What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Calvin Johnson rule strikes again (1 Viewer)

Stupid rule thenStupid rule nowStupid rule forever
Totally agree.To me this differs a lot from the Calvin play. It looked like; 1 foot, 2 foot, break the plane, foot out of bounds, end of play (to me).I thought plays were dead when the ball breaks the plane?Then again WTF do I know.No dog in this fight either; no FF players involved, and as a Steelers fan I equally hate both of these teams.
 
This was all beaten to death last year, but those of you complaining about the rule, write a new rule that clearly defines possession of a catch in the end zone with no ambiguities or contradictions or anything else. It sounds easy until you try it.
Well, a rule that calls the Megatron catch an incompletion is a giant, massive failure of a rule.
So write a better rule. :popcorn:
 
This was all beaten to death last year, but those of you complaining about the rule, write a new rule that clearly defines possession of a catch in the end zone with no ambiguities or contradictions or anything else. It sounds easy until you try it.
Well, a rule that calls the Megatron catch an incompletion is a giant, massive failure of a rule.
So write a better rule. :popcorn:
How about possession and two feet (or one of any other body part other than hands) down in bounds?
 
This was all beaten to death last year, but those of you complaining about the rule, write a new rule that clearly defines possession of a catch in the end zone with no ambiguities or contradictions or anything else. It sounds easy until you try it.
Well, a rule that calls the Megatron catch an incompletion is a giant, massive failure of a rule.
So write a better rule. :popcorn:
How about, possession + 2 feet in the end zone = TD
 
This was all beaten to death last year, but those of you complaining about the rule, write a new rule that clearly defines possession of a catch in the end zone with no ambiguities or contradictions or anything else. It sounds easy until you try it.
Well, a rule that calls the Megatron catch an incompletion is a giant, massive failure of a rule.
So write a better rule. :popcorn:
If you demonstrate control of the ball in the end zone, it is a TD period. Now when a receiver jumps up for a ball a smart defender will do a tackle and a strip. If the player does not maintain possession throughout the whole process (far beyond just being down by contact), it is an incomplete pass. The ex-referee expert almost was convinced last weeks Detroit's TD should have been disallowed because he lost the ball after taking several steps out of bounds and got tangled up in some netting.
 
'DA RAIDERS said:
'thayman said:
'DA RAIDERS said:
Terrible rule. Saw it again. All the talking heads are saying it should be a catch and a TD. It was over ruled, Correct? Craptastic call.
The Rule may be stupid but the refs made the correct call.
VIRTUALLY NO ONE IS ARGUING THAT THE CALL WAS INCORRECT BY THE REFS ACCORDING TO THE RULE AS IT IS WRITTENand, to be clear, I'm not I do think it should be a TD and the rule should be changed. ####### semantics. :banned:
Calm down sparky.When you come in saying it's a "craptastic call" you make it sound like you are pinning it on the refs. Learn to express yourself better.
 
Same thing happened to E.Bennett... he had possesion of the ball, crossing over goal line, then going to the ground with the ground causing him to lose the ball, only problem is that he's already crossed the goal line, which should be a TD. I don't like the rule, and I thought Megatron's play was a TD also.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Same thing happened to E.Bennett... he had possesion of the ball, crossing over goal line, then going to the ground with the ground causing him to lose the ball, only problem is that he's already crossed the goal line, which should be a TD. I don't like the rule, and I thought Megatron's play was a TD also.
Not the same IMHO. In bennetts catch the ball was knocked loose before he hit the ground.
 
Same thing happened to E.Bennett... he had possesion of the ball, crossing over goal line, then going to the ground with the ground causing him to lose the ball, only problem is that he's already crossed the goal line, which should be a TD. I don't like the rule, and I thought Megatron's play was a TD also.
Not the same IMHO. In bennetts catch the ball was knocked loose before he hit the ground.
I didn't see the ball come loose on that play before he hit the ground, but if you saw it I won't argue that, but I did hear the announcers say he needed to hold onto the ball after hitting the ground though.
 
