What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Calvin Johnson rule strikes again (1 Viewer)

Buzzbait

Footballguy
J Gresham had a TD overturned after crossing the goal line and maintaining position all the way until hitting the ground. This is exactly the same ruling that happened last year with Megatron. Per the way the rule is written...they made the right call. However IMO this rule has got to be changed. It's moronic that a receiver has position, crosses the goal line, maintains position until hitting the ground. Horrible rule.

P.S. No, I don't own Gresham or Dalton. Just a dumb rule.

 
It was a great call and I like the rule.

All the receiver has to do is wrap up the ball to take away any doubt.

Instead of showboating and holding the ball out with one hand, simply wrap it up against your chest - take away any doubt from the refs and the instant replay.

P.S. Dang, the Bengals really could have used that TD. :kicksrock:

 
J Gresham had a TD overturned after crossing the goal line and maintaining position all the way until hitting the ground. This is exactly the same ruling that happened last year with Megatron. Per the way the rule is written...they made the right call. However IMO this rule has got to be changed. It's moronic that a receiver has position, crosses the goal line, maintains position until hitting the ground. Horrible rule.P.S. No, I don't own Gresham or Dalton. Just a dumb rule.
You can't use the ground to secure the ball. It's a fine rule and was applied appropriately today.
 
It was a great call and I like the rule.All the receiver has to do is wrap up the ball to take away any doubt.Instead of showboating and holding the ball out with one hand, simply wrap it up against your chest - take away any doubt from the refs and the instant replay.P.S. Dang, the Bengals really could have used that TD. :kicksrock:
The rule is absolutely stupid. Megatron's catch last year involved him possessing the ball in the air, getting two feet down, his butt, his hip, his elbow all down on the ground and then the ball still in his hand getting knocked out after his whole body was down. There was no showboating and although I didn't see the Gresham one, that's rarely the case when it happens. Moronic that all that can happen and still be ruled incomplete.
 
J Gresham had a TD overturned after crossing the goal line and maintaining position all the way until hitting the ground. This is exactly the same ruling that happened last year with Megatron. Per the way the rule is written...they made the right call. However IMO this rule has got to be changed. It's moronic that a receiver has position, crosses the goal line, maintains position until hitting the ground. Horrible rule.P.S. No, I don't own Gresham or Dalton. Just a dumb rule.
You can't use the ground to secure the ball. It's a fine rule and was applied appropriately today.
Did you see it? He didn't use the ground to secure the ball. The ball was already secured. He had control, crossed the goal line, maintained control and only lost the ball when he hit the ground. So I don't see this as needing the ground to secure the ball.Again, not trying to beat the refs up. They correctly applied the rule as it is currently written. As a fan of the game I just think it's a misguided rule.
 
It was a great call and I like the rule.

All the receiver has to do is wrap up the ball to take away any doubt.

Instead of showboating and holding the ball out with one hand, simply wrap it up against your chest - take away any doubt from the refs and the instant replay.

P.S. Dang, the Bengals really could have used that TD. :kicksrock:
The rule is absolutely stupid. Megatron's catch last year involved him possessing the ball in the air, getting two feet down, his butt, his hip, his elbow all down on the ground and then the ball still in his hand getting knocked out after his whole body was down. There was no showboating and although I didn't see the Gresham one, that's rarely the case when it happens. Moronic that all that can happen and still be ruled incomplete.
Regardless of your opinion of the rule, it exists and all the receiver has to do is wrap up the ball - in both Calvin's case and Gresham today, both could have easily done so and taken away any potential for the catch to be overturned.
 
If the ground can't cause a fumble I fail to see how it can be incomplete once you have the ball secured with two feet down.

//But that is the rule, as such you as a WR/RB/TE should know better than to hold the damn thing with one hand. No reason Gresham couldn't have put two hands on that ball aside from breaking his fall, which you should know better than to do anyway.

 
It was a great call and I like the rule.

All the receiver has to do is wrap up the ball to take away any doubt.

Instead of showboating and holding the ball out with one hand, simply wrap it up against your chest - take away any doubt from the refs and the instant replay.

