poopdawg
Footballguy
I am arguing with a guy I work with and I know that I am 100% right, but I cant find it in the rulebook and I need to settle this so I can get some work done.
Its 4th down and the offense is punting the ball away. The ball bounces on the two yard line and into the endzone, but does not hit the ground yet. At this point, it has only broken the plane of the goal line. My buddy seems to think that the play is blown dead as soon as it breaks the plane of the goal line and not when it actually touches the ground in the endzone. Please someone respond just so I have some evidence. TIA
Its 4th down and the offense is punting the ball away. The ball bounces on the two yard line and into the endzone, but does not hit the ground yet. At this point, it has only broken the plane of the goal line. My buddy seems to think that the play is blown dead as soon as it breaks the plane of the goal line and not when it actually touches the ground in the endzone. Please someone respond just so I have some evidence. TIA

But the player who touches it also has to completely establish himself back into the filed of play in order to touch the ball and down it inside the five. IE: You can't jump OUT of the end zone to down it without first getting both feet down in the field of play.