Same thing happened to E.Bennett... he had possesion of the ball, crossing over goal line, then going to the ground with the ground causing him to lose the ball, only problem is that he's already crossed the goal line, which should be a TD. I don't like the rule, and I thought Megatron's play was a TD also.
Not the same IMHO. In bennetts catch the ball was knocked loose before he hit the ground.
I didn't see the ball come loose on that play before he hit the ground, but if you saw it I won't argue that, but I did hear the announcers say he needed to hold onto the ball after hitting the ground though.
I started Bennett. The hit knocked it loose. :hot:
 
Same thing happened to E.Bennett... he had possesion of the ball, crossing over goal line, then going to the ground with the ground causing him to lose the ball, only problem is that he's already crossed the goal line, which should be a TD. I don't like the rule, and I thought Megatron's play was a TD also.
Not the same IMHO. In bennetts catch the ball was knocked loose before he hit the ground.
I didn't see the ball come loose on that play before he hit the ground, but if you saw it I won't argue that, but I did hear the announcers say he needed to hold onto the ball after hitting the ground though.
Bennett started bobbling it before he hit the ground, and then it finally popped out for good when he hit the ground. In that case it was the right call.Signed,Bennett owner
 
It's a stupid rule, especially when the guy lands out of bounds. Out of bounds means the play is over, unless the ball comes loose despite catching the ball and getting both feet down twice. :lol:

 
Yes.....the rule is there and it's not going to change. But I just don't get how a receiver can catch the ball, cross the goal line, have 2 feet down, but when he hits the ground the ball comes out and it is incomplete. But yet......a player diving for the pylon just needs to have the ball hit the pylon and it's a TD and the play is over. The ball can roll out and there is no control, but it hit the pylon so it is good. :rolleyes:

 
Yes.....the rule is there and it's not going to change. But I just don't get how a receiver can catch the ball, cross the goal line, have 2 feet down, but when he hits the ground the ball comes out and it is incomplete. But yet......a player diving for the pylon just needs to have the ball hit the pylon and it's a TD and the play is over. The ball can roll out and there is no control, but it hit the pylon so it is good. :rolleyes:
If the receiver established possession prior to crossing the goal line (just like a RB or anyone else would be who is stretching for the pylon), it wouldn't be different.
 
'Dizzy said:
How about, possession + 2 feet in the end zone = TD
'mad sweeney said:
How about possession and two feet (or one of any other body part other than hands) down in bounds?
I asked for a rule that unambiguously defines possession. You can't use the word possession in the definition.
 
People need to stop making the analogy to an RB diving over the goal line. If a WR does the same thing, it's also a TD. That's because they've already established possession of the ball; once that's done, all it has to do is cross the goal line. It's a different situation when the player is establishing possession in the end zone.

 
J Gresham had a TD overturned after crossing the goal line and maintaining position all the way until hitting the ground. This is exactly the same ruling that happened last year with Megatron. Per the way the rule is written...they made the right call. However IMO this rule has got to be changed. It's moronic that a receiver has position, crosses the goal line, maintains position until hitting the ground. Horrible rule.P.S. No, I don't own Gresham or Dalton. Just a dumb rule.
completely agree. if a rb were to stretch the ball diving across the goal line, break the plane and then fumble when he hits the ground, what result? TD. Should be the same result here. Once they get the feet down w/ the ball in the end zone, TD. This complete the catch rule is borderline ######ed'.
 
People need to stop making the analogy to an RB diving over the goal line. If a WR does the same thing, it's also a TD. That's because they've already established possession of the ball; once that's done, all it has to do is cross the goal line. It's a different situation when the player is establishing possession in the end zone.
only in the last 2 years. every year preceding that it was a TD. If the ground can't cause a fumble, it shouldn't be able to cause an incompletion.
 
The rule may well be tweaked or changed next year as it is unpopular and sometimes when applied takes away what is pretty clearly a legit catch, but there has to be a concrete definition that can be applied to TD catches, otherwise there would be a lot of gray area regarding possession.Agree to disagree on the opinion that Calvin was showboating - he clearly was imo and could and should have wrapped both arms around that catch with no difficulty what-so-ever.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T19FUdG42EU
He got eight or so parts of his body down in-bounds with the ball still in his hand(s). No need to cover up the ball.
I actually like the rule as it adds a dimension of difficulty to receiving that has consistently been made easier and easier over the years with all the defensive rule changes.However, I always thought the Megatron play was not ruled correctly. Basically he had controlled to the ground and then was getting up off the ground when he dropped the ball to run off and celebrate. At what point is he done catching the freakin ball there? He caught it, secured it, went to the ground with all body parts, and then was getting up and dropped the ball. To me it wasn't even a gray area. If controlling to the ground is the standard then wouldn't it stand to reason that you would need to rule it a catch the moment the player begins to rise from the ground? A player shouldn't have to take the ball home with him before getting a reception. If the rule was applied correctly in that particular case, then I would say just that poriton needs to be tweaked a bit. My two cents...
 