P.S. Dang, the Bengals really could have used that TD. :kicksrock:
The rule is absolutely stupid. Megatron's catch last year involved him possessing the ball in the air, getting two feet down, his butt, his hip, his elbow all down on the ground and then the ball still in his hand getting knocked out after his whole body was down. There was no showboating and although I didn't see the Gresham one, that's rarely the case when it happens. Moronic that all that can happen and still be ruled incomplete.
Regardless of your opinion of the rule, it exists and all the receiver has to do is wrap up the ball - in both Calvin's case and Gresham today, both could have easily done so and taken away any potential for the catch to be overturned.
:lmao: Doesn't change the fact that it's a stupid rule and Megatron wasn't showboating when it happened. He was basically already on his back when the ball came out. It's not always possible, especially when making such a highlight reel catch, to get both hands wrapped around it. And regardless of your opinion of the rule, it's absolutely absurd for someone to have 8 body parts hit the ground with possession and have a completion taken away because it slipped out while he was getting back up.
 
J Gresham had a TD overturned after crossing the goal line and maintaining position all the way until hitting the ground. This is exactly the same ruling that happened last year with Megatron. Per the way the rule is written...they made the right call. However IMO this rule has got to be changed. It's moronic that a receiver has position, crosses the goal line, maintains position until hitting the ground. Horrible rule.

P.S. No, I don't own Gresham or Dalton. Just a dumb rule.
You can't use the ground to secure the ball. It's a fine rule and was applied appropriately today.
Did you see it? He didn't use the ground to secure the ball. The ball was already secured. He had control, crossed the goal line, maintained control and only lost the ball when he hit the ground. So I don't see this as needing the ground to secure the ball.Again, not trying to beat the refs up. They correctly applied the rule as it is currently written. As a fan of the game I just think it's a misguided rule.
And he needs to maintain control as he hits the ground. Not sure why you are arguing it.
 
J Gresham had a TD overturned after crossing the goal line and maintaining position all the way until hitting the ground. This is exactly the same ruling that happened last year with Megatron. Per the way the rule is written...they made the right call. However IMO this rule has got to be changed. It's moronic that a receiver has position, crosses the goal line, maintains position until hitting the ground. Horrible rule.

P.S. No, I don't own Gresham or Dalton. Just a dumb rule.
You can't use the ground to secure the ball. It's a fine rule and was applied appropriately today.
Did you see it? He didn't use the ground to secure the ball. The ball was already secured. He had control, crossed the goal line, maintained control and only lost the ball when he hit the ground. So I don't see this as needing the ground to secure the ball.Again, not trying to beat the refs up. They correctly applied the rule as it is currently written. As a fan of the game I just think it's a misguided rule.
And he needs to maintain control as he hits the ground. Not sure why you are arguing it.
He's not arguing that the refs should've ruled it a catch. He's correctly pointing out how stupid of a rule it is.
 
It was a great call and I like the rule.

All the receiver has to do is wrap up the ball to take away any doubt.

Instead of showboating and holding the ball out with one hand, simply wrap it up against your chest - take away any doubt from the refs and the instant replay.

P.S. Dang, the Bengals really could have used that TD. :kicksrock:
The rule is absolutely stupid. Megatron's catch last year involved him possessing the ball in the air, getting two feet down, his butt, his hip, his elbow all down on the ground and then the ball still in his hand getting knocked out after his whole body was down. There was no showboating and although I didn't see the Gresham one, that's rarely the case when it happens. Moronic that all that can happen and still be ruled incomplete.
Regardless of your opinion of the rule, it exists and all the receiver has to do is wrap up the ball - in both Calvin's case and Gresham today, both could have easily done so and taken away any potential for the catch to be overturned.
:lmao: Doesn't change the fact that it's a stupid rule and Megatron wasn't showboating when it happened. He was basically already on his back when the ball came out. It's not always possible, especially when making such a highlight reel catch, to get both hands wrapped around it. And regardless of your opinion of the rule, it's absolutely absurd for someone to have 8 body parts hit the ground with possession and have a completion taken away because it slipped out while he was getting back up.
The rule may well be tweaked or changed next year as it is unpopular and sometimes when applied takes away what is pretty clearly a legit catch, but there has to be a concrete definition that can be applied to TD catches, otherwise there would be a lot of gray area regarding possession.Agree to disagree on the opinion that Calvin was showboating - he clearly was imo and could and should have wrapped both arms around that catch with no difficulty what-so-ever.

 
It's a really dumb rule. I went back and counted and Gresham had taken 5 steps before he went to the ground. How many steps is it until the guy is considered a runner with the ball? I've gotta think it's less than 5.

