Doug B
Footballguy
Here's what's on the shirt.So I have to show my ignorance but I am dieing to know, what the heck is on that t-shirt emoticon? I get the jest of what it means but might be funnier if I knew what was on it.
Here's what's on the shirt.So I have to show my ignorance but I am dieing to know, what the heck is on that t-shirt emoticon? I get the jest of what it means but might be funnier if I knew what was on it.
No the possession cannot be reveiwed upstairsI don't know why you guys are blaming the replacement refs. Wasn't it the booth that made the error in calling the last play a TD? I mean do the replacement refs work in the booth also or what?
Because it would be unfair to every other team who had a bad call affect their game.Why, though? I want to hear some folks air the dirty laundry of why it's wrong to do the right thing.I would call it a calamity. But I think there's 0 chance of the result being changed.Just heard on Mike & Mike: Rule 17 in the NFL: The Commissioner has the sole authority to change the outcome of a game.More on this:http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/post/_/id/63912/I don't see how a wrong call on the field falls under this rule."any club action, non-participant interference, or calamity.
Exactly. Like when the real refs "poster child" did this:http://www.usatoday.com/sports/football/nfl/2008-09-15-hochuli_N.htmThe mob mentality is amusing though.Cant wait to bump this thread when the real refs are back and start blowing calls.
and it's not even all that clear that Jennings had controlBecause NFL rules don't allow it? Because it sets a bad precedent? Because it's never been done on all the games where the old refs robbed teams with bad calls on the last play of the game?It's more than just the Vegas angle. It HAS to be more than that, doesn't it?Again I ask: Why, though? I want to hear some more of the collective opinion here tell me their opinions of reasons why the NFL WOULDN'T correct this egregious mistake, when they stand to gain a TON of positive collateral by doing so? There's an overwhelming amount of negativity going on that would not merely just go away, but dramatically REVERSE COURSE if the NFL Commissioner did right by the Packers. Can you imagine? A tremendous amount of dissidents would become ardent supporters, and this would generate a TON of 'political capital'. I just don't see any downside. What am I missing?Do you really think that's what it comes down to? Vegas? I bet a TON of money on Professional Football among other things, through an offshore account a Bank/Casino in Costa Rica. I had a very small wager on the Packers last night, just to make the game more interesting, so I lost a few bucks, nothing dramatic or life changing....but integrity is a very big deal to me, and I can honestly say that if I was a Seahawks fan, or had bet on them, I wouldn't feel good about winning this game, and I wouldn't be upset if my offshore changed the balance in my account if the NFL changed the outcome......I know some of you may think this sounds crazy, but to understand my point of view, here's an example: I'm a huge Redskins fan, and in my opinion, our all-time record for Super Bowls is 1-2 (Loss to Dolphins, Loss to Raiders, Win over Bills). In my world, the wins vs the Dolphins and Broncos are tainted by what was going on in those seasons, and I personally choose not to acknowledge them as legitimate Titles.I know not everyone sees it this way, and I'm cool with that, but I do, and I'm cool with that, too.Vegas and books have already paid out and don't want to pay twice.Why, though? I want to hear some folks air the dirty laundry of why it's wrong to do the right thing.I would call it a calamity. But I think there's 0 chance of the result being changed.Just heard on Mike & Mike: Rule 17 in the NFL: The Commissioner has the sole authority to change the outcome of a game.More on this:http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/post/_/id/63912/I don't see how a wrong call on the field falls under this rule."any club action, non-participant interference, or calamity.
he could just fix all those.Because it would be unfair to every other team who had a bad call affect their game.Why, though? I want to hear some folks air the dirty laundry of why it's wrong to do the right thing.I would call it a calamity. But I think there's 0 chance of the result being changed.Just heard on Mike & Mike: Rule 17 in the NFL: The Commissioner has the sole authority to change the outcome of a game.More on this:http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/post/_/id/63912/I don't see how a wrong call on the field falls under this rule."any club action, non-participant interference, or calamity.