This is why it is ridiculous: if the DB had knocked the ball out of Simpson's hand after he got two feet down and crossed the goal line, but before he went to the ground, it would have been called a touchdown. I have seen plays like that before (there was one in the NE/SD game earlier this year), and it is always a touchdown.

 
IMO the rule needs to be revised so that the pass is only incomplete when a receiver leaves his feet to make the catch, and loses control when he hits the ground. If the guy is standing on his feet when he catches the ball, and then goes to the ground, that should be a completed pass.

 
Agreed the rule is dumb. Again the rule failed the "girlfriend test" where a girl who has watched football but doesn't know all the rules is completely dumbfounded as to why it wasn't a TD after seeing the play and getting an explanation of the rule (same thing happened with the Megtron catch, different girlfriend).

Nonetheless, I think those of you claiming these players could have easily tucked the ball in are underestimating the speed of the game, gravity, and the difficulty of catching a football in traffic while falling.

 
It's a really dumb rule. I went back and counted and Gresham had taken 5 steps before he went to the ground. How many steps is it until the guy is considered a runner with the ball? I've gotta think it's less than 5.Either way, it was monumentally stupid of Gresham to hold the ball out in one hand and use it to support his fall like that.. Just tuck it to your chest (he had plenty of time to do it) and fall down like a man.It probably cost them the game too. At least a trip to overtime.
The crazy thing is that it is a catch anywhere on the field except for the end zone. :confused:
 
People need to stop making the analogy to an RB diving over the goal line. If a WR does the same thing, it's also a TD. That's because they've already established possession of the ball; once that's done, all it has to do is cross the goal line. It's a different situation when the player is establishing possession in the end zone.
only in the last 2 years. every year preceding that it was a TD. If the ground can't cause a fumble, it shouldn't be able to cause an incompletion.
As far as I know, a player has always had to establish possession in order to score a TD. Establishing possession is defined by the rules, and there are different rules for possession when you're going to the ground, etc. You're right that the rules that govern these types of things have changed over the years, but there were problems with the old rules, too. That's why they changed them. :shrug:
 
It's a really dumb rule. I went back and counted and Gresham had taken 5 steps before he went to the ground. How many steps is it until the guy is considered a runner with the ball? I've gotta think it's less than 5.Either way, it was monumentally stupid of Gresham to hold the ball out in one hand and use it to support his fall like that.. Just tuck it to your chest (he had plenty of time to do it) and fall down like a man.It probably cost them the game too. At least a trip to overtime.
The crazy thing is that it is a catch anywhere on the field except for the end zone. :confused:
I don't think that's the case. I only saw this play once and don't remember the specifics, but the issue is not that he's in the end zone, the issue is that he's trying to establish possession as he's going to the ground. This would be ruled the same way regardless of where it happened on the field.
 
It's a really dumb rule. I went back and counted and Gresham had taken 5 steps before he went to the ground. How many steps is it until the guy is considered a runner with the ball? I've gotta think it's less than 5.Either way, it was monumentally stupid of Gresham to hold the ball out in one hand and use it to support his fall like that.. Just tuck it to your chest (he had plenty of time to do it) and fall down like a man.It probably cost them the game too. At least a trip to overtime.
The crazy thing is that it is a catch anywhere on the field except for the end zone. :confused:
No it is not. It would have been an incompletion on the 50 yard line the same as in the end zone.The rules on maintaining possession when going to the ground are the same everywhere.
 
It's a really dumb rule. I went back and counted and Gresham had taken 5 steps before he went to the ground. How many steps is it until the guy is considered a runner with the ball? I've gotta think it's less than 5.Either way, it was monumentally stupid of Gresham to hold the ball out in one hand and use it to support his fall like that.. Just tuck it to your chest (he had plenty of time to do it) and fall down like a man.It probably cost them the game too. At least a trip to overtime.
The crazy thing is that it is a catch anywhere on the field except for the end zone. :confused:
No it is not. It would have been an incompletion on the 50 yard line the same as in the end zone.The rules on maintaining possession when going to the ground are the same everywhere.
But if someone takes 5 steps with the ball, isn't that possession? I don't understand how there is any "maintaining" possession to be had at that point. He caught the ball and took several steps; at that point, it's a catch, no?
 