Either way, it was monumentally stupid of Gresham to hold the ball out in one hand and use it to support his fall like that.. Just tuck it to your chest (he had plenty of time to do it) and fall down like a man.

It probably cost them the game too. At least a trip to overtime.

 
It was a great call and I like the rule.

All the receiver has to do is wrap up the ball to take away any doubt.

Instead of showboating and holding the ball out with one hand, simply wrap it up against your chest - take away any doubt from the refs and the instant replay.

P.S. Dang, the Bengals really could have used that TD. :kicksrock:
The rule is absolutely stupid. Megatron's catch last year involved him possessing the ball in the air, getting two feet down, his butt, his hip, his elbow all down on the ground and then the ball still in his hand getting knocked out after his whole body was down. There was no showboating and although I didn't see the Gresham one, that's rarely the case when it happens. Moronic that all that can happen and still be ruled incomplete.
Regardless of your opinion of the rule, it exists and all the receiver has to do is wrap up the ball - in both Calvin's case and Gresham today, both could have easily done so and taken away any potential for the catch to be overturned.
:lmao: Doesn't change the fact that it's a stupid rule and Megatron wasn't showboating when it happened. He was basically already on his back when the ball came out. It's not always possible, especially when making such a highlight reel catch, to get both hands wrapped around it. And regardless of your opinion of the rule, it's absolutely absurd for someone to have 8 body parts hit the ground with possession and have a completion taken away because it slipped out while he was getting back up.
The rule may well be tweaked or changed next year as it is unpopular and sometimes when applied takes away what is pretty clearly a legit catch, but there has to be a concrete definition that can be applied to TD catches, otherwise there would be a lot of gray area regarding possession.Agree to disagree on the opinion that Calvin was showboating - he clearly was imo and could and should have wrapped both arms around that catch with no difficulty what-so-ever.

He got eight or so parts of his body down in-bounds with the ball still in his hand(s). No need to cover up the ball.
 
The Raven's previous touchdown pass was bobbled. If the score was flipped, it probably would have been reviewed a bit closer. Love the consistency.

 
I thought the Calvin Johnson rule was that if you have a totally awesome, dominant receiver on your team the last thing you'd ever want to do is throw the ball to him. Especially in the red zone.

 
The part that really makes it wrong is that a RB can dive over the goal line, lose the ball and its still a TD.

 
This was all beaten to death last year, but those of you complaining about the rule, write a new rule that clearly defines possession of a catch in the end zone with no ambiguities or contradictions or anything else. It sounds easy until you try it.

 
I do not think the replay showed conclusive evidence that the ball left his possession. Has nothing to do with it hitting the ground by the way.

 
The part that really makes it wrong is that a RB can dive over the goal line, lose the ball and its still a TD.
This is part of what makes it such a stupid rule. Horrible rule.
The point of the rule is to define possession on a catch in the end zone.There's no question that a RB has possession when he crosses the goal line in the above example.
I've only seen today's play once. But wasn't the catch made outside the end zone?
 
The part that really makes it wrong is that a RB can dive over the goal line, lose the ball and its still a TD.
This is part of what makes it such a stupid rule. Horrible rule.
The point of the rule is to define possession on a catch in the end zone.There's no question that a RB has possession when he crosses the goal line in the above example.
I've only seen today's play once. But wasn't the catch made outside the end zone?
It was an interesting play, he caught the ball outside the endzone, bobbled it and finally hauled it in, and the 2nd foot down needed for possession was in the endzone.
 
I do not think the replay showed conclusive evidence that the ball left his possession. Has nothing to do with it hitting the ground by the way.
If you mean Gresham's play, there was one replay angle that looked like it showed that his hand separated from the ball while it was on the ground just a bit before he scooped it back in.
 
I do not think the replay showed conclusive evidence that the ball left his possession. Has nothing to do with it hitting the ground by the way.
If you mean Gresham's play, there was one replay angle that looked like it showed that his hand separated from the ball while it was on the ground just a bit before he scooped it back in.
Not to interupt but can someone tell me why this rule can to be and why? What happen to the catch, two feet down and doen rule. I agree with the orginal poster, the rule as written is terrible.
 
