What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Teens: Are they worse, or am I old? (1 Viewer)

Goldminer1

Footballguy
I have been a high school teacher for the past decade-plus. I teach kids that range from having GPAs that start with 0, to kids that get full rides to Ivy League schools. I see it all. The school I teach at is large (over 2,500 students), in the suburbs, and in general is a "good" school, but we do have our share of behvaior issues. There are fights, kids smoke in the bathrooms, they don't follow the dress code rules, they're late to class etc.

But, to be honest the thing I notice the most, is their lack of desire to do -ANYTHING- that they don't enjoy or that requires any level of effort, whatsoever.

This goes from my lowest achieving students, to my highest. The learned helplessness is just off-the-charts bad this year, and has been getting worse every year. I teach Juniors, their social/emotional characteristics feel much closer to what 6th or 7th graders were like 20 years ago.

I have to hand-hold and spoon-feed, EVERYTHING to these kids. It is insane.

I don't know if I should blame parenting, the pandemic, social media, the kids themselves, or myself or some other thing I haven't even considered.

Is anybody else that lives, works or interacts with teenagers seeing the same thing or am I just old (37) now?

Thanks.