'Dizzy said:
How about, possession + 2 feet in the end zone = TD
'mad sweeney said:
How about possession and two feet (or one of any other body part other than hands) down in bounds?
I asked for a rule that unambiguously defines possession. You can't use the word possession in the definition.
Substitute 'control' for possession.
If you're going to remove the guideline of how long control has to be maintained, people would hate your new rule more than they hate the existing one.That's how it worked to start with, and there was no consistency as to what was a catch and fumble versus what was incomplete. A good rule has to have something to guide the refs on how long control has to be maintained for it to count. Otherwise, someone standing on both feet who gets both hands on the ball, stopping it for a millisecond before it squirts free, should be a catch and fumble by your rule. Some refs called it that way under the old rule, others required longer control. Very inconsistent and the announcers and fans were always complaining they didn't know what a catch was anymore.Now it's pretty consistent in that regard. The part that causes disputes is the going to the ground.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
It's a really dumb rule. I went back and counted and Gresham had taken 5 steps before he went to the ground. How many steps is it until the guy is considered a runner with the ball? I've gotta think it's less than 5.

Either way, it was monumentally stupid of Gresham to hold the ball out in one hand and use it to support his fall like that.. Just tuck it to your chest (he had plenty of time to do it) and fall down like a man.

It probably cost them the game too. At least a trip to overtime.
The crazy thing is that it is a catch anywhere on the field except for the end zone. :confused:
No it is not. It would have been an incompletion on the 50 yard line the same as in the end zone.The rules on maintaining possession when going to the ground are the same everywhere.
But if someone takes 5 steps with the ball, isn't that possession? I don't understand how there is any "maintaining" possession to be had at that point. He caught the ball and took several steps; at that point, it's a catch, no?
The "takes 5 steps with the ball" could make it a catch if he didn't go to the ground, but it doesn't matter if those steps are taken after he lost his balance. Let me start from scratch and walk through the play. Here is a description of the play from the standpoint of the rules being applied. Gresham started bobbling the ball a few yards from the end zone. He finally gained control (in this case had the ball in both hands and not moving) right around the goal line. With that control going on, he got 1 foot in bounds just before the goal line. He got his other foot in bounds just past the goal line. He does not yet have possession by the rules. He still has more to do to complete the catch, which is why he is not the same as a RB who already established possession before getting to the goal line.

After getting the 2nd foot down, any receiver, anywhere on the field whether the 50 yard line or the end zone, now must continue to maintain control of the ball and maintain his balance for the time it takes to make a football act. If he does it will be a catch. How long is that? The rules examples of a football act are, "long enough to pitch it, pass it, advance with it, or avoid or ward off an opponent, etc".

However he did not do that. Gresham immediately was losing his balance and began to fall, which by the rules means he is "going to the ground". If you are going to the ground, you instead must retain control of the ball through the entire act of going to the ground.

It does not matter if Gresham took 1 staggering step as he fell to the ground, or 3 or 5. Once he failed to satisfy the requirements for possession and began to go to the ground, he has to maintain control of the ball through the entire act of going to the ground. While he was still going to the ground, he hit the ball on the ground, and the ref ruled that it moved within his hand which means he lost control. Which is an incompletion.

So if you want to ask, "After control and 2 feet down, does taking more steps without losing your balance make it a catch?" The answer would be yes, he would have it long enough to have been able to do a football act as taking steps forward is advancing the ball and that's a football act.

If you are asking, "After control and 2 feet down, and losing his balance right away (as Gresham did), does taking more steps after having lost his balance make it a catch?" The answer is no. If he is going to the ground before he had it long enough to have made the football act, then he has to maintain control until he's finished hitting the ground. Additional off-balance footfalls or no.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
IMO the rule needs to be revised so that the pass is only incomplete when a receiver leaves his feet to make the catch, and loses control when he hits the ground. If the guy is standing on his feet when he catches the ball, and then goes to the ground, that should be a completed pass.
If they make a change I think it would be something like you say here, Juggernaut, and I think that would be a good change. Keep the wording requiring control, 2 feet, time for a football act in place. Make going to the ground decided by whether the player had enough control of his balance at the time his second foot came down, rather than whether he lost it before completing the football act as it is now.So if you jump and make a catch and drag two feet while falling, you still have to maintain control through hitting the ground same as the rules today. But if you're running and make the catch, get two feet down, and then stagger to the ground as Gresham did, the staggered step would qualify as your football act, after which it wouldn't matter if the ball came out.
 