I do not think the replay showed conclusive evidence that the ball left his possession. Has nothing to do with it hitting the ground by the way.
If you mean Gresham's play, there was one replay angle that looked like it showed that his hand separated from the ball while it was on the ground just a bit before he scooped it back in.
I saw the replay, I just didn't think it was enough to overrule the catch. Also, he made the catch before he got in the endzone. Shouldn't it just have been foot down and ball across the plane?
 
The part that really makes it wrong is that a RB can dive over the goal line, lose the ball and its still a TD.
This is part of what makes it such a stupid rule. Horrible rule.
The point of the rule is to define possession on a catch in the end zone.There's no question that a RB has possession when he crosses the goal line in the above example.
There's no question Gresham had possession when he crossed the goal line either
 
The part that really makes it wrong is that a RB can dive over the goal line, lose the ball and its still a TD.
This is part of what makes it such a stupid rule. Horrible rule.
The point of the rule is to define possession on a catch in the end zone.There's no question that a RB has possession when he crosses the goal line in the above example.
There's no question Gresham had possession when he crossed the goal line either
He had the ball but hadn't gotten his 2nd foot down prior to crossing the goal line.
 
The part that really makes it wrong is that a RB can dive over the goal line, lose the ball and its still a TD.
This is part of what makes it such a stupid rule. Horrible rule.
The point of the rule is to define possession on a catch in the end zone.There's no question that a RB has possession when he crosses the goal line in the above example.
There's no question Gresham had possession when he crossed the goal line either
I didnt think he had possession when he crossed the goal line.
 
Terrible rule.

Saw it again. All the talking heads are saying it should be a catch and a TD. It was over ruled, Correct? Craptastic call.

 
I do not think the replay showed conclusive evidence that the ball left his possession. Has nothing to do with it hitting the ground by the way.
If you mean Gresham's play, there was one replay angle that looked like it showed that his hand separated from the ball while it was on the ground just a bit before he scooped it back in.
I saw the replay, I just didn't think it was enough to overrule the catch. Also, he made the catch before he got in the endzone. Shouldn't it just have been foot down and ball across the plane?
No, you're talking about rules (breaking the plane) that apply to a player in possession of the ball. Gresham was not in possession of the ball in the rules-sense of the term. He was a player in the act of making a catch. Here's the details:

The NFL requires all of the following to make a catch and be considered a player in possession of the ball in bounds:

A forward pass is complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) if a player, who is inbounds:

(a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and

(b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and

© maintains control of the ball long enough, after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, to enable him to perform any act common to the game (i.e., maintaining control long enough to pitch it, pass it, advance with it, or avoid or ward off an opponent, etc.).

Note 1: It is not necessary that he commit such an act, provided that he maintains control of the ball long

enough to do so.

Note 2: If a player has control of the ball, a slight movement of the ball will not be considered a loss of

possession. He must lose control of the ball in order to rule that there has been a loss of possession.

If the player loses the ball while simultaneously touching both feet or any part of his body other than his hands

to the ground, or if there is any doubt that the acts were simultaneous, it is not a catch.
If you do the three things above before you go out of bounds, go to the ground, or go in the endzone, then it is a catch and you are in possession of the ball as a ball carrier no different than any other player who has possession like a RB after a handoff. If you complete those 3, then all you have to do is break the plane of the goal line for it to be a touchdown, same as any other ball carrier.

But, Gresham did not fulfill the 3rd part of the catch before going in the end zone, going to the ground, and out of bounds all three as it happened. From the replays I'm seeing he doesn't even gain control until the ball is already in the end zone. After he has the ball clasped in both hands, he gets two feet in bounds and is going to the ground and has stepped out of bounds before he has had the ball long enough to "perform any act common to the game".

Ok, so since he didn't gain possession in bounds, then we have to apply the additional rules regarding going to the ground, out of bounds, and catches in the end zone when making a catch.

Item 1: Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

Item 2: Sideline Catches. If a player goes to the ground out-of-bounds (with or without contact by an opponent) in the process of making a catch at the sideline, he must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, or the pass is incomplete.

Item 3: End Zone Catches. If a player controls the ball while in the end zone, both feet, or any part of his body other than his hands, must be completely on the ground before losing control, or the pass is incomplete.
He was fine with Item 3, he got both feet completely on the ground. But they ruled that he did not maintain the ball THROUGHOUT the process of going to the ground. I don't know from the one replay that I saw if the ball moved enough to be a loss of control, but that was their ruling.

