIGGERWeek 5 - LT: on Pace for 21 Touches = LosingWhich one of these kids is doing his own thing?Are you a freaking moron?Hello, McFly?!??

 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
:goodposting:
Gotta love blind homerism. :rolleyes:
The guys gives props to the dude who actually took the time to look up the rule and post it for the rest of us, and it's blind homerism?
There was no chance of him recatching the ball it was a yard in front of his outstretched arms. Even with the rule, it's a terrible call.
Correct.
 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
:goodposting:
Gotta love blind homerism. :rolleyes:
The guys gives props to the dude who actually took the time to look up the rule and post it for the rest of us, and it's blind homerism?
There was no chance of him recatching the ball it was a yard in front of his outstretched arms. Even with the rule, it's a terrible call.
That's not my point. Bad call or not, I think we're all better off for now knowing what the official rule is. So, posting the rule IS good posting, regardless of the call. You don't have to be a homer to appreciate it... get it?
 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
The refs didn't have to call this penalty, they could have used the "reasonable opportunity" portion of the rule to get out of it.
Sadly, this call might mean the difference between a W and a L for me this week.But I don't know if the refs could've used that part of the rule. Where did Sproles have that reasonable opportunity? He was hit a split second after the ball hit him in the mask. Granted, he had no shot at the ball, but that part is not in the rulebook.

 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interfered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
It's obvious the key word here is "reasonable" which is open to interpretation. I believe if the play was reviewed (I don't know if it falls into that category) I believe they would have seen the ball so far away form the player that the interception of the muff would have been deemed "reasonable". If the receiving team was just bobbling the ball around in place it would be interference to slap the ball away from him.Let me be first, I believe the NFL will be apologizing to the Steelers this week.

 
Here's the rule:

"After a valid fair catch signal, the opportunity to make a catch does not end when a kick is muffed. The player who signaled fair catch must have a reasonable opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground without being interefered with by the members of the kicking team."

Rule 10, Section 1, Article 4, Supplemental Note (2).
:goodposting:
Gotta love blind homerism. :rolleyes:
The guys gives props to the dude who actually took the time to look up the rule and post it for the rest of us, and it's blind homerism?
There was no chance of him recatching the ball it was a yard in front of his outstretched arms. Even with the rule, it's a terrible call.
That's not my point. Bad call or not, I think we're all better off for now knowing what the official rule is. So, posting the rule IS good posting, regardless of the call. You don't have to be a homer to appreciate it... get it?
No the point is, that they still think it was a good call. Which it wasn't. I wasn't saying that posting the rule was bad, but thinking the call was right just because SD is "your" team is.... get it?
 
Simply put, you can't interfere with the fair catch within 2 yards of the returner before the ball hits the ground.

 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top