It's a really dumb rule. I went back and counted and Gresham had taken 5 steps before he went to the ground. How many steps is it until the guy is considered a runner with the ball? I've gotta think it's less than 5.Either way, it was monumentally stupid of Gresham to hold the ball out in one hand and use it to support his fall like that.. Just tuck it to your chest (he had plenty of time to do it) and fall down like a man.It probably cost them the game too. At least a trip to overtime.
The crazy thing is that it is a catch anywhere on the field except for the end zone. :confused:
I don't think that's the case. I only saw this play once and don't remember the specifics, but the issue is not that he's in the end zone, the issue is that he's trying to establish possession as he's going to the ground. This would be ruled the same way regardless of where it happened on the field.
I agree with the rule actually. It's nearly impossible to define the gray area of possession. The rule was made to eliminate the judgment from the call. You might not like it but it's much easier to enforce. The best way to avoid the rule taking away a touchdown is by tucking the ball. How could the rule be changed without losing the black and white that the rule exists for?
 
I just saw this play finally.

It was a terrible call. He had possession of the ball BEFORE he went over the goal line, therefore once he crosses the line it should be a dead ball.

No different than a WR catching a ball at the 5 and running it in.

Horrible call.

 
'Buzzbait said:
'thayman said:
'Buzzbait said:
J Gresham had a TD overturned after crossing the goal line and maintaining position all the way until hitting the ground. This is exactly the same ruling that happened last year with Megatron. Per the way the rule is written...they made the right call. However IMO this rule has got to be changed. It's moronic that a receiver has position, crosses the goal line, maintains position until hitting the ground. Horrible rule.

P.S. No, I don't own Gresham or Dalton. Just a dumb rule.
You can't use the ground to secure the ball. It's a fine rule and was applied appropriately today.
Did you see it? He didn't use the ground to secure the ball. The ball was already secured. He had control, crossed the goal line, maintained control and only lost the ball when he hit the ground. So I don't see this as needing the ground to secure the ball.Again, not trying to beat the refs up. They correctly applied the rule as it is currently written. As a fan of the game I just think it's a misguided rule.
Exactly what happened.
 
'Das Boot said:
'mad sweeney said:
'Das Boot said:
It was a great call and I like the rule.

All the receiver has to do is wrap up the ball to take away any doubt.

Instead of showboating and holding the ball out with one hand, simply wrap it up against your chest - take away any doubt from the refs and the instant replay.

P.S. Dang, the Bengals really could have used that TD. :kicksrock:
The rule is absolutely stupid. Megatron's catch last year involved him possessing the ball in the air, getting two feet down, his butt, his hip, his elbow all down on the ground and then the ball still in his hand getting knocked out after his whole body was down. There was no showboating and although I didn't see the Gresham one, that's rarely the case when it happens. Moronic that all that can happen and still be ruled incomplete.
Regardless of your opinion of the rule, it exists and all the receiver has to do is wrap up the ball - in both Calvin's case and Gresham today, both could have easily done so and taken away any potential for the catch to be overturned.
There was a big difference between the two, although CJ's play last year should have been a TD too.On Greshams play he had possession BEFORE he went across the goalline.

End of discussion right there.

 
'DA RAIDERS said:
'Das Boot said:
'DA RAIDERS said:
'captbly said:
The part that really makes it wrong is that a RB can dive over the goal line, lose the ball and its still a TD.
This is part of what makes it such a stupid rule. Horrible rule.
The point of the rule is to define possession on a catch in the end zone.There's no question that a RB has possession when he crosses the goal line in the above example.
I've only seen today's play once. But wasn't the catch made outside the end zone?
:yes:
 
The rule sucks. Change it.

If you catch a ball at the 5 yard line and dive for the pylon, hitting it with control of the ball, then the ball comes loose, it's a touchdown but if you catch the ball in the endzone & dive at the pylon but don't hang onto the ball all the way through the catch, then it's imcomplete.