I personally wouldn't compare this to Calvin Johnson. Calvin Johnson's was a contentious play because he lost the ball while trying to stand up using the momentum of his going to the ground. The question there was, "Was his act of going to the ground done, and was he instead in the act of rising". It's more of a judgment call. I'd agree with the refs the act of going to the ground wasn't done yet since his body was still under its momentum.

The issue in this play is completely different. There is no question like with Calvin as to whether he'd finished going to the ground. Clearly he hadn't.

The only question is did the ball move in his hand to where he lost control. I think I can kind of see it move a little bit, but at least with only having the 1 replay I'm not sure enough I'd have overturned. Maybe the other replays showed more though, I'm not sure, have only seen the 1 angle.

 
Once the secomd foot, kee, butt etc. hits the ground, the receiver has "gone to te ground"

This is the intent of the "rule" and the way it needs to be interpreted.

 
I do not think the replay showed conclusive evidence that the ball left his possession. Has nothing to do with it hitting the ground by the way.
If you mean Gresham's play, there was one replay angle that looked like it showed that his hand separated from the ball while it was on the ground just a bit before he scooped it back in.
Not to interupt but can someone tell me why this rule can to be and why? What happen to the catch, two feet down and doen rule. I agree with the orginal poster, the rule as written is terrible.
The original rule was control and 2 feet. It led to a ton of judgment calls that no one agreed with. If someone got his hands on the ball while standing on the ground, then got rocked by a huge hit and the ball dislodged, there really was no guidance to how long you had to have the ball to "control" it. And I think if anything the bad calls tended to be saying it was a completion and fumble when 99 out of 100 guys in a bar would say it wasn't a catch.So then they changed it to control, 2 feet, and make a football move. It got a little more consistent. But sometimes a player would have the ball long enough he could have made a football move, but didn't, and that caused bad calls. And so they changed it so was more about the length of time after control and 2 feet, and not what you did.Then there was a playoff-altering call in St. Louis dealing with what happens when a ball touches the ground but was in control at the time it did. It revealed a weakness in the rules that needed addressing.I believe that then led to the "going to the ground" set of rules, where it is ok for the ball to touch the ground so long as it was in control first and stays in control the whole time. And rather than leave it subjective and open to ref judgment calls, they made it easier to call where any player who goes to the ground while still in the act of making the catch (i.e. hasn't had the ball long enough he could have made a football move) has to retain the ball through the act of going to the ground.The only time you can lose the ball when going to the ground in the act of making a catch is when it takes place as a 'second act'. Such as if you have gone to the ground and not lost control, I can't come along and knock it free as you're lying there to make it incomplete. That was an issue about 2 years ago when that ruling went into effect.
 
Terrible rule. Saw it again. All the talking heads are saying it should be a catch and a TD. It was over ruled, Correct? Craptastic call.
The Rule may be stupid but the refs made the correct call.
VIRTUALLY NO ONE IS ARGUING THAT THE CALL WAS INCORRECT BY THE REFS ACCORDING TO THE RULE AS IT IS WRITTENand, to be clear, I'm not I do think it should be a TD and the rule should be changed. ####### semantics. :banned:
 
Once the secomd foot, kee, butt etc. hits the ground, the receiver has "gone to te ground"This is the intent of the "rule" and the way it needs to be interpreted.
I'm not clear what you're saying.If you're saying "going to the ground" ends as soon as your knee hits the ground... that anything that happens after doesn't matter, like your torso hitting the ground? If so, no, that is not the intent of the rule.The intent of the rule is that you control the ball all the way through the series of impacts with the ground.
 
Terrible rule.

Saw it again. All the talking heads are saying it should be a catch and a TD. It was over ruled, Correct? Craptastic call.
The Rule may be stupid but the refs made the correct call.
VIRTUALLY NO ONE IS ARGUING THAT THE CALL WAS INCORRECT BY THE REFS ACCORDING TO THE RULE AS IT IS WRITTENand, to be clear, I'm not I do think it should be a TD and the rule should be changed.

####### semantics. :banned:
 
This was all beaten to death last year, but those of you complaining about the rule, write a new rule that clearly defines possession of a catch in the end zone with no ambiguities or contradictions or anything else. It sounds easy until you try it.
Well, a rule that calls the Megatron catch an incompletion is a giant, massive failure of a rule.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top