puckalicious said:
Grigs Allmoon said:
bryhamm said:
' said:
bryhamm said:
David Yudkin said:
I am looking at the official NFL rules from 2007.
...
I DO NOT see the section that was listed earlier:
"Should a receiver make a legal catch of the ball with both feet in bounds in the end zone, a touchdown shall be awarded even if no part of the ball was deemed to break the plane of the goal line while in possession of the receiving player."
I suppose that there may be a broader version of the rules than I have, but I have not seen a link to the legal catch citation above.
A, B and C talk about the ball. D does not. Does this leave it open for interpretation?
I am not sure how you think that D does not talk about the ball. It specifically mentions that the loose ball is caught or recovered on or behind the opponent's goalline.
You could interpret D to mean that the "on or behind the opponent’s goal line" part applied to the receiver and not the ball. Probably not, but I'm just sayin.
Exactly what I was going to say. Technically speaking there is some ambiguity in that line.
Not really, the previous points are explicitly relating this phrase to the location of the ball. Furthermore, the beginning of point D already explains the player's position, therefore the "on or behind the opponent's goal line" must refer to the other noun in the sentence (the ball).
"Player" is a noun, too.
Are you intentionally being obtuse? (d) Any
player who
is legally inbounds catches or recovers a loose
ball (3-2-3)
on or behind the opponent’s goal line;
Match the colors. More importantly, points A-C set the precedent that the phrase "on or behind the opponent's goal line" is describing the location of the ball, not the player.
This is pretty basic English 101 stuff here.
My copy of the rules contains all black text -- no blue or red.The question is what the prepositional phrase "on or behind the opponent's goal line" modifies.
Grammatically, it could be used as an adjective to modify "ball," or it could be used as an adverb to modify "catches." In the first case, it's the
ball that must be in the end zone. In the second case, it's the subject of the very "catches" -- i.e., the
player -- who must be in the end zone.
("It is a touchdown ... while inbounds any player catches or recovers a loose ball on or behind the opponents' goal line
in his underwear." In substituting one prepositional phrase for another, we can see that a prepositional phrase immediately following "ball" in that sentence need not necessarily modify "ball.")
From an English 101 standpoint the rule is ambiguous.
From a football standpoint, however, I think it is fairly clear that the phrase modifies "ball."
I also think that Holmes really did catch the ball while the ball had crossed the plane of the goal line, so it should have been a touchdown.