You have to be fishing...not sure how a guy with the ball in both hands pinned against his chest is not clear to you...and it's not even all that clear that Jennings had control
You're failing to acknowledge that Tate's hand/hands were also on the ball. Simultaneously, even.'sho nuff said:You have to be fishing...not sure how a guy with the ball in both hands pinned against his chest is not clear to you...'Sam Quentin said:and it's not even all that clear that Jennings had control
I acknowledge that Tate had a hand in near the ball.I acknowledge that this happened after Jennings had control of the football...and that Tate's other hand comes off the ball as they go to the ground...so any simultaneous anything is over and done right then and there.I further acknowledge that at no point did Jennings lose control of the football...nor that Tate ever gained control or possession of the ball.You're failing to acknowledge that Tate's hand/hands were also on the ball. Simultaneously, even.'sho nuff said:You have to be fishing...not sure how a guy with the ball in both hands pinned against his chest is not clear to you...'Sam Quentin said:and it's not even all that clear that Jennings had control
post #149...and while watching redzone I heard the host bragging about "most" nfl cities now having the NFL network on "most" cable & dish networks.'GroveDiesel said:Who still can't get NFLN?'Leroy Hoard said:There are still a few fans who can't get the NFL network, those every Thursday games rub them and a few others the wrong way. Small item but one that can be added to the list.'Warhogs said:How much do any of you blame Goddell for this mess? He has seemed to be pretty well liked by the general public until maybe recently. He seems to have handled the Saints situation poorly and now the refs lockout is getting ugly.It seems to me that he has started thinking he has all the power and has taken a few hits. I really don't know that I like him as commissioner.
No wonder they got it wrongNow, as to the replay: Let's be clear about what can and can't be reviewed. Simultaneous possession between the goal lines cannot be reviewed. Simultaneous possession in the end zone can be reviewed. That's an important distinction that many in the media have not made since Elliott went under the hood.
Daopoulos pointed out that a veteran referee -- say, an Ed Hochuli -- would go under the hood and not need advice from the replay official upstairs. But in this case, Daopoulos believes both the replay official, Howard Slavin, and the NFL officiating supervisor, former ref Phil Luckett, were speaking to Elliott while he was looking at the different angles of the replay. Daopoulos believes they should have said to him, "This is an interception." That's what he would have said had he been in the booth.
Read more: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2012/writers/peter_king/09/25/replacement-referees-packers-seahawks/index.html#ixzz27VHgCIAy
Same deal as last night as far as the NFL is concerned. Only the above example got a team into the playoffs, and they eventually won the Super Bowl.Bad calls happen all the time. I live in the midst of thousands of Packer fans and trust me when I say they couldn't give a rip unless it happens to their team. Now, today...they are livid. I think it is hilarious listening to them.....welcome to the real world.'thatguythere said:Okay, how about the Shiancoe TD non call that got the Pack into the playoffs the year they won the Super Bowl. That's two game changers now.....do we need to go on?'sho nuff said:Sweet...you bring up a bad call...that obviously proves GB has been getting the calls for years right.'thatguythere said:Seems to me Detroit had a non TD call last year when Titus Young clearly caught a TD but it was called incomplete. THe Lions didn't have any challenges left from challenging another BS call. What was the final score of that again? Maybe you can dig up a thread where you packers fans were calling it luck because you should have lost. Regular refs aren't much better making in game calls, period. They run the game better that's it. People just need something to ##### about when their team loses...when in reality maybe their team just isn't that good.Oh, and your opinions aren't FACTS...as much as you think they are.For part of that game GB did not deserve the win...they came back, made adjustments and had the game and had it taken from them by an obvious blown call.Its not to have something to ##### about...its just what happened.