It's inconsistent. Fix the rule, it's crap & it ruins a great game.

 
I just saw this play finally.It was a terrible call. He had possession of the ball BEFORE he went over the goal line, therefore once he crosses the line it should be a dead ball.No different than a WR catching a ball at the 5 and running it in.Horrible call.
He didn't have possession until the ball was over the goal line. If he had possession before the ball crossed the line I don't think the rule would apply because putting the ball over the goal line would be considered a football move thus having possession.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
The rule sucks. Change it.If you catch a ball at the 5 yard line and dive for the pylon, hitting it with control of the ball, then the ball comes loose, it's a touchdown but if you catch the ball in the endzone & dive at the pylon but don't hang onto the ball all the way through the catch, then it's imcomplete. It's inconsistent. Fix the rule, it's crap & it ruins a great game.
You're misunderstanding the issue. It's the same whether it happens in the end zone or out.
 
Could one of the people defending the ruling explain why this particular play was ruled a catch? http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-game-highlights/09000d5d82258ff2/Hernandez-hangs-on-for-six
I'd guess that it was ruled a good catch because he went to the ground and maintained rock solid possession - long enough, in the ref's judgement, to be a completed play.There has to be a point where the ref decides the player has hit the ground, is officially down, has full and complete possession, and hence the play is complete.

Also, note to Calvin and Gresham - 2 arms wrapped strongly around the ball.

 
Could one of the people defending the ruling explain why this particular play was ruled a catch? http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-game-highlights/09000d5d82258ff2/Hernandez-hangs-on-for-six
I imagine the ruling was that he controlled the ball through the act of going to the ground, which makes it a catch, and afterwards it was pulled free. I would call it that way from what the video shows. The motion or momentum from going to the ground was already spent when the ball came free.

There were a number of high profile calls a couple of years ago two or three weeks in a row, where the same thing happened. I actually mentioned that very type of play over in the rules thread in the section on what constitutes a catch.

Edit: beat me to it. :)

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Stupid, stupid rule. There is no reason why that shouldn't be a TD other than it's in the rule book. He had complete control of the ball and crossed the plane. What more do you expect from the receiver?

 
It's a really dumb rule. I went back and counted and Gresham had taken 5 steps before he went to the ground. How many steps is it until the guy is considered a runner with the ball? I've gotta think it's less than 5.

Either way, it was monumentally stupid of Gresham to hold the ball out in one hand and use it to support his fall like that.. Just tuck it to your chest (he had plenty of time to do it) and fall down like a man.

It probably cost them the game too. At least a trip to overtime.
The crazy thing is that it is a catch anywhere on the field except for the end zone. :confused:
No it is not. It would have been an incompletion on the 50 yard line the same as in the end zone.The rules on maintaining possession when going to the ground are the same everywhere.
But if someone takes 5 steps with the ball, isn't that possession? I don't understand how there is any "maintaining" possession to be had at that point. He caught the ball and took several steps; at that point, it's a catch, no?
The "takes 5 steps with the ball" could make it a catch if he didn't go to the ground, but it doesn't matter if those steps are taken after he lost his balance. Let me start from scratch and walk through the play. Here is a description of the play from the standpoint of the rules being applied. Gresham started bobbling the ball a few yards from the end zone. He finally gained control (in this case had the ball in both hands and not moving) right around the goal line. With that control going on, he got 1 foot in bounds just before the goal line. He got his other foot in bounds just past the goal line. He does not yet have possession by the rules. He still has more to do to complete the catch, which is why he is not the same as a RB who already established possession before getting to the goal line.

After getting the 2nd foot down, any receiver, anywhere on the field whether the 50 yard line or the end zone, now must continue to maintain control of the ball and maintain his balance for the time it takes to make a football act. If he does it will be a catch. How long is that? The rules examples of a football act are, "long enough to pitch it, pass it, advance with it, or avoid or ward off an opponent, etc".

However he did not do that. Gresham immediately was losing his balance and began to fall, which by the rules means he is "going to the ground". If you are going to the ground, you instead must retain control of the ball through the entire act of going to the ground.

It does not matter if Gresham took 1 staggering step as he fell to the ground, or 3 or 5. Once he failed to satisfy the requirements for possession and began to go to the ground, he has to maintain control of the ball through the entire act of going to the ground. While he was still going to the ground, he hit the ball on the ground, and the ref ruled that it moved within his hand which means he lost control. Which is an incompletion.

So if you want to ask, "After control and 2 feet down, does taking more steps without losing your balance make it a catch?" The answer would be yes, he would have it long enough to have been able to do a football act as taking steps forward is advancing the ball and that's a football act.

If you are asking, "After control and 2 feet down, and losing his balance right away (as Gresham did), does taking more steps after having lost his balance make it a catch?" The answer is no. If he is going to the ground before he had it long enough to have made the football act, then he has to maintain control until he's finished hitting the ground. Additional off-balance footfalls or no.
In other words a stupid rule.
 
I do not think the replay showed conclusive evidence that the ball left his possession. Has nothing to do with it hitting the ground by the way.
If you mean Gresham's play, there was one replay angle that looked like it showed that his hand separated from the ball while it was on the ground just a bit before he scooped it back in.
I saw the replay, I just didn't think it was enough to overrule the catch. Also, he made the catch before he got in the endzone. Shouldn't it just have been foot down and ball across the plane?
No, you're talking about rules (breaking the plane) that apply to a player in possession of the ball. Gresham was not in possession of the ball in the rules-sense of the term. He was a player in the act of making a catch. Here's the details:

The NFL requires all of the following to make a catch and be considered a player in possession of the ball in bounds:

A forward pass is complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) if a player, who is inbounds:

(a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and

(b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and

© maintains control of the ball long enough, after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, to enable him to perform any act common to the game (i.e., maintaining control long enough to pitch it, pass it, advance with it, or avoid or ward off an opponent, etc.).

Note 1: It is not necessary that he commit such an act, provided that he maintains control of the ball long

enough to do so.

Note 2: If a player has control of the ball, a slight movement of the ball will not be considered a loss of

possession. He must lose control of the ball in order to rule that there has been a loss of possession.

If the player loses the ball while simultaneously touching both feet or any part of his body other than his hands

to the ground, or if there is any doubt that the acts were simultaneous, it is not a catch.
If you do the three things above before you go out of bounds, go to the ground, or go in the endzone, then it is a catch and you are in possession of the ball as a ball carrier no different than any other player who has possession like a RB after a handoff. If you complete those 3, then all you have to do is break the plane of the goal line for it to be a touchdown, same as any other ball carrier.

But, Gresham did not fulfill the 3rd part of the catch before going in the end zone, going to the ground, and out of bounds all three as it happened. From the replays I'm seeing he doesn't even gain control until the ball is already in the end zone. After he has the ball clasped in both hands, he gets two feet in bounds and is going to the ground and has stepped out of bounds before he has had the ball long enough to "perform any act common to the game".

Ok, so since he didn't gain possession in bounds, then we have to apply the additional rules regarding going to the ground, out of bounds, and catches in the end zone when making a catch.

Item 1: Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

Item 2: Sideline Catches. If a player goes to the ground out-of-bounds (with or without contact by an opponent) in the process of making a catch at the sideline, he must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, or the pass is incomplete.

Item 3: End Zone Catches. If a player controls the ball while in the end zone, both feet, or any part of his body other than his hands, must be completely on the ground before losing control, or the pass is incomplete.
He was fine with Item 3, he got both feet completely on the ground. But they ruled that he did not maintain the ball THROUGHOUT the process of going to the ground. I don't know from the one replay that I saw if the ball moved enough to be a loss of control, but that was their ruling.

I personally wouldn't compare this to Calvin Johnson. Calvin Johnson's was a contentious play because he lost the ball while trying to stand up using the momentum of his going to the ground. The question there was, "Was his act of going to the ground done, and was he instead in the act of rising". It's more of a judgment call. I'd agree with the refs the act of going to the ground wasn't done yet since his body was still under its momentum.

The issue in this play is completely different. There is no question like with Calvin as to whether he'd finished going to the ground. Clearly he hadn't.

The only question is did the ball move in his hand to where he lost control. I think I can kind of see it move a little bit, but at least with only having the 1 replay I'm not sure enough I'd have overturned. Maybe the other replays showed more though, I'm not sure, have only seen the 1 angle.
Incidentally Bdog, Mike Pereira agrees with us that the ball didn't move clearly enough upon him hitting the ground that it should have been overturned. But if it had moved, the call was correct.

 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top