What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Occupations That See the WORST in People? (1 Viewer)

General Malaise

Footballguy
Was thinking about this on Saturday as my wife and I waited 2.5 hours in the ER for a room to open up for her (strep throat, swollen/infected tonsils that needed to be drained, no beuno) - the staff that works the ER, specifically the registration nurses have to see some of the absolute worst in people. Nobody coming in wants to be there, everybody's emergency is pressing, people coming in are scared, hurt, suffering, etc and the steady stream of new patients is never ending. Can't imagine the stress that causes.

I worked as a waiter for about a year or so in my early 20s and I actually liked the job - good money made in short bursts. I worked in both Jackson, MS and Dallas and I think my conclusions about the public were the same and that is I think roughly 85% of the public is made up of normal, nice, decent folks. 10% are just unhappy jerks and 5% are completely insane. Now, that might not be a ratio that's steeped in any scientific sauce, but I think I'm close there. My son worked at Jersey Mike's during the pandemic and I think he'd lean more towards a higher number of unhappy jerks/insanity but a lot of his customers were angry about mask mandates, which skews his numbers I'm sure. But I don't think food servers get the very worst of people. I will say that I don't remember many of the wonderful people I waited on, but I sure as hell remember the folks that were awful to me.

Tow truck drivers? They gotta see some real S going down.

How about the poor souls that work the airline counters when planes are affected by weather or whatever? Woooof, that HAS to suck. Whatcha got? Any good stories?