The NFL disagrees with you and sides with Rene. Now one could easily argue they're biased, but Rene nailed the ruling from the NFL's side.'griz145389 said:I believe you are reading it wrong. It does not say that one player completes the catch first, it say that one player has control first. Not possession, but control. Jennings clearly had control of the ball first.'renesauz said:It doesn't change the fact that a CATCH is NOT completed until you hit the ground and keep control. BY the time the defender hits the ground, Tate has two hands so firmly on the ball that the defender is unable to roll away despite being bigger and stronger. At the point where you can AWARD the CATCH, BOTH players have two hands on it.I understand your argument. Even sympathize with it. Logically...it looks more like a pick than a reception. Common sense says interception. The rules, however, do not (at least, IMHO).'griz145389 said:Wrong, here is the quote from the nfl rulebook (note the bolded):"If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control."'renesauz said:'cobalt_27 said:But, it wasn't simultaneously possessed. GB had it first. SEA guy came in later to also "possess" the ball when on the ground. Referee, if using that aspect of the rule, completely misunderstood what it meant.'renesauz said:I honestly believe they got that simultaneous catch call right, but still hosed GB because that offensive PI should absolutely have been called."Possession" absolutely, positively, can NOT be established before the completion of the CATCH...and the catch isn't complete until the players hit the ground and still have it. At the moment POSSESSION could be awarded (which is the same moment the catch is completed), BOTH players have two hands firmly on the ball, and neither is able to wrestle it away from the other. (Fwiw...Tates first hand WAS on the ball at the same moment that the defender "caught" the ball...and we've ALL seen one handed grabs!)I understand people disagreeing....but IMHO, it's much like the Calvin Johnson TD...hate the outcome all you want, but the problem is the wording of the rules.
ETA: Watch AFTER they hit the ground...if the GB defender had more control of the ball then...he did a poor job of showing it. He's bigger and stronger, and hehad a position of leverage...he tries to roll away from Tate and CAN'T because Tate has just as firm a grip on the ball, with one hand actually BETWEEN the ball and the defenders chest. The rule is simultaneous POSSESSION...NOT simultaneous CATCH.
41 leagues?!? How do you find time to masturbate?Yeah, I'm kinda done. I pour a lot into loving the league each year, each week, each day. To have the game be tainted in this way, just makes me feel like not giving a #### anymore. I have 41 fantasy football leagues and I'm so sick over this BS that went on tonight that I can't even carry over the interest to check my scores.
I believe it can, if the play occurs in the end zone. Not in regular field of play, but from what I've heard today, possession can be reviewed upstairs, if it's an end zone play.ETA...From the league's own press release today:'Captain Hook said:No the possession cannot be reveiwed upstairsI don't know why you guys are blaming the replacement refs. Wasn't it the booth that made the error in calling the last play a TD? I mean do the replacement refs work in the booth also or what?
Replay Official Howard Slavin stopped the game for an instant replay review. The aspects of the play that were reviewable included if the ball hit the ground and who had possession of the ball. In the end zone, a ruling of a simultaneous catch is reviewable. That is not the case in the field of play, only in the end zone.
You are reaching...if you think the Packers were also not hurt by bad calls...you are quite dishonest.Arizona playoff game/facemask and head shots ring a bell?'thatguythere said:Okay, how about the Shiancoe TD non call that got the Pack into the playoffs the year they won the Super Bowl. That's two game changers now.....do we need to go on?'sho nuff said:Sweet...you bring up a bad call...that obviously proves GB has been getting the calls for years right.'thatguythere said:Seems to me Detroit had a non TD call last year when Titus Young clearly caught a TD but it was called incomplete. THe Lions didn't have any challenges left from challenging another BS call. What was the final score of that again? Maybe you can dig up a thread where you packers fans were calling it luck because you should have lost. Regular refs aren't much better making in game calls, period. They run the game better that's it. People just need something to ##### about when their team loses...when in reality maybe their team just isn't that good.Oh, and your opinions aren't FACTS...as much as you think they are.For part of that game GB did not deserve the win...they came back, made adjustments and had the game and had it taken from them by an obvious blown call.Its not to have something to ##### about...its just what happened.