What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Packers at Seahawks (5 Viewers)

huh? you mean like negating a GB INT on a brutally bad roughing the passer call late in the 4th? or by not calling PI on Woodson, or the myriad other horrible calls that went in GBs favor? the only team that got handed this game was Seattle...You're right that this wasn't a game, however...none of the last two weeks have been. Just brutal to watch. I'm done until the real refs come back.
you're right, "handed to gb" was an overreaction on my part, but even counting what should have been int i think gb still got more help over the course of the game. ultimately doesn't matter. everyone who watched that game knew what it was. a ####### joke.
 
I've watched the play over and over, and it's still a touchdown to me (and I don't have a dog in this fight). Jennings hadn't established possession yet (because you have to complete the catch, feet down) when Tate got his hand on the ball. I think it's clearly simultaneous possession.

Obviously I'm in the minority here, but I think it was the correct call.
I agree. Tate gets both hands on before Jennings hits the ground.
You're so full of crack it's not even funny. When you're ready to join reality, let us know.
Um, I'm watching the slow-mo, and that's what I see. Jennings catches the ball. Tate has one hand on the ball. As they go down, he puts his second hand on the ball. By the time Jennings hits the ground, Tate has two hands on the ball.
What you just described is an interception.
Yep. Pretty clear by the rule, specifically the 2nd sentence: If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control.
 
Joint possession goes to the offensive player, but I don't think that was joint. I think Jennings had it, not Tate.
Just to play Devil's Advocate (because I think that was a pick), when is the joint possession determined? That is, is the play judged by when the players land on the ground with their feet, when they touch their knee(s) to the ground, or when they come to a complete stop? Is this impacted by the going to the ground rule? I've no reason to believe it does, but it may impact who is deemed to have possession.
It's not simultaneous possession that matters — it's simultaneous control. Control happens whenever a player first controls the ball. He doesn't have to have his feet on the ground or anything (to constitute possession). He just has to have control over the ball, whether he's in mid-air or on the ground or wherever.ETA: Here's the rule: "If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control."

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Why didn't GB take the safety and have a free kick and make them go the full distance?
huh? They would have only needed a FG to tie with a safety, so they wouldn't have to go any further that way - it's easier to stop a team from scoring a TD than kicking a FG.
 
Russell Wilson interview is ridiculous. I don't know how these guys can take themselves seriously. Pretending you won the game....major bush league. Just say "no" to the interview. At least be intellectually honest.
They won the game. I mean seriously, a lot of games end in controversy and the winning team celebrates. Your statement is ridiculous, it's like this is the first game you ever watched as a fan that ended in controversy. Good God.
:goodposting: I have never seen a bigger group of cry babies. GG, Pack.
 
Russell Wilson interview is ridiculous. I don't know how these guys can take themselves seriously. Pretending you won the game....major bush league. Just say "no" to the interview. At least be intellectually honest.
They won the game. I mean seriously, a lot of games end in controversy and the winning team celebrates. Your statement is ridiculous, it's like this is the first game you ever watched as a fan that ended in controversy. Good God.
:lmao: You act like this happens with frequency. Every commentator on TV has basically said "I've never seen anything like this before." Seriously, it's comical to have him talk about "keeping plays alive" and "keeping fighting out there." That isn't why they won. They won because the refs jobbed the opposing team.
I agree the call was bad. What you can't do is take away the fact that they did fight for and he did keep the play alive. Wilson knows he benefited after seeing the play. Personally I think he handled it pretty well just like everyone else that has been interviewed so far.
 
Before tonight, we thought we had seen the worst refereeing ever and there was no way it could get worse. And then it did.

My question now: How are they gonna top this?

:popcorn:

 
"If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control."

 
Here is what the rule says:

If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control.

Here is what it apparently means:

If a pass is caught by a defender, and the receiver is holding the defender then it's a TD for the offense.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Why didn't GB take the safety and have a free kick and make them go the full distance?
huh? They would have only needed a FG to tie with a safety, so they wouldn't have to go any further that way - it's easier to stop a team from scoring a TD than kicking a FG.
:goodposting:Give Leon Washington some space and he's getting halfway to field goal range all by himself. Wilson would have only needed to move the team 15-20 yards.
 
I feel bad that this last call tainted the win for the seahawks. Yes, it was a bad call, but they played a great tough game. There were a lot of bad calls going against both teams throughout the game and there were quite a few calls that went GBs way extending their TD drive, which if you analyze it maybe shouldn't have happened either. Some PI calls were made that shouldn't have been made and vice versa.

 
I feel bad that this last call tainted the win for the seahawks. Yes, it was a bad call, but they played a great tough game. There were a lot of bad calls going against both teams throughout the game and there were quite a few calls that went GBs way extending their TD drive, which if you analyze it maybe shouldn't have happened either. Some PI calls were made that shouldn't have been made and vice versa.
That's the problem, no way should have it ever been a win. If they think this gives them legitimacy, it doesn't. (although the DEF played will in the first half).
 
"If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control."
You're stuttering - you just posted this 10 posts ago.
 
one Packer is going to be writing a big check:TJ Lang ‏@TJLang70Got f####d by the refs.. Embarrassing. Thanks nfl
Nah. I heard the players wouldn't be fined for criticizing reffing. Only if they talk smack or try to intimidate on the field. Besides, can't really argue with any of that.
 
"If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control."
You're stuttering - you just posted this 10 posts ago.
It should be posted about 10 more times because apparently quite a few people are stupid, blind, or intellectually dishonest.
 
I feel bad that this last call tainted the win for the seahawks. Yes, it was a bad call, but they played a great tough game. There were a lot of bad calls going against both teams throughout the game and there were quite a few calls that went GBs way extending their TD drive, which if you analyze it maybe shouldn't have happened either. Some PI calls were made that shouldn't have been made and vice versa.
2-1 :thumbup:
 
Joint possession goes to the offensive player, but I don't think that was joint. I think Jennings had it, not Tate.
Just to play Devil's Advocate (because I think that was a pick), when is the joint possession determined? That is, is the play judged by when the players land on the ground with their feet, when they touch their knee(s) to the ground, or when they come to a complete stop? Is this impacted by the going to the ground rule? I've no reason to believe it does, but it may impact who is deemed to have possession.
It's not simultaneous possession that matters — it's simultaneous control. Control happens whenever a player first controls the ball. He doesn't have to have his feet on the ground or anything (to constitute possession). He just has to have control over the ball, whether he's in mid-air or on the ground or wherever.ETA: Here's the rule: "If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control."
It does have to be more than just control. All the normal factors of a catch have to be met along with the control.

1) While controlling the ball,

2) 2 feet down (or 1 other body part)

3) maintain said control either for long enough to perform an act common to the game...

4) .. or if they go to the ground before #3 is met... to further retain control through the act of going to the ground.

Not saying this happened on this play, but an example could be a defender goes up and gets control of the ball and gets one foot down. An offensive player grabs the ball which comes loose... now the defender's previous control is lost and no longer counts. If both then get control simultaneously, and maintain it through hitting the ground, then it would be simultaneous.

So yes, more than control matters. If Tate causes the ball to move in Jenning's hands, Jennings no longer has control. I don't think that happened... the opposite, I think Tate clearly doesn't have control as his 2nd hand comes free of the ball. But yes, the rest matter because you have to maintain that control until everything has been met.

 
"If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control."
You're stuttering - you just posted this 10 posts ago.
It should be posted about 10 more times because apparently quite a few people are stupid, blind, or intellectually dishonest.
Chill out.
 
The pi call on Sam shields is what cost the pack the game. Make that call and Seattle never gets close
No worse than the PI call on Chancellor that kept GB's final TD drive alive.eta; At least Shields had a hand on the jersey so there's a reason for the DPI call, even though I think it was wrong (should've been a no-call). The Chancellor play was textbook defensive excellence.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
I feel bad that this last call tainted the win for the seahawks. Yes, it was a bad call, but they played a great tough game. There were a lot of bad calls going against both teams throughout the game and there were quite a few calls that went GBs way extending their TD drive, which if you analyze it maybe shouldn't have happened either. Some PI calls were made that shouldn't have been made and vice versa.
2-1** = Not Really
Fixed, for accuracy.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
I think the call was wrong, but I honestly can't blame the refs for the possession issue. How many people here knew 100% who caught that when watching it live? Heck, we have people still arguing simultaneous possession after watching slomo replays. I could absolutely see the real refs having made the same call.But both calls/non-calls for PI on that lat drive were horrendous. Those really did cost the Packers the game and I think the real refs would have likely made the correct calls on both of those.
It was pretty easy to see. Jennings caught the ball and Tate caught Jennings.
You say that now after watching it 20 times in slow motion. But seriously, how many people clearly saw exactly what happened when it happened live? I sure had no idea. Seemed close enough live that simultaneous possession seemed reasonable. The way it played out was unfortunate, but not egregious to me. The real refs easily could have ruled the same way.People should stick to the truly blown call of the missed pass interference. That was a worse officiating blunder than the possession issue and that blown call had the same result.
 
"If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control."
You're stuttering - you just posted this 10 posts ago.
It should be posted about 10 more times because apparently quite a few people are stupid, blind, or intellectually dishonest.
Chill out.
Case in point.
 
Packer fan here...The missed pass interference is ridiculous.I don't actually have a problem with the simultaneous possession call. Tate has his one arm pretty well wrapped in there. I have seen calls like that go to the offense before.Kudos to the 11 packers that came out for the extra point and that they didn't try to light anybody up. The packers got robbed, no doubt about it. There have been tons of bad calls by the refs on strike too so I am happy that the NFL hasn't given in to their demands. These guys make good money for what they do IMO.
Are you pumped full of Valium right now? You should be freaking out.
 
Fellas...this is pretty simple. Jennings has a prosthetic arm. That means he and Tate had the same amount of real arms on the ball